We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels

Save
Share
Hwy 1 Paynes Bay Barbados
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$513
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/21/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Expedia.com$513
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (219)
Pool & Beach (72)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
Updated 07/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 25 hotels in Saint James Parish
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Recently renovated, reimagined and reopened in December 2017, Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels is a true gem among luxury hotels in the Caribbean. The 35-room all suite adults only hotel is located in Paynes Bay, St. James, on one of the most beautiful beaches on the Platinum West Coast of Barbados. Treasure Beach has undergone an extensive renovation to completely redesign the hotel into an intimate art-focused and epicurean boutique hotel where the sophisticated traveler can indulge in art, cultural and culinary journeys and connect with the local community.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkeling
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Foot bath
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Green
191Reviews46Q+A64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 153
  • 26
  • 6
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Julie H wrote a review Oct 12
2 contributions
Firstly the positives: Small Hotel in a lovely location Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful Not to dwell on negatives, however whilst the food is tasty and well presented the menu is very monotonous 1) The same breakfast menu daily (although the staff were open to variations ie poached egg on toast 2) The same lunch menu for three days (with choice of three appetisers, three mains - usually one meat, one fish and one veggie 3) The same dinner menu weekly (with similar options as lunch) There was one night that my husband did not like anything on the menu and little choice was given Despite the suggestion of a dine around option, it was very difficult to obtain evening meal availability. There was no drinks menu at the bar, one day they ran out of bottled water and three days they ran out of Merlot (with a sister hotel right next door, surely they could have obtained supplies from them) Our room flooded each and every time it rained (we were offered an alternative room but it did not hold the same view that we had. It took me making a complaint via our booking agent to speak with the General Manager, who although took the time to listen and help book evening meal in two sister hotels very little else was done.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose a second or third floor room in block 1 or 3
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Batson, General Manager at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Julieh8730 Thank-you for taking the time to review your experience at Treasure Beach. We welcome your feedback and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are truly sorry that you encountered issues with your room, and we also wish to apologize that you experienced disappointment with our menu options and exchange dining availability. We are however hoping that with the lovely location of the hotel and our helpful and friendly staff you may consider returning to Treasure in the near future. Warmest regards
Read more
Nick B wrote a review Mar 2021
80 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Had a fantastic couple of days at treasure beach albeit under quarantine conditions wasn't allowed on the beach tho but the fantastic pool for ourselves basically the suite we had was just awesome massive comfy bed lovely bathroom all clean as a whistle we had amazing food and drinks obviously ordered and bought to our room nothing was too much gardens pool sunloung area just so well kept excellent couple of days well done to all and everyone of the hardworking staff .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Batson, General Manager at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
Responded Apr 27, 2021
Dear V9229UDnickb Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay at Treasure Beach. We are happy to learn that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and you enjoyed our food and drinks albeit the quarantine conditions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to again enjoy the hotel and experience a full holiday at Treasure Beach. Warmest regards
Read more
NJ_Thomas wrote a review Oct 11
New Jersey28 contributions22 helpful votes
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Treasure Beach. He had a very nice ocean view suite, nicely furnished and very comfortable. We appreciated the nice extra amenities like the espresso machine. The restaurant food was quite good, service could be good but at times was mysteriously absent and inattentive. We enjoyed having the option to visit other properties in the group and also took advantage of the water sports. The hotel comes up short in our opinion on the following: Premises- it's an old hotel and parts of it are in urgent need of maintenance, particularly the deck along the seawall. Just a stretch of dirt and chipped and flaking masonry. The lobby/reception area has to be one of the strangest I've ever seen and does not give off a strong first impression. Pool lounge chairs - we were disappointed that the hotel tolerates aggressive lounge chair reserving/hoarding. We observed guests putting towels on lounge chairs as early as 7:30, only to have the chairs remain empty for hours. This leads to frustration and disappointment. The hotel should take steps to prohibit it or come up with a better solution(more chairs?) The chairs are also in need of painting. COVID measures - Upon checking in the receptionist presented me with a list of measures the hotel has taken to control the spread of COVID. Notably absent from the list is whether hotel staff are vaccinated or if not, do they need to be tested. When I asked if hotel policy requires employees to be vaccinated, the receptionist said it does not, nor do they need to be tested. My question to the hotel is: which do you think is more effective, not handing out cold towels or requiring your staff to be vaccinated? If the hotel can't do this on their own they should urge the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association to lead the way. We believe the government has done a good job of screening at the airport and therefore our assumption is that 100% of hotel guests are vaccinated. It's time for the staff to be as well. Bottom line, it's an OK place, not great. Keep your expectations modest and you will probably have nice time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Batson, General Manager at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
Responded 5 days ago
Dear NJ_Thomas Thank-you for taking the time to review your experience at Treasure Beach. We are happy to know that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay at Treasure. We are happy that you enjoyed your room, our amenities, our food and watersports. We always welcome feedback from our guests and we strongly put actions into place to rectify any unfavorable issues. We have taken serious note of all your recommendations and will continue to put measures in place to rectify any further issues. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your return to Treasure in the near future. Best regards Lisa Batson
Read more
tashdann wrote a review Oct 6
cambridge16 contributions11 helpful votes
We were lucky to finally have a holiday, however a little disappointed when they advised Turtle Beach was closed and we could stay at Treasure Beach instead, 2 weeks prior to departure (we had been to Turtle beach before and loved it) I'll start with the good Beach beautiful, great location Dine around option, when available a good opportunity to try other Elegant resorts restaurants Watersports next door at Tamarind fantastic, Pompidou a superstar The water taxi between resorts a great facility Wendy & Phillip in the Tapestry restaurant, food (when the cook turned up) fantastic but a bit all the same, Francois on front of house so helpful and friendly Sadly this is where it ends When checking in our Seaview room booked was not available, we did move after 4 nights to a 2nd floor room. Beware the ground floor rooms flood, also our room flooded the entire sitting area with water coming from above and straight through the door, mission impossible making dams with beach towels to stop further flooding, stairs and entrance to the room become treacherous. Terrible shower, just a trickle and when they turned the water off at prime time 5pm forget it. The pool also flooded, garden debris meant it was then closed for 4 days Beach front area, shabby old concrete constantly filthy, never enough sunbeds or beach towels for guests Service - I feel it's unfair to suggest appalling they are incredibly short staffed but sometimes it really was, often resulting in waiting over an hour for breakfast, lunch or dinner, just getting a coffee, or even a cup to drink it from was a mission. Requests for a cup or glass, milk were often met with disdain. Bar, no list of what is available, ignored often when trying to order like we were a real pain & inconvenience Our last day we went for lunch and said we need to leave in an hour, they served us 3 minutes before we left so consequently we did not have time to eat Given the rates they are charging it's not worth it, we would not return - it needs a complete overhaul, however all the service we received at Tamarind and Waves when we visited was superb. We constantly tried to eat elsewhere but getting bookings at alternative restaurants proved difficult, plus you should actually enjoy where you are staying
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Batson, General Manager at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Tashdann Thank-you for taking the time to review your experience at Treasure Beach. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the beautiful beach and location of the hotel, our food, our dine around program, watersports and made recognition to our friendly staff. We are truly sorry that during your stay the heavy torrential rain we experienced affected your room. We also wish to sincerely apologize for all inconveniences and we wish to assure you that we have taken all the feedback that you have provided about your experience at Treasure to put measures in place to further investigate and to make improvements. We again wish to thankyou for staying with us and hope that you will consider returning in the near future. Best regards
Read more
Endler Christiane wrote a review Oct 3
The Netherlands2 contributions
We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon, and it was a fabulous experience from start to finish. The staff, the rooms, the food, the pool, the beach - all excellent. Adult only which is great and only 30 or so rooms makes it a …
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$305 - $1,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
treasure beach saint james, treasure beach barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosSaint James Parish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Paynes Bay Beach (0.1 miles), Holders Farmers Market (0.6 miles), and Sandy Lane Beach (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scarlet, The Cliff, and Cariba Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Parliment Buildings (4.9 miles) and Independence Square (5.0 miles).
Does Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.