We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Memories Varadero

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Grand Memories Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,182: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Memories Varadero
 Click to rate
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited Cuba as a group of eight from March 14th to March 21st. We arrived there in the late night and the check in process was quite smooth. We had dinner at the Snack Bar which was not very appealing both in terms of food and decor but it was late and we were very tired. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Enjoy13
Ottawa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was the first time back to Cuba after the first disappointing visit 15 years ago. This hotel is first class from the first minute you enter the Lobby. Check in was a breeze.They told us the room would be free for check in after 3pm. We decided to go check it. Luckily it was already cleaned up. Went back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Cheer
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Grand Memories varadero is the absolute worst resort. Dingy, rude staff, overbooked, line ups. The worst experience ever. I would not recommend anyone going to this resort. Customer service is the worst. Drinks are terrible. Rooms are not fit! Turned me from cuba all together! !!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodyta
Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hard to know where to start.... from check in to check out, a horrible experience. First off, we had paid for an extra night due to flights and we had to go back to the front desk three times to ensure we could keep our room. We were told that there was nothing on the system showing we had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CandK2017
Durham, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We slept in the Sanctuary adults only, but ventured into the much larger Grand Memories for nitely walks, restaurants, shopping. The larger Grand Memories is for families, the Sanctuary for adults. The small well supplied store had any items you may need , I always purchase the honey in Cuba and some snacks. I also check the pricing and availability...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank chickandbeast
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing such a complete feedback after your stay at the hotel. First of all, we want to apologize for the inconveniences you had. We will share the different issues with the departments involved in order to keep working to improve our facilities. We hope we could give us a second chance to change...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a last minute trip with 3 friends. After reading the reviews, I was really concerned. However we were going to relax and to enjoy the beach and the weather so I didn't have high expectations. I was pleasantly surprised! The resort is very large. Other reviews referred to a lot of walking which I really didn't mind at...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank travelgirl11423
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy to read that you had a great trip among us and we will share your feedback with our staff. On the other hand, we regret the water problems you experienced and we are already working on it. We hope we could welcome you again in the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are typical family of two adults and two kids, went to the beautiful Varadero the first time in our lives. Kids love to stay in the beach all day, white sand, clean, in the beautiful sunshine. Really enjoyed the entertaining programs, which includes group games/dancing competition in the beach or by the pool area, there were something new to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S L
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback after your stay at our hotel. We are happy to achieve that during your visit you have enjoyed our amazing beach as well as the quality of our entertainment. On the other hand, we regret the problems we had with the water and the dim lighting. We are already working...

edmoton
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'll start of by saying we take two trips a year. This year we were a party of 12 ! All ages from 7 up to 58. Our expectations very not high as Cuba is not known for its food. The pools were never cleaned, sand in the bottom, floating dead skin everywhere.and plastic cups. The public washrooms never had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allaycat
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very sad to read your experience at our hotel. We regret that we couldn't meet your expectations and we apologize for the issues you experienced. On the other hand, we take note of all your suggestions and comments and we will share them with the departments in charge in order to keep improving the quality of...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Where do I start: Washrooms are always dirty, closed for reno, never any toilet paper or soap and bowls are disgusting. Rooms are clean buy just ok. Towels never changed. Pool towels are always low so you cannot change your towels everyday. Pool boy did not want to change our towels because he was on lunch break for 2 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoxLalande
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very sad to read your review after your stay at our hotel. First of all we would like to apologize for the problems of maintenance that you had in your room as well as the issues with the towels. We will check with the departments involved all your comments and suggestions in order to take the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were very surprised to find that Grand Memories was not the four-star resort we were promised by Thompson. Here are a list of reasons why: 1. When we arrived, we were not shown to our room, left in the dark to find our room after a tiring 10 hour flight. The check in process is a shambles and is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane A
General M, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are very useful for us as they help us to improve our facilities. First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences in your room as well as for the big lines at the buffet. We are now in high season and sometimes it is hard...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2193)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (418)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (398)
Viewed
Dining (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
4:36
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1001)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
60 reviews
1226.1 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1242.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
30 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy Cuba's blissful year-round climate, stunning white sand beaches, and crystal clear waters with a stay at the luxurious Grand Memories Varadero. Elegant and spacious guestrooms are available in a variety of room categories in our child-friendly and Adults-Only sections. Lounge by the dazzling pools, get active with a variety of land and water sports, work out at the fitness centre, or pamper yourself at the luxurious spa. Children will have a great time at our Kids Club, which features a children's play area with supervised games and activities. Guests of the Adults-Only area will enjoy extra luxuries such as complimentary 24-hour room service, club house, cigar room, butler service and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Memories Varadero

Address: Km 18.5 Autopista Sur | Parque Natural Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Riu Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $134 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Memories Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Grand Memories Varadero staff and other travelers.
608 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (608)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Memories Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Block 24 is close to the beach and gives you a nice walk to the buffet in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles Enjoy13, yesterday | Read review
“Superior rooms in building 23 and 24 or reserve the Adult Section.”
 of 5 bubbles Captain_Cheer, yesterday | Read review
“try to book the rooms closer to the beach, not to the bar, too loud at night.”
 of 5 bubbles SL655, 5 days ago | Read review
“Building 11 is perfectly situated in front of the pool. Get a room facing away from the pool to ensure privacy and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 298anniew, 6 days ago | Read review
“Buildings 23 or 24 (closest to beach)”
 of 5 bubbles pwohara, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question