We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Alturas de Versalles Km 1/2 Reparto Versalles, Santiago de Cuba 90700 Cuba
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (230)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (37)

About

#8 of 37 in Santiago de Cuba
Location
3.2
Cleanliness
3.6
Service
3.6
Value
3.3
CATALOG OF CUBANACAN VERSALLES HOTEL Location: Situated in an elevation known as Alturas de Versalles, very near the historic center of the city of Santiago de Cuba. From its privileged geographic position, the visitor can enjoy a beautiful view of the city, with its steeped streets, red tile roofs and impressive mountains surrounding it. It is located at just five minutes from the Antonio Maceo International Airport. Accommodation: 72 rooms with private balcony arranged in 3 room blocks and an area of 7 two-floor cabanas, all with telephone, satellite TV and air conditioning. Facilities: Buffet and a la Carte restaurant, night center, cafeteria with modalities of show cooking, lobby bar and snack bar, open pool with area for children, private parking, and sport areas. Day and night entertainment. Included services: Sport area (volleyball, tennis, basketball) Not included services: Safe box, Cybercafe, telephone service and fax, laundry, medical services (8 hours), optional selling, money exchange office, souvenir and craftworks shop, taxis, car rental. Nearest places of interests: International Airport at 3,5 km San Pedro de la Roca (Morrro) Castle at 5 km. Antonio Maceo Revolution Square at 6 km. Santa Ifigenia Cemetery at 4 km. Moncada Garrison at 5 km. International Clinic at 5 km. Craftworks selling at 4,5 km. Trova House at 4,5 km.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
174Reviews9Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 47
  • 55
  • 26
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Scoots124 wrote a review Dec 2021
Hamilton, Canada1178 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
OMG I cannot say enough good things about the staff at this Hotel. From Estaban at the front desk - Natalie one of the managers, Jorge at the desk and my private driver, Kiki and Odalis in the restaurant, Michael the Chef, Angelo at the bar plus one dear sweet girl whose name I cannot remember. They went above and beyond for me and thank you so much. There was also the gardener who helped me get the top off my Liquor bottle, the electrician who showed me how to reset the breaker when the power went out in my room, the dear chamber maid who opened the bathroom by the restaurant. All of them 5 stars!! Now to the Hotel itself - please remember that I was one of the first tourist for them for the season. There were 3 of us that arrived on the 15th of November, Check in was quick and I was taken up a steep hill to my Cabana - 4B - it was clean and tidy but lacking in a blanket, an extra pillow and an extra roll of TP - this was corrected on the second day. My biggest disappointment was that the Hotel had not received their allotment of water for the swimming pool!!! My first full day was busy with visiting friends and I finally made my way down 3 flights of stairs to the dining room. At the time of my visit there were also 100 Columbians that were staying there on a year long contract to work at the Cement Factory, They were very polite - always wishing me a good night. I think they were a little upset that I was offered a different menu than them but that was corrected when the buffet was opened. the food was very tasty and delivered with a smile and time to chat. I would suggest that they have a small area outside of the dining room with tables and chairs for the smokers to have dessert and coffee - the same with the bar in Reception - I spent a great deal of time sitting on the stairs have a smoke and a beer. then I was faced with the long climb back to my room - up 3 flights of stairs and then the long hill to my room. This hotel is not for those that have challenges with mobility - for me it is Asthma and of course I am a smoker. I was so fortunate that arrangements were made for me to be able to go to Las Americas to have the use of their pool, that hotel was not open because of renovations but the pool was. Javier the bartender was great there too! The room at the hotel was ok, but I am warning you that if you leave the air conditioning on for the night you will be waking up to a floor the feels likes stepping on ice!! Bring socks! A small rug beside the bed would be helpful. The TV worked but I was not able to have any English channels, but they did try! I had taken a power cord to be able to plug in my kettle to make coffee, but If I had the TV , the room light and the kettle plugged in it would bow the circuit so after the second day that happened I made the electrician( who was very prompt after I called reception) to show me how to fix it. It is a small box to the left of the front door in a white box - just flip the breaker!! At the top of the hill is the Tienda, the doctors office and the Terrazza which is a small bar and cafeteria - you guess the times it is open..lol. I had an amazing time there due to the staff, will I go back - I am so sorry to say no, but that is only because of the mobility issues. Much love to all the staff and thank you for all of the blessings you gave me!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Abded-Negot D wrote a review Jun 2019
3 contributions
I'm very happy to be at Versalles hotel is like a paradise at Cuba there are casa particular but Versalles hotel is a family particular the service was perfect and the personal is nice I hope to go back to Versalles hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from ComplejoVersalles, Director General at Hotel Versalles
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Thanks for being in your preference and feel the Hotel Versalles as a family, because we are a family full of satisfaction. Thanks for everything, we are waiting for you.
Read more
AaronTom wrote a review Mar 2018
Ajax, Canada36 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is a great location, it is on a hill and if you like to hike and do a lot of walking this is a great location. We had good and bad experience. The good experience is that we had a good room at the very top of the hotel. The entertainment there is phenomenal and professional with a great organizer named Kikito Gómez. He speaks excellent english and a few other language. He is the person to see if you want more information about Santiago and Cuba. The receptionist at the hotel were very helpful, spoke great english and changed my Canadian currency with no problem. There was no need to go to the bank in the city ( I did and there was a great lineup/1 hour or more) because the exchange rate was the same as the bank.We did a lot of walking and you can get water at the little grocery store at the hotel. The bad experience was the solar panels that heated the water in the hotel went out a few days and we had to get a huge jug of water and use it as a shower, the water was very cheap at the store so we did not mind. The cost to go into the city from the hotel was approximately 5 to 6 Cuban Cuke, but varies depending on your skills to negotiate. Overall we had a great experience at the hotel and the food was the same as everywhere in Cuba.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, General Manager at Hotel Versalles
Responded Mar 26, 2018
Dear Guest: It is a great joy for us to receive your review.Fortunately, the problem with solar panels have been sold, so there is hot water for everyone now.We will congratulate Kikito for his efficiency and tell him about your kind words about him.We are truly glad you have enjouyed your time with us.Thank you for your recommendation.
Read more
Monique W wrote a review Feb 2018
20 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
This is probably the best bang for your buck in the area. The location is very close to the city center and many attractions. For friends, the double bed accommodation is perfect. I had no idea 2 meals were included with my hotel stay, an unexpected bonus! I cannot say enough about the entire hotel staff in every department. Together they attended to all of my needs, even a request for a meal when I slept in and missed breakfast which they were happy to bring to me. The omelets, fresh fruit and fresh fruit juices were superb, just like the pescado y bistec at dinner. The espressos and drinks served at the bar were also perfect! I was surprised when the staff gathered to sing for me happy birthday and dedicated the Saturday night entertainment to me in honor of my birthday.. all smiles!! I will definitely return to this quaint hotel where guests are treated with respect and gratitude.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, General Manager at Hotel Versalles
Responded Feb 9, 2018
Dear client: It is truly an honor for us that you praise our services and the staff in this review, since our common goal here is to satisfy the clients. We will read this review to all workers you have mentioned in order to reward their efforts.The most important for us was to create a memorable experience for you. Thanks for writing this beautiful review. We hope you can visit the hotel once more.
Read more
corman_11 wrote a review Dec 2017
Kingston, Canada47 contributions18 helpful votes
Well, I have to say that the staff at this Hotel are very good and can speak some english which is fantastic when you have a problem!! I made the mistake of walking out on to my Cabana balcony without my room card in my pocket!! OH! OH! Good thing i had my shorts on!! I shut the door not thinking and then realized that I could not get back in! Thinking that I had a big problem on my hands i went to the reception desk and explained! They spoke english to me and resolved the problem in a matter of minutes! Excellente!! I just cant say enough about the staff at this Hotel! Very professional and fun to talk with at the same time! When i was there/ THE BIG, BIG, BIG BOSS LADY WAS THERE AND she runs a tight ship! Loved my time at The Hotel Versalles and I would highly recommend this hotel to everybody!! The resturant buffet is great! Coffee is very good!! The juices in the morning are just fantastic!! NECTAR OF THE GODS!! My favorite is the fresh mango juice!! Well done and a good job done by everybody!! My chamber maid was great and the housekeeping department is no nonsence. I made some good friends at this Hotel and would return again in a flash!! The pool cantina is really good and the food and service is very good! They have> salads, burgers, fries, pork and every kind of drink imaginable!! The bar tender speaks perfect english and is a really nice guy! NO problems at this Hotel!! I had my Cuban friends at the Hotel all day long for 10- kook per person!! This includes drinks and lunch!! Very good value for the money! They played music at at reasonable volume all day long and the pool closes at 5:00 P.M. Book this vacation package with Hola Sun and you will be more than happy! I was upgraded to a cabana at no extra charge and just loved it!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Request a cabana near the pool area!!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, Director General at Hotel Versalles
Responded Jan 8, 2018
Dear client: To read such a good opinion about our hotel written by you is a graet joy for us. The way you write about the staff is nothing but truly rewarding.Every service area and worker you have mentioned will be congratulated for their efficiency and proffesionalism. We hope you can visit the hotel once more. Thank you very much.
Read more
Turism and Travel wrote a review Jun 2017
Toronto, Canada66 contributions81 helpful votes
Versalles, Santiago de Cuba.. Hum very very interested..why...because you are in Oriente south east of Cuba all of the view going to have mountain, beaches and Rivers... Oriente in general people are more friendly , they just want you be happy, they love help in everything, charismatic. This hotel is no so huge, but services are nice, entreatment also..
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, Director General at Hotel Versalles
Responded Jul 15, 2017
Dear guest: It is a pleasure to receive a review of our hotel.It seems liked you really liked the eastern part of the country since you have just named what make us stand out: landscape and people´s charisma. It is satisfactory to know you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope you can visit us again.
Read more
pablo685 wrote a review Mar 2017
Sarnia4 contributions7 helpful votes
Was back in Santiago and a day stay at Versalles. The property is kept in good condition, pool is nice as always, remember this area had been badly effected by Sandy and some of the nature took a hit and now very dry and parched. Distance of about 10 min cab to the centre of town for 5 cuc. All I can say is bring a good attitude, relax and you will be pleased. To any first time Cuba visitors, this country is it's own eco system so be polite and adjust yourself because for me me, the morality, and charm of the people fills in any gaps of imperfection. So if for some reason you do get moved to a new hotel because of a mistake, look at it as an adventure. Because around every corner in Cuba, is an interesting new adventure good or bad. Hotel Versalles is a safe, clean, relaxed environment with wonderful entertainment and food day and night so you really can't ask for much more from a none all inclusive accommodation. Hola to all the staff and thank you again from Paul and Yury
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Get one of those second floor rooms facing north if possible for a great view of the city.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, Director General at Hotel Versalles
Responded Apr 15, 2017
Dear guests: Thank you very much for writing such a beautiful review of our hotel.It is wonderful how you praise our staff. Have no doubts we will transmit them your kind words.It wil be a plaesure to have you here once more.
