We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
alert icon Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

BelleVue Playa Caleta

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
alert icon Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
BelleVue Playa Caleta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 973: English reviews
Courtice, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent a week here in September and had a wonderful relaxing week. Hot sun, no rain, warm ocean, warmer pool, white sand and amazing resort staff. Very kid friemdly. Lots to do with excursions and an easy walk into town. Rooms are clean and food is good. A great place to stay. We are definitely going back.

Helpful?
Thank Donna S
Toronto
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this trip for myself & two sons (10 & 17) on the cheap, so I had low expectations going in. The room & bathroom were old & dirty & musty. It rained (for a short time) everyday that we were there. Our balcony door didn't open & didn't shut all the way so our floor was always wet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CourtneyLO

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at Playa Caleta twice, once with a girlfriend and the 2nd time with my husband. We like Playa Caleta for its location (beginning of town) and it is still very close to the downtown area and other resorts. Both times I had ocean view rooms and each time the view was gorgeous. The grounds and the rooms... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBug19671956
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Front desk poorly supervised. Attitude was do t bother us we are talking. Elevators dangerous from stalling to doors not opening. Security lax. 2 major fights broke out with police involved. Now the good. Superior room on the ocean front. Music and talent was far better than what I would expect. Beach superior. No waiting for anything however hotel half... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank soloist61
BlueBayResorts, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Playa Caleta, responded to this review

Hello soloist61, our staff is always willing to help our guests, we're sorry if some misunderstood made you uncomfortable. You can be sure we can manage also on high season! Hope to see you back! More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I thought I was staying at the twin hotel but when we arrived we are staying at "Bellevue Puntanera Playa Caleta". It was a pleasant surprise. Our room was not ready whe I we arrived but we had lunch first. Since I was a "repeat customer" and travelling with my daughter which I mentioned to my agent. They catered to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul2007-01-14
BlueBayResorts, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Playa Caleta, responded to this review

Hello Paul 2007-20014, we are glad that you decided to come back and that you appreciate our refurnishment end enjoyed your stay. We will pass your nice words to the entertainment team. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've been to cuba several times. I've stayed in better resorts. Now, this time I was really only looking for a hotel to sleep in with air conditioning and coffee in the morning. Maybe also some cocktails in the late evening. For that, this resort suited us fine. We didn't spend a lot of time on the resort. We were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Cyn D
BlueBayResorts, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Playa Caleta, responded to this review

Hello Cyn D, we are glad your enjoyed your time at the hotel and outside it!We will pass your congrats to housekeeping and we take note of the issues you mention and we will do our best. Hope to see you back! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

Do not book this hotel. Cold water 99% of the time. Dirty rooms. Dirty tubs. Filthy windows. Got really Ill from the food 4 out of 7 days out of commission. Terrible. Disco fun if you felt well. Most staff friendly but coffee bar hostess/ host very rude. Dogs on beaches mooching food. Keep eyes on your women guys. Lifeguards... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
BlueBayResorts, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Playa Caleta, responded to this review

Hello Nick, we appreciate your opinion and we take note of all the issues you mention, we really pursue the excellence in the customer service and we will do our best each day. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

the puntarena is closed so we were put into the hotel beside it. but the hotel itself was terrible. they have 3 elevators and only two were working when we got there. then one elevator stopped working so we were left with one elevator for the rest of the trip.being on the 7th floor, it's safe to say that we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kadyblight
BlueBayResorts, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Playa Caleta, responded to this review

Hello kadyblight, thank you for your commentary and sorry to hear that you had some technical problems, we will take into account the things you point out in order to improve. More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

About this place, two 10-floor buildings, 2 pools, several bars and restaurants at the beach front at the outmost end of Varadero beach. About 5km from center. It's an older place, poorly maintained but clean from what I've seen. Food is tasteless, sometimes served cold, you can get an omelette for breakfast, fruit plates were nice, always cake and icecream.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank snickarn
BlueBayResorts, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Playa Caleta, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we will take note of the issues you point out. More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

The hotel was disappointing. Very run down although it has been recently 'renovated'. After we waited for our room, we were then checked in and found our room had not been cleaned- still had hair in the bed, garbage in the room and the bathroom was dirty. We had to move rooms - the second at least looked cleaner. Housekeeping... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sixdale
BlueBayResorts, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BelleVue Playa Caleta, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your experience, thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,914 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1914)
Viewed
Room/Suite (204)
Viewed
Dining (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (346)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (389)
Viewed
View from Room (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Other (709)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Worthing Court
Worthing Court
#1 of 3 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about BelleVue Playa Caleta

Address: Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Bellevue Puntanera Playa Caleta)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $68 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BelleVue Playa Caleta 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Also Known As:
Playa Caleta Varadero
Playa Caleta Hotel Varadero
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#35 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing