We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Autograph
$511
View deal
Expedia.com
$511
View deal
Trip.com
$444
View deal
Priceline$465
Booking.com$465
Travelocity$511
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (655)
360
Panoramas (5)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 05/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The House by Elegant Hotels
Updated 05/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 25 in Saint James Parish
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Guests are treated to stunning views of its white sandy beach and the glistening Caribbean sea all while receiving spoiling 24/7 personal ambassador service. Included in each stay is daily champagne breakfast, 30 minute jet lag massage, afternoon tea and evening canapés along with daily bespoke activities, WiFi, water sports and the ultimate location to take in the most unforgettable sunsets.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Spa
Massage
Adults only
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Luxury
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
832Reviews57Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 678
  • 92
  • 36
  • 15
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
harvey l wrote a review May 17
Wasaga Beach, Canada1 contribution
This hotel has very clean rooms, and Mellissa our maid was very fantastic.She did an excellent job cleaning our room but never interupting us. the turndown service was quite a surprise! and the food was great with a spectacular restaurant next door and included in our package, Positano's.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: we had a junior suite looking over the ocean, fantastic.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded 1 week ago
Dear harveyl479, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and our wonderful staff which is our greatest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Ann Mc wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived it was paradise so easy to check in with a nice cool drink, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who truly make this experience extra special, they are too many to mention but are all truly amazing at what they do, a special big thanks to Richard, Andrew (thank you for streaming the Liverpool game for us on the first morning made my husbands day), Agnus for the cappuccinos , Wade for dancing, Ricco, Ronaldo, Teddy, for remembering our favorite drinks, always there with a smile and very knowledgeable about the local bars and restaurants and where truly amazing at booking the other Elegant Hotel restaurants we could choose from, The location is second to none the beach is stunning and the watersports so easy to arrange, again nothing too much trouble for the watersports staff, Our room had an amazing sea view watching the stunning sunset from our balcony was a highlight of the day. Lastly I would like to thank Jason the manager, he made our stay very special in lots of ways one being remembering our wedding anniversary, even though I had only mentioned this in passing. Thank you so much. See you next year guys' we can't wait.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a sea view junior suite its worth the extra
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Z1544CNannm, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and our wonderful staff which is our greatest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Angela Stewart wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Wow, This place is a small piece of Paradise. What an amazing Boutique Hotel. The Setting is stunning, the food outstanding and the service second to none. The Manager Jason oversees everything and takes immense pride in the Hotel and making sure that all the guests are 100% happy all of the time. It has a great vibe to the place the staff are fun and professional. I made some great forever friends whilst on my visit and would love to go back there very soon. Great location and facilities, anything you want to participate in, Boat rides Jet skis, Diving. everything can be arranged. Totally recommend The House Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Dear V4998HUangelas, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and enjoying your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Nick B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just on way home from The House and mores the pity. First impressions are a little mixed to be fair, there isn’t any grandeur, it is truly a boutique hotel. Lasting impressions however are very positive, the place just “works” and this is made possible by exceptional staff who host you in a way that makes you feel that you stay with them and not “just” at the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear EvertonNJB123,, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and enjoying your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Amanda-McG wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom212 contributions281 helpful votes
We stayed here for three nights and cannot compliment this place enough.The staff are wonderful impeccable service and it’s informality make it so unique and you’re made to feel like one of the family.Great ocean facing suite,excellent food and drinks choice & great location .Adults only but also you have the choice of moving/dining around the sister properties.We will for sure return we cannot fault this place whatsoever.If we could give 7 stars we would.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Apr 2, 2022
Dear Amanda-McG, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and enjoying your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Jane wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Let’s start with the positives .. most of the staff are warm and welcoming ,especially Shane , nothing too much trouble , he also made the very best Strawberry daiquiris! There is a charm to the hotel , relaxed and very friendly ..however it’s very tired ! The rooms thankfully have good beds with clean bedding , but very shabby ( not chic ) !! Bathroom again in desperate need of refurbishing . It’s a big mistake going all -inclusive ..the food is very disappointing . Breakfast is saved by the egg station , the rest especially the continental breakfast limited choice and same every morning . Don’t mention the Positano menu ..which is served most evening and became a bit of a joke !! The restaurant are so superb on the island , that most evenings people , even all -inclusive , ate out ..leaving the hotel in the evening very quiet , which was such a shame for the hardworking staff and entertainment that was provided ! I think the Marriott group , need to take a long hard look at this hotel , before it’s reputation is ruined by there take over !! Ending on a positive ..we had a really lovely holiday , again down to the staff and there eagerness to please . We can’t thank Shane , Agnes and Andrew enough , for making what could have been a disappointing holiday into one of the best .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear BettyJane60 Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am so sorry that your stay was so contrary to the usual guest experience with us. We are constantly looking to improve our product and we apologize for your disappointment with our property and hope that at some point you will give us another opportunity to show you the true House experience. I apologize for your disappointment with our property and hope that at some point you will give us another opportunity to show you the true House experience. We are pleased that the staff exceeding your expectations as this is our greatest asset. Warmest Regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Caroline S wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
