We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Maxwell Coast Road Christ Church S N, 15031 Barbados
Lowest prices for your stay
travelup.com
$238
Destinia.com
$229
ZenHotels.com
$236
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (165)
360
Panoramas (22)
Room & Suite (256)

About

#33 of 54 hotels in Christ Church Parish
Location
3.4
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.3
Value
3.4
Guests who come to stay at the Sunbay Hotel find that our Barbados vacation resort offers a very unique ambiance…a tranquil, serene oasis set in a lush tropical garden where you can truly get away from it all and relax.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
402Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 134
  • 102
  • 46
  • 51
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LoveTravel710683 wrote a review Jan 2023
Upon arrival the room was not properly cleaned and need upgrading, bed not comfortable at all. The staff however were very nice. Janife who work at the front desk, the kitchen staff Desiree, Sharon & Donna, these ladies are exceptionally nice .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Broome, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable in your room. We address the issues you had with the room the same day and offered some ways that we could compensate you for the inconvenience. Having worked in the industry for many years I can say that every hotel would love to upgrade everything all the time. Unfortunately, this is not possible for several reasons. What we can and always do is charge a rate that is competitive and fair for our class of budget hotel. We thank you for your compliments on the staff. It is no secret that they are the best feature of this hotel... I hope that never changes. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew & Vivienne wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we choose this hotel to quarantine in as it was advertised as an all-inclusive hotel and it would be perfect for a couple of nights until we got our 2nd negative test results. Well, all I can say the staff was very friendly and tried hard to make a bad situation better. I can not say bad word against them. The hotel is not an all-inclusive hotel at all it is a budget Bed and breakfast/room only hotel. We had booked for all-inclusive and got room only. Once arrival in our room, it became very clear this was the case. We had no mini bar, no tea/coffee and no water. But I must say we had a kettle and 2 cups that was full of dust. When I tried to complain to the owner, he could only say I was breaking the quarantine rules and I would be arrested. After I informed him to send police, prime minister, health minister and immigration to the hotel as I wish to speak to them as he would not answer any of my question regarding what he has in place for us as we had paid for an all-inclusive stay. I would say this hotel should be avoided as this man is only interested in getting rich and not about his customers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not book this hotel as an all-inclusive.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Broome, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded May 6, 2021
Dear Guest, We are disappointed but not surprised to see this review. It seems that the sincere apology that you gave to myself, my management and my staff for your unacceptable behavior, that put all of us at risk, wasn't sincere at all. The COVID19 protocols of Barbados stated that guests MUST remain in the their guest room during quarantine. Yet you insisted on coming down to the front desk to interact with my staff. I remained on the phone with you while you complained profusely and loudly about COVID19 measures that are out of the hotel's control. As I said to you then; Sunbay Hotel is not an all inclusive hotel, you paid for and received room and breakfast. If you were misled by a tour operator or travel agent then you should take it up with them. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hmarcell2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Atlanta, Georgia1 contribution
Staff was overall unfriendly, non-accommodating and unsupportive. I will never stay here again. Restaurant service was horrible. I was told to move from the bar while eating a slice of pizza even tho there were no customers. Room service was the only thing that was done right consistently.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Rooms were ok but terribly overpriced. This room should never exceed $75 US per night and that’s...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear hmarcell, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I happen to know for a fact that the staff at Sunbay Hotel are extremely supportive and accommodating. Along with those great attributes. they also have to politely enforce rules from time to time. For obvious reasons we do not allow food obtained from outside of our establishment to be consumed in our restaurant or at our bar. If the enforcement of this policy has offended you and caused your entire stay with us to be ruined we are sorry. However, this is a policy enforced by many many hotels locally and around the world. We understand the underlying difference between when a big branded hotel enforces a policy and when a small independent hotel enforces the same policy; this is the nature of things. We will continue to follow best practices and enforce policies designed to protect guests, staff and company alike. Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
segreen2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Loughborough, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was clean and ok, we believed the hotel was on the beach, it was the other side of a minor road, to get to the beach was a 10 min walk. The breakfast was awful we chose from a grubby old plastic coated menu. The pool was nice and clean but there were no towels unless you bought one for 15$ The reception staff were rude and couldn’t care less about anything else but their appearance. One day a gentleman was behind reception but he was too busy eating a basket meal under the counter than find out when our delayed airport shuttle would arrive.there was a mature lady on the activities desk in the foyer and she was helpful and kind.I guess once upon a time it was a decent hotel but now it’s tired and needs refurbishing and the staff badly need training..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Maybe a poolside room as we had a partial sea view room but the internet didn’t get a signal.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Dear segreen, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If our offering does not suit your taste we understand and take no issue. However we do take issue with some aspects of your review which we find to be untrue. In any case, we wish you well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ticketjelly wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