Read more
Kathrin S wrote a review Mar 2017
Wroclaw, Poland1 contribution2 helpful votes
We, a small group of 5 people plus tour guide and driver, stayed here for two nights. The check-in for this apparently huge group (irony on) took more than an hour... Unfortunately, one of the nights we spent there was 14. of february (Valentines Day), apparently a very important, but for this hotel not plannable or foreseeable (yes: irony again!) public holiday... as a result, they pretty much rented all the hotel facilities (especially pool) twice: once to the hotel guests and once again to rich and spoilt cuban day-guests... result: no space in the pool area, horribly loud music, people smoking and drinking in the pool (leaving cups and cigarettes there) as well as a party ging on until 5 in the morning in the bar directly under our rooms... and nobody of the personnel cared.... the rooms have paper thin walls and are not sound-proofed at all. It felt as if the party was going on directly in our beds... we phoned the reception 3 times in one night but nobody cared... as the party finally ended at five in the morning, so did the traffic-noise... As we complained the next morning to the hotel manager, she obviously didn't care at all and told us that we could have changed our rooms (which nobody mentioned a day earlier at check-in or our 3 calls in the middle of the night)... they allegedly never have had any complaints about noise before... a mere joke if you read the commentaries on this app... Additionally: rather bad breakfast, even for cuban state-owned hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, Director General at Hotel Versalles
Responded Apr 15, 2017
Dear guest: The hotel management staff truly apologizes for the experience you had here.However, we did not rent the pool twice. Cuban people ( does not necesarily have to be rich or spoiled) do have the possibility to enjoy of the hotel facilities in most Cuban hotels, even those owned by foreign chains. Since we are a group-circuit hotel, most our clients leave early in the morning and return after 5 pm.Taking that into consideration Cuban people and other visitors are only allowed to the pool from 10 am -5 pm.As everybody knows, February 14th, is a day to celebrate. Since a lot of clients decided to join the entertainment activities in honor to that date we just agreed to prolonged the Night Club services. That does not mean we have that kind of activities everyday and that clients can not sleep because of them.We really have a problem with soundproofing of rooms, an issue we are addressing at this very moment.Besides, i have to point out that we do not have the same problem with all our rooms.!The receptionist you called several times was suspended for not providing you with the proper attention you needed at that time. The compensation you received might have not been comparable with your insatisfaction but it was a proof we do care about our clients.
Read more
Phaedra499 wrote a review Feb 2017
Adelaide, Australia14 contributions12 helpful votes
Although this hotel is a little further out of town than we would have preferred, it had a lot going for it. The staff went out of their way to please,and the included breakfast was good. We were with a tour, and the first night they arranged a show for us that went for about an hour, and each night a happy hour when we could enjoy half price cocktails at the outside bar. This was very pleasant way to spend time. The rooms were spacious, airy and clean, we had water hot enough to shower, and a nice balcony - which unfortunately overlooked the local tip, so the clothes we left there to dry came in smelling of smoke, but this was a small inconvenience given our experience of Cuban hotels by this stage. The area was quiet, but there could be an issue if you had noisy neighbours in the room next door. the wall dividing our room from the rooms on either side had a gap all along where it joined the ceiling, so we could hear clearly the conversation of people in the adjoining rooms. But all in all this was a pleasant place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, Director General at Hotel Versalles
Responded Mar 16, 2017
Dear guest. We are so glad you have decided to write a review about the hotel. Regarding the problem you faced related to the view and smell in your room i can tell you we are involved in a huge awareness campaign in the community sorrounding the hotel, for the neighbours not to through garbage in that palce they already do, so near to the hotel. We find those actions terrible because they go against the environmental policies in our country.Be sure we will fix that problem as soon as we can.We hope you can visit us again.
Read more
vic452015 wrote a review Feb 2017
Adelaide, Australia62 contributions16 helpful votes
The hotel is a few kilometres from the CBD but has a excellent views over the city, is quiet at night. The rooms are large with plenty of hot water. Happy hour runs for as long as people want it seems and the entertainment is colourful as well being interactive with guests. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Stayed for three nights.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Romms with balconies are a bonus for a quiet drink before bed.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Susana5588, Director General at Hotel Versalles
Responded Feb 4, 2017
Thank you very much for such a nice review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments.It is rewarding to know you were satisfied with our services.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaSantiago de Cuba ProvinceSantiago de Cuba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Versalles
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Versalles?
Nearby attractions include Santa Ifigenia Cemetery (2.8 miles), Castillo de San Pedro de la Roca (2.9 miles), and Diego Velázquez Museum (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Versalles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Versalles?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Versalles?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Versalles?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Versalles?
Conveniently located restaurants include St. Pauli, Restaurante Aurora, and Thoms Yadira Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Versalles?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Versalles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Versalles?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moncada Barracks (2.3 miles) and Escalinata de Patre Pico (Padre Pico steps) (3.4 miles).