The most gorgeous boutique hotel. Simply can’t understand the negative reviews!? Checked in yesterday and couldn’t have had a more chilled experience. Our room is lovely, food has been very good, location is perfect and staff are delightful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear CarolineS, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and enjoying your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Debbie R wrote a review Feb 2022
Wilmslow, United Kingdom38 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We have had an amazing stay here. We were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite which was fab. Elemis toiletries. The staff are superb and can’t do enough for you. Teddy and Andrew you made my holiday. Breakfast was lovely along with the rose champagne. Lunch very good mixture of BBQ and salads etc. Dinner was good but could do with a bit More choice. We mixed it up and went out a couple of times. Drinks amazing and great watching the sun go down. Getting a sun bed on the decking meant an early start. Location is fantastic, amazing beach and free water sports. I will definitely be back. Thank you to all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Book a few local restaurants to mix it up.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Dear DebbierG1248FG, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and Staff which is our greatest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Simon Burgess wrote a review Feb 2022
Alhama de Granada, Spain9 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I had a great stay at The House. A perfect place to unwind and enjoy all the Caribbean has to offer. Very relaxing especially after the complimentary 60 minute jet-lag revival massage - one of the best we have had! The staff were very attentive and keen to make sure we enjoyed our holiday. Thank you Jason and the team for making our stay so special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Dear sfs_burgess, Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at The House hotel. We appreciate your feedback and value all of your comments. We are delighted that you were impressed with the accommodation and Staff which is our greatest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
HatTheRat wrote a review Feb 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
We arrived here having been sold an all inclusive 5 star experience. The fabric of the hotel is tired, grubby and in state of disrepair. The pool was missing tiles (which fell off as you swam), Sun-beds ripped, ground lighting broken, outside seating dirty, rubbish on the terrace and plants not cleared and carpets/upholstery in the bedroom grubby. The management was chaotic and mostly the really pleasant staff run off their feet as there were too few of them. Having no concierge it was hard to find someone to ask to get a taxi, or find missing laundry and we were never checked out. When I tried to ring every button on the out of date room phone there was no answer or it just went dead! The food was at times inedible, breakfast fruit unripe and watermelon fizzy. The night we tried the evening buffet we struggled to find anything tempting. In Postitano - the neighbouring restaurant where we could also eat after an hour of waiting for our mean course we left. There was no attention to detail, sun-beds not prepared or laid out in the mornings, if it rained the seat cushions just left out with no attempt to tidy them or wipe the tables. In the evening candles were not lit on the tables - all in all it was shambles not helped by being full with not enough seating/sun-beds for all the guests or staff! We paid for an all inclusive package but gave up on the food, drinks were so strong at times undrinkable. Watersports - hard to book and equipment substandard. The two pluses were that the bed was extremely comfortable, sheets cleaned daily and the fantastic massages at the spa when we eventually managed to get them but they were too overrun to be able to offer any other treatments. My advice save your money, so many places want guests but it seems Marriot Hotels have decided not to invest in The House. Its seems many of our fellow guests were of a similar opinion, some leaving mid-stay which we did consider but having spent so much could not afford to do so.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't bother go to another hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Jordan, General Manager at The House by Elegant Hotels
Responded Feb 21, 2022
Dear HatTheRat, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am so sorry that your stay was so contrary to the usual guest experience with us. We are constantly looking to improve our product and we apologize for your disappointment with our property and hope that at some point you will give us another opportunity to show you the true House experience. I apologize for your disappointment with our property and hope that at some point you will give us another opportunity to show you the true House experience Warmest Regards Jason D Jordan Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$429 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the house hotel saint james, the house saint james, the house barbados, saint james the house, house barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosSaint James Parish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The House by Elegant Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to The House by Elegant Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Paynes Bay Beach (0.3 miles), Holders Farmers Market (0.6 miles), and Barbados Polo Club (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The House by Elegant Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The House by Elegant Hotels?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The House by Elegant Hotels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The House by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The House by Elegant Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cliff, Cariba Restaurant and Bar, and Wendy's Sports Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The House by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The House by Elegant Hotels have airport transportation?
Yes, The House by Elegant Hotels offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The House by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The House by Elegant Hotels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Parliment Buildings (4.7 miles) and Independence Square (4.8 miles).
Does The House by Elegant Hotels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.