We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Prospect Bay, BB24033 Barbados
17 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Autograph
$519
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$343
View deal
Booking.com
$312
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$343
Priceline$312
Hotels.com$343
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1195)
Pool & Beach (297)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Updated 08/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 25 in Saint James Parish
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
New to the award winning Elegant Hotels Group family in Barbados, the redesigned all-inclusive Waves Hotel and Spa is located on a stretch of white pristine beach on the Platinum West Coast of the island. The oceanfront hotel offers a unique getaway where the all-inclusive experience goes beyond premium accommodation and versatile dining. The focus on mind & wellness, freshly prepared dishes, artistic and local activities provides an opportunity for guests to unwind and reconnect. This eco-chic wellness hotel caters to those seeking a mind and body holiday: whether guests are looking for a serene, adult-only escape in the dedicated spa side of the property or a high-energy communal oceanfront lounge setting, the 70 room hotel offers an authentic Barbados experience for all ages. Elegant Inclusions with each stay provide complimentary motorized and non-motorized water sports, WiFi, all meals and beverages, fitness center, yoga, bespoke daily activities plus a complimentary water taxi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Evening entertainment
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
911Reviews393Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 693
  • 164
  • 34
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KayMo26 wrote a review May 21
15 contributions41 helpful votes
This was our second visit to Waves, and our fifth to the island. Our stay overall was lovely but there were just a couple of niggles that staff did their best to resolve. We booked room 520 on the spa side which was advertised as a one bedroom suite with a pool view. The room itself was beautiful and spacious but sadly had the view of a roof that was almost within touching distance! We expressed our concerns and were quickly ‘upgraded’ to a split level room on the beach side. While the views here were lovely, there wasn’t really much space or storage for the three of us, especially with the sofa bed made up. This room also had a ‘wet bar’ which appeared to be simply a sink - the fridge was empty throughout our stay. To be fair to the staff, they did their best by moving us, and regularly checked to make sure we were happy, but room 520 should definitely not be described as having a pool view. Beds were huge and very comfortable. Cleaners left our room spotless each day and the air con in the room is fantastic. The hotel looks clean and fresh - just as it did when we visited 3 years ago. Staff are all super friendly and welcoming., and are a credit to the hotel. The pool area is so peaceful although sun beds are in short supply and guests DO reserve them early, despite there being a policy stating that this isn’t allowed. Sun beds are very comfy and fresh towels supplied daily. Drinks and snacks delivered throughout the day were very welcome. Food was mostly okay, although one night I waited an hour for my main course (gnocchi) only for it to be served cold. Sometimes the service was a little slow while we waited to be seated or fed (perhaps covid has had an impact on staffing levels?) but that’s very much the whole vibe of the island - nobody rushes anything! We enjoyed our complimentary spa treatments - a real treat - and overall felt that the all inclusive was good value. The hotel is quiet and peaceful so don’t go there if you want a lively atmosphere. For a restful break in paradise, it’s pretty perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid room 520 if you want a pool view - it has an awful view of a roof!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ReemaThanki25 wrote a review Mar 2021
6 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We visited in September 2020 for our Honeymoon, we could not have asked for better quality and COVID safety than this amazing hotel. The facilities were spotless and the staff were amazing and accommodating. With their sister hotel restaurants closed, they made the most of the wonderful chefs they had and changed the menu daily, all food was delicious and no request was out of bounds for them. The overall staff from the front desk, restaurant and bar service was personal and so welcoming, the staff made our trip so warm and fun. Thank you for making our Honeymoon and first trip to Barbados so special, we will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanette Price, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Responded Apr 30, 2021
Dear ReemaThanki25, Thank you for your five star review on your honeymoon experience. We are so happy to know that this momentous occasion was spent with us and it was an amazing one with memories to last a lifetime. We saw that you made mention of the property being spotless, the staff being amazing and the food being delicious. This is great to know as it all attributed to the overall enjoyment of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette
Read more
Scampen1991 wrote a review May 14
30 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
We have just arrived home from our 6night stay at Waves Hotel & Spa, we said the whole time how lovely and relaxed it all was. Let's start with the greeting.. Arrived a bit late due to delays at the airport eager to get up to our room for a lay down and we was not dissapointed! We booked the ocean front room and the view was beautiful every single day, the room was a good size & kept clean daily!! the cleaners all work really hard at the upkeep of the hotel no matter how much sand you may bring in, you are always greeted with a fresh room! Food : I myself am a very fussy eater i always dread ordering food and asking for it without stuff in, but the selection at Waves was brilliant something for everyone to eat! Breakfast was my favourite a full display of everything you could possibly want (along with an entertaining show from the little birds each morning) fresh salads made to cater with no guilt for asking for something different! The restaurant staff Christine particularly took care of us most mornings, removing my partner's ever growing plate of food & refilling our water keeping us hydrated in the heat! Bar : If you are thinking of going to stay at the Waves you will surely be greeted on the bar by their amazing staff who honestly work so hard making 100's of drinks and doing their rounds checking if any guests need another & brining it over when it's made! A special shout out to Mark, Kendrick, Lamar & Jakobi for making the best mango colada's & coconut daiquiri We found the watersports to be brilliant and you can do them again and again, we grabbed our own snorkles and saw so many amazing fish just off the beach, an easy swim for anyone to see! we enjoyed the paddle boarding & the hobbi cat & some kayaking staff on the beach work just as hard as everyone up above, back and forth with drinks & always in good spirits. bringing frozen grapes & ice lollies to the beach on really hot days something we thought was a fab idea! Sister? When you stay at Waves if your all inclusive you can visit two of the sister hotels for free & eat & drink for a day, & you can go back which leads me onto the POOL now i love the beach, sincerely and the whole hotel was only missing one thing, a really good pool (for everyone) however if you hop over on the water taxi and pop to crystal cove you can spend the day by their beautiful pool and bar & being able to do that simply makes up for it. Waves do have 2 pools, one on the adults only side & a family one on the other side. A special thanks to Jaquelin in reception for making us feel so welcome and really to all of the staff for those faces but names I didn't quite get. All of them went above and beyond for myself, my partner & even for other guests we had spoken to on our stay. If your thinking of going to Barbados I personally would 100% reccomened staying at The Waves Hotel & Spa you will not be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanette Price, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Scampen1991, Thank you for your glowing review on your past stay at Waves Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to learn that your stay was an enjoyable one. We saw you made mention of being a fussy eater. We are thrilled that your dietary needs were taken care of. A holiday in the Caribbean would not be complete without some Sea, Sand and Sun and your review tells that you captured this by engaging in the complimentary water sports activities. We are also happy to know that the team attributed to the enjoyment of your holiday. We thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette
Read more
maryn1025 wrote a review May 8
Reading, United Kingdom63 contributions33 helpful votes
Value for money this is a very acceptable hotel. We found the accommodation to be clean and comfortable. The food was always fresh and varied, like most AI hotels it can become repetitive, service was brilliant and with a smile, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach is small and does get quite busy at times however we always managed to get a lounger. The adults only spa side had a lovely relaxing pool, this did get busy at times as there was only space for 20 guests. Yes there is a busy road between the building however one would know that before they booked, we didn’t have a problem with this, and didn’t find it noisy. To sum up given the loss of business (owing to covid) suffered by hospitality and rising costs I felt this hotels offered very good value for money. With a few tweaks this could be 5*, but appreciate this costs money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanette Price, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Responded 6 days ago
Dear maryn1025, Thank you for your review on your past stay at Waves Hotel & Spa. We are so delighted to learn that your holiday was an enjoyable one and you considered it to be value for money. It is always a pleasure when our guests stay with us and have pleasant experiences. We have acknowledged your comments pertaining to the food. We thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette
Read more
Marsha A wrote a review May 6
Toronto, Canada81 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
This isn’t a hotel! It’s more of a motel situated on a busy main road where anyone can simply walk into the property! The lobby is old and tacky with filthy carpets. The staffs are quite nice but definitely not enough to provide proper service to guest. You’d sit around lol day and not get offered a drink and if you do, it would be the only one but then again, the drinks are all watered down and tasteless. Long line ups to enter one of the two restaurants and often not a host in site to assign a table. The food is inedible and often shared with the pesty birds that poops all over the furniture and deck. I’ve never had such bad food in the Caribbean. Quite frankly, the food on the island overall is pretty bad. There are two pools at the motel and they’re both old. The pool at the adults only side is green and has what looks like mold around the inside. The poolside furnishings are old and filthy.. I won’t recommend Waves to anyone unless they’re looking for a clean room to sleep. $700 CND a night and you get two bottles of water, the same quantity coco cola, sprite and carbonated water. You get no snacks or even some fruits! Ridiculous.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanette Price, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 691marshaa, Thank you for your feedback on your past stay with us. From your review, it is evident that your experience did not meet your expectations. This is truly disappointing to know. We have therefore flagged each mentioned area, for follow-up with the respective departments and we shall do our utmost to make improvements. We therefore wish to extend sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations. We thank you once again for your feedback as it allows us to become better at what we do. Warm Regards, Shanette
Read more
TomCarluke wrote a review May 5
Scotland13 contributions6 helpful votes
The 8 of us, 6 adults a 5 year old and a 3 year old, have just returned from Waves resort. The rooms we had , ocean view, were on the ground floor and led through the balcony onto the large patio area where there was suite of rattan furniture which allowed us to sit together as a family at night. This is an all inclusive hotel where the accommodation is excellent as are the facilities. Whether you dined in the cafe, Seascape restaurant or Sisho, the food always excelled. The hotel is situated on a beautiful beach with plenty of loungers and parasols with plenty of water sports activities. The setting of the hotel, the accommodation and facilities were only surpassed by the service from the staff. The staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly. They demonstrated a genuine interest in us as individuals and as a group. They continually went out of their way to ensure all your needs were met and spent time engaging with us. Although all staff demonstrated these qualities, it would be unfair not to single out three members of staff who made the whole experience even more special for us, so a big thanks to Romario, Christine and Valerie for the attention and care which enhanced the whole experience. A special thanks from Luke and James.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanette Price, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Responded 1 week ago
Dear TomCarluke, Thank you for your glowing review on your recently concluded holiday at Waves Hotel & Spa. We are so thrilled to know that you and your party were so well taken care of by the members of the team. We also saw that you highlighted the food in the restaurants. We are delighted to know that it was to your satisfaction. We are always happy when our guests stay with us and they have pleasant experiences. We thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards, Shanette
Read more
Stuart M wrote a review May 2
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom40 contributions34 helpful votes
Arrived late afternoon, was allocated a room in adults only area which is across the road from the main hotel but had to wait along time to get a room on the third floor of the main hotel because my wife has mobility issues and there are no lifts in the adults only area. Food and service was generally good, quick mention to Jakobe and Destiny for pool service. I must admit I was disappointed with the beach area as it is tiny, the pool at main hotel is not huge and is in shade at the front of the hotel for most of the day. We did enjoy our stay but I must admit that I have stayed in cheaper hotels in the Caribbean which have had much better facilities. Still have an issue with the hotel trying to debit my bank account when I paid my final bill in full at check out.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: 3rd floor for good sea view at main hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanette Price, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Stuart M, Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. From your feedback, we saw that you were initially assigned to a room on the Adults-only side of the hotel but was accommodated on the sea side due to your wife's mobility issues. We also saw that you made mention of the food which you said was generally good and the staff who took care of you while lounging at the pool. We also saw that you encountered a few disappointments. We are happy nonetheless to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you make Waves Hotel & Spa your hotel of choice once again . Warm Regards, Shanette
Read more
68jims68 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom65 contributions89 helpful votes
Brilliant time. Had an ocean front room with a great view and lots of space .service and food in the restaurant was excellent- ok the 7.30am start time for breakfast was always missed , but this is Barbados. We tried the option of visiting and dining at the other Elegant resorts , but Waves was a cut above them. The beach isn’t the biggest - but it’s big enough to be comfortable and not too crowded and the there is an excellent availability of water sports. We have visited quite a few hotels on the west coast , but in terms of value for money and quality, we will go back here again. Well done all the staff .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
SquidFeet wrote a review Apr 2022
Dorset, United Kingdom108 contributions56 helpful votes
We had a fabulous 10 days at Waves. The food was delicious (especially in Shiso) and it was great to have Kyma coffee shop open from 10.30 till 6 to get sandwiches, salads and fab cake. That meant eating was very flexible if you weren't around for lunch. And thank you to the staff that run this and the other eateries, especially Jennifer, who is like a fabulous ray of sunshine and who kept us laughing :) Oh and the strawberry daiquiris are rather lovely too We had a split level room as we were travelling with our 17 year old son. This gave him his own space and privacy. Upstairs was a little smaller than I imagined, so that when the sofa bed was pulled out, you had to squeeze round to the door to get out onto the balcony. If it were just the two of us, the extra space would have been a bit of a waste to be honest. Our room faced the sea, so we woke up to the sound of the waves (fabulous) even with all the doors and windows shut. They are not well sound-proofed at all, which was fine with us, but we did hear a couple with young children saying that the noise of the traffic on the other side of our block was disturbing. The road is not terrible, but there is a fairly constant stream of traffic, so I was glad we weren't that side. There was only one night when there was a noisy group on the deck outside the bar, but generally, none of the noise from the entertainment areas disturbed us. To get to the other part of the hotel, it is easy to cross the road as there is a zebra crossing. Only once did we have a car not stop as we waited. All the other times, drivers were kind. Across the street there is the Shiso restaurant and beyond that, it is 'adults only'. This is defined as 'no one under 17' (just in case you have teenagers and were wondering). The pool here is peaceful and set in a lovely courtyard garden. The jacuzzi area only had waterfall spouts, but we couldn't find how to activate bubbles and never saw them working. The spa is also in this area. Our room came with complementary treatments (book early!) and we were also allowed them for our son (although there were not originally provided) given he was 17 which is the minimum age for the spa. The vouchers are NOT transferable between guests. The staff in the spa were variable. Most treatments we had were fabulous (Jalisa's scalp massage is highly recommended - WOW WOW WOW!) but two of us had a massage with another therapist who was rather less than relaxing - frankly she came across as having a go at us for various reasons like not stretching enough or not having enough massages! Not ideal, as it really did mar the relaxation bit of the experience. We took advantage of the boat link up to Crystal Cove, Tamarind and Colony Club on several occasions. We found that Crystal Cove had a nice little patch for snorkelling. At Colony Club, the beach is next to the marine reserve. Although we only snorkel off the beach, we did see some nice stuff here, including a white sea snake, which was rather unexpected! Unfortunately, the beach at Waves was not good for shallow snorkelling as there is a reasonable drag from the waves and that churns up the sand, making visibility often poor. My son had a great water skiing lesson with an excellent teacher on the boat. The watersports guys on the beach were very helpful and it was pretty easy to book a slot. If you are going to book trips, I would recommend seeing the folks at the front desk to get them booked. We had tried to organise our trips with the lady on the booking desk opposite and she had promised a lot. Then, for the whole of the weekend, she wasn't around and so our trips were not organised as promised. It did seem a strange way to run a booking desk. However, a shout out to the amazing Ashani on the front desk. We explained about the two trips we wanted to do and she got on and sorted them then and there. Also, when she said she was going to do something, she absolutely did, which was a relief, as we had lost so much time waiting for help from elsewhere. She was amazing and even hung on to see us off on our last day. So if you fancy a relaxing holiday with great food, you will enjoy what Waves has to offer for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go for sea facing rooms if you are in the beach part of the hotel as you won't hear noise...
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
FleurMichelle wrote a review Apr 2022
Cheltenham, United Kingdom246 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
So the first thing to know about Barbados if you’ve never been before is that it is incredibly expensive. So whilst self catering hotels might look like a bargain you will soon spend way more than you would’ve done if you were here on all-inclusive. This hotel is spectacular, clean, well positioned and beautiful. The food is varied and an incredibly high standard, plentiful and displayed beautifully. I prefer a La Carte to buffet but as you can use all the other hotels in the Elegant chain, you can always find somewhere different to eat. (Way too much in our case!🥴) Drinks are as you would expect in a high class cocktail bar and are made with love. The rooms are a great size, even with a pulled out sofa bed and I would highly recommend booking early to get one of the ocean view rooms (which are absolutely stunning). The standard rooms can be a little noisy from the road but nothing earplugs don't fix. All of this sounds good, right??....however this is not what makes the hotel special. The real gems in this little slice of paradise are the staff. Not only are they smiling and constantly eager to please, they also remember your name and your preferences which means the experience is so much more personal. I really can’t fault anyone on the team they were all spectacular but a special thanks goes out to Ashani🤍 and Lorial.... You both know why. XXX Sat in the lobby now, waiting to fly home....and book the next trip. ☀️🌴🍸🤩
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra. Take plenty of sun cream - you'll need it and it's costly...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$352 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waves hotel saint james, escape at prospect bay hotel, escape hotel spa barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosSaint James Parish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Carlisle Bay (4.0 miles), Browne's Beach (4.3 miles), and Pebbles Beach (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nishi Restaurant, Cafe Bar Carizma, and Sahara Arabic Grill and Falafel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels have airport transportation?
Yes, Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting George Washington House (4.7 miles), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (4.9 miles), and Barbados Garrison (4.8 miles).
Does Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.