On Arrival to Barbados, my transfer to Sunbay from Airport was good lovely driver. On arrival the Receptionists had very poor customer service skills throughout our stay. Overall the best receptionist was the elderly male he was very friendly and willing to help professional customer service and very efficient no problem . The Tour Guide lady is very good and highly i recommend her . The catering staff are all so amazing especially Chef Jonathon & two Young female Chefs the passion shows great food. Front of house staff are all very amazing & friendly . Desiree my favourite and the lovely lady who organised my Valentines meal thank you.I loved the bar staff they are all a pleasure to be around .rooms were cleaned very well everyday thank you My partner and i would love to come back. Great location to stay thanks Sunbay .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Thank you for doing a great job much appreciated!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear ticket, Thank you for your review. Thank you for choosing Sunbay Hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
corbychris wrote a review Mar 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
Th Sunbay Hotel is in a good location in Maxwell, close enough to the main road for public transport and far enough from it to be quiet. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. TV has many channels, safe can be rented cheaply. Fridge and kettle available. Nice private balcony looking over atmospheric courtyard with palm trees, pool and sunbeds. The hotel is close to Oistins, and Maxwell itself has some of the best swimming conditions and sea temperature in the south of the island.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear corbychris, Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well and hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith B wrote a review Mar 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom1 contribution
I stayed for nearly 6 weeks as part of a working trip to Barbados. The room was spacious and light, with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage. The bathroom was also large with shower and bath, and a full selection of towels and soap, shampoo and conditioner. The air conditioning was great, although with the air blowing directly at the bed it got a little chilly at night with just a single sheet as a covering. I used a large bath mat as a blanket and this provided protection against the breeze while the cool temperature was maintained. It was good to have a decent sized fridge to keep food in to make snacks as a light meal options. There was a decent sized safe to lock away valuables in for insurance purposes - large enough to put your laptop in, although the system of renting the lock mechanism should be changed to come as free - maybe with a deposit to ensure the key is not lost. The lock rent was waived for my stay so thanks Sunbay. Unfortunately the main problem with the room was the internet which was very poor, varying from week to non-functional. This should be improved/fixed to improve the guest experience. The public areas of the hotel are decent with seating in the lounge, a small bar, a pleasant pool area (which I did not use) and a restaurant. Breakfasts were ok, but the buffet system means the food is sometimes "tired" and I also expected more choice, particularly of fresh fruit and juices (the fruit was sometimes tinned and the juice choice always over sweetened). However, the staff in the hotel were excellent, very friendly and responsive to needs, and in some cases took time to chat and to get to know you. Overall, my stay was enjoyable and relaxing after a hard day’s work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: If you have poor internet signal in your room, try opening the French windows to improve signal...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear Keith, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you with us. You be happy to know that we have recently added blankets and make the safes free. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HoppyJH wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia50 contributions15 helpful votes
Loved the location in a quieter area with a small uncrowded beach across the road, also in walking distance to the fish markets. Rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. We had a great balcony overlooking the lovely pool area. We only ate in the restaurant once, I would probably suggest you eat at one of the many cafes, restaurants or fish markets nearby.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear HoppyJH, Thanks for highlighting our great location, comfort and value for money. These pillars are important to us and guide our daily operations. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YHZweatherguy wrote a review Mar 2020
halifax,ns45 contributions46 helpful votes
The Sunbay is quite clean, and the grounds with the pools and treed areas quite attractive. The fact that the balconies all face that inside pool areas nice. It's a pretty basic level of service: no pool towels, we had no face towels, only a sheet (no blanket) on the bed. The air conditioner worked well, except 20C was colder than 16C? Good TV. Good price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: bring beach towels and ask for an extra sheet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear weatherguy, Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us that you appreciated our property and value for money. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean W wrote a review Mar 2020
Neilston2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a great hotel perfect for our needs and central to a lot of places.The staff were terrific and so helpful would definitely go back.Food was a mixed bag but edible.Everyone is in no rush to do anything but we didn't mind.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Lovely rooms and cleaned every day even bed linen
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear Jean, Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$162 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church Parish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNBAY HOTEL $148 ($̶3̶0̶8̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sunbay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St Lawrence Gap (0.6 miles), Maxwell Beach (0.4 miles), and Flavours of Barbados (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunbay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sunbay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunbay Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunbay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bliss Cafe, Irie Foods, and Surfer's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunbay Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunbay Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting George Washington House (3.5 miles), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (3.2 miles), and Gun Hill Signal Station (4.7 miles).
Is Sunbay Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.