We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tryp Habana Libre

Calle L e/ 23 y 25. Vedado. La Habana, Havana, Cuba
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tryp Habana Libre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

3,330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived at this hotel at midnight after a very long delayed flight and long taxi drive from Valadero only to be met by very unwelcoming reception staff who barely acknowledged us and eventually we're told that our room was not ready It seems their computer wasn't working and they had no idea which rooms were available We were offered... More 

Helpful?
Thank 37Sylvia
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fidel Castro used this hotel as his HQ in the early 60s - unfortunately, it does not seem to have been renovated since then. The hotel is really run down and really lets the Melia brand down. I wouldn't mind as "it's Cuba" as everyone would explain any fault anywhere, but i resent paying international five star prices for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank UKRaj
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Juliana S: Lamentamos mucho que su estancia no fuera placentera. Tomamos nota de todos sus comentarios y de lo... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a package holiday including Hotel Tryp Habana Libre for a week on January 2016. When we arrived, we had to wait about one hour in check-in line. Why they don't have the register forms prefilled, when they have got names from tour operator? We got the room, but after one hour some other hotel visitor knocked on our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miikka from Finland
philadelphia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading so many terrible reviews I was prepared for a terrible hotel. However, the hotel turned out to be better then expected. Yes, it's old, tired, and flawed, but the rooms were big, clean, tile on the floor, and comfortable. We stayed in room 1707 which was oceanfront and had no problems with the room. On the other side...... More 

Helpful?
Thank rg2000
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel one week in January, with husband and couple of friends. Booked our trip thru a travelling agency and they only had this hotel left to choose from. The good: the huge lobby is a good place to gather, wait for picks up etc, plus the Patio bar is nice, with nice live Cuban music in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank marjat414
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review

Dear marjat414, We thank you for your comments and we have taken note of your remarks. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the bar El Patio as well as our hotel areas and our different services. It is true that our hotel has a long history and therefore we are taking measures in restoring the installation, including rooms,... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

+ nice view over Havana; big rooms and beds. American style. - poor services; unfriendly personnel speaking poor English; no restaurant, only a very expensive fast-food; mold on the room doors and damaged walls and ceilings; Book only in case of no other choice available.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cadi76
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review

Dear Cadi76: Thank you for your positive comments about our rooms style and beautiful views. We would like to apologize for the lack of professionalism in the staff, we have discussed your review with all the management. Regarding our restoration is very wide and varied and we have our international buffet Antilles, El Barracón that is specialized in Cuban food,... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the Original Havana Hilton that was built in the 1950s in the International style. It is 25 stories high with about 1000 large and spacious rooms. Unfortunately, it is an old mare that is barely functional (3 out of 6 elevators working) Rooms and decor creaking into oblivion. Surprisingly, the staff is mildly attentive and this is where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Indstrl
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review

Dear Indstrl: Thank you very much for dedicating part of your time for sending us your impressions of our hotel. Unfortunately we know that time has passed and that our hotel needs a refurbishment which is being carried out in the common areas and we are remodeling elevators and rooms. We hope you come back again with us and enjoy... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hotel has a beautiful lobby, front desk staff hot and cold - depends who you get. Room very large with a great view - furniture a little bashed up. Good location. Tons of beggars as soon as you walk out the door.

Helpful?
Thank Tripster1964
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review

Dear Tripster1964, We are grateful for your positive comments about our beautiful lobby, spaciousness of the rooms and great views. Regarding the deterioration of furniture, we would like to let you know that the hotel is undergoing constant improvement and gradual renewal that includes the furniture. We appreciate your comments and took note of your remarks in order to improve... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Traveling with another couple. The first rooms we were allocated were unrenovated with dirty marks on walls and rotten wood on door frames and dado rails, the safe did not work, fridge was empty and the extractor vent in bathroom was rusty, dirty and hanging off the ceiling. When we complained we were allocated rooms with identical problems. Eventually we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review

Dear Anne S, We assure you that we have taken note of all your remarks and the incident that you had with the rooms was discussed with all the departments involved to avoid it happening again. We take this opportunity to ask you to accept our sincerest apologies. We would like to let you know that we are carrying out... More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was very big, clean, extraordinary view of Malecon district, very big lobby, great security, breakfast buffet is overwhelming, good restaurant with 24hr service. The Lobby Bar needs rearrangement in such spacious area.

Helpful?
Thank drvia
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review

Dear drvia, It was very gratifying to read your opinion about our hotel and to know that your experience was very positive. We know that there are many details that we have to continue improving for the full enjoyment of our customers. Receive our sincere gratitude and know it will be a pleasure to welcome you if you decide to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,795 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2765)
Viewed
Room/suite (473)
Viewed
Bathroom (155)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (548)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (111)
Viewed
View from room (536)
Viewed
Dining (112)
Viewed
Family/play areas (71)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (28)
Viewed
Other (731)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#3 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
#72 of 102 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities