We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greenbank Guest House and Cottages

Save
Share
17 Salt Kettle Road, PG 01 Bermuda
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (79)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (4)

About

#1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Paget Parish
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.6
Greenbank is a Bermudian Guest House which has been in the Ashton family for over sixty years. The property has a majestic view of the islands in the Little Sound and is set in the tranquil peninsula of Salt Kettle. All of the rooms and cottages have a private patio. Although you won't hear any sounds of bikes and cars at Greenbank, you are only two minutes away from the City of Hamilton by ferry. The bus route is within half a mile and the ride to Hamilton would take about 7 minutes. The central location and peaceful surroundings make this a perfect spot for a Bermuda holiday!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Canoeing
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Children's television networks
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
128Reviews4Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 83
  • 38
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Robert L wrote a review Dec 2022
We just went back to Bermuda, as a couple, and stayed at a wonderful place, the Greenbank Guest House & Cottages. Our cottage was very nice, cozy, clean, and very affordable. The cottage was virtually over looking the water. It had everything that you could ask for, a comfortable bed, fully stocked kitchenette, bathroom, and sitting area, which overlooked the bay. Incredible sunsets, every night, PLUS, a full moon to boot ! The owners, Matthew & Melanie Hocking were very nice, always accessible, and helped us with local knowledge of restaurants, taxis, and local attractions. We were provided with fresh towels daily, and the bedding was changed on the fifth day, of our eight day stay. Special thanks to Reinhard, who was the jack of all trades, and a valuable asset to the establishment, with his welcome smiles, and immediate detail to any of our request !! So, if you're looking for a comfortable, affordable, and clean place to stay, on a trip to Bermuda ..... THIS is the place. Cheers , Robert & Loretta Lynn Forty Fort PA USA
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All of their cottages were very nice. We booked one with an outside patio area which over looked...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Caribchakita wrote a review Aug 2022
Cape Cod, Massachusetts3128 contributions34 helpful votes
I have been to Bermuda 30+ times, maybe 40, This was my partner's 1st. We planned a last minute getaway. Our desire was to have some self catering options but also to dine around. Having been a Bermuda Destination Specialist/TravelConsultant in the past, I knew the Salt Kettle area. I contacted Melanie, the owner and was offered a seaside king cottage for our 4 night stay. When we arrived, we knew we had made it to Bermuda heaven. The cottage was on the water. The setting is Hamilton Harbour. The views of the ferries, islands and later, the sunset daily, was magical. Our room afforded comfortable furnishings with a king bed, window AC and cute kitchen, equipped for light meal prep. Outside, we had our own quiet patio with expansive views. There was a swimming dock and plenty of Adirondack chairs for sunning or sipping wine or drinks at sunset. The local ferry runs during work hours to bring you into town. It was a fun ride on Wed. on the last ferry so we could enjoy Harbour Nights, the local event held weekly, in season. Overall, our trip was perfect due to our choice of accommodations. Everything flowed and we left, rested and counting down until our next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea Fan is the quietest and most romantic room with a private patio.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
a410traveler wrote a review Aug 2021
Spring Hill, Florida195 contributions132 helpful votes
I had stayed here 25 years ago and was pleased to return with five friends. The place is much the same as I'd remembered but as always well maintained. It is true that they no longer provide shampoo or soap but Reinhardt the maintenance worker is a real keeper. He brought Chinese takeout to us while we were waiting for our COVID test results. This is a place that is so inviting that you'll want to spend a week and then miss it when you have to leave. I plan to return next May.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are different choose garden view or harbor view as you will. No losers here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
robert MacLachlan wrote a review Dec 2020
Malmesbury, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
Found ourselves in Bermuda an extra 4 weeks after BA cancelled all return flights. We couldn't have stayed in a nicer place. Fantastic location by the sea and only 2 mins from the ferry that takes you into Hamilton. The bus service is only 8 mins walk away. You can swim in the sea off the jetty. Very helpful and friendly couple running the guesthouse. Room comfortable with very adequate kitchen and a nice hot shower. We really recommend thus as excellent value
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Erich Adickes wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Charming accommodations, one of the best views on the island, warm welcoming atmosphere. The couple who run Greenbank make you feel like family. You are located in the middle of the island and a ferry dock to Hamilton is two minutes walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MAHocking, Manager at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages
Responded Feb 29, 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So pleased to hear Greenbank is a like a little slice of heaven for you! You are indeed like family and we look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Candy G wrote a review Feb 2020
10 contributions
+1
We love Greenbank Guesthouse! Charming and tranquil, our home away from home for our family and friends since 2007. Accommodating, clean, quiet, family friendly and beautiful! Witness a breath taking sunset on the dock with a beverage or enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning listening to the birds chirp on your own deck. Centrally located on the island, just steps to the ferry for a relaxing ride to Hamilton or just minutes to the South Shore beaches via moped or taxi. We have enjoyed the conversation and hospitality of the owners and staff. The grounds are serene; Hibiscus flowers in bloom, palm trees sway in the breeze... relax, swim, cook your meals or maybe enjoy a kayak ride. Our favorite Guesthouse on our favorite Island!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MAHocking, Manager at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review! Wonderful to read about the highlights of your stay with us in Bermuda at Greenbank. We miss seeing you off the dock swimming and gathering for a good barbecue at the end of the day. Your smiles were contagious and needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed having you with us. We look forward to enjoying a sunset with you all soon. All the best, Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ramona W wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
Bermuda is our happy place and only because we can stay with the most lovable people in one of the prettiest places ever. We are from Germany and since 20 years we visit Bermuda and always properties from the new couple who took over Greenbank. They are so care taking, pleasant, lovable and always helpfull. When we arrive after one day travelling, now with four children , they welcome us with a warmhearted big friendly smile and give you the feeling you never wanna go back home again. The rooms are gorgeuos and really clean. And the garden with all these pretty plants is a place to relax and spoils the soul. Not to forget to mention that Greenbank guest House cottages are right at the ocean and you can jump in the ocean from their dock. In the evening you enjoy your glass of wine watching the prettiest Sunset ever. We love this spot and especially the people who give you the feeling you belong to this place .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MAHocking, Manager at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages
Responded Jan 31, 2020
What a lovely review, thank you and we're so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Your family is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed having you with us here at Greenbank. We know it is a long travel from Germany and it warms our hearts to know you felt so at home with us here. That is our goal as a small property! We want you to have a true Bermudian experience with a sense of a home away from home. We look forward to your return or perhaps we'll see you in Germany one day! Till then all the best, Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah W wrote a review Jan 2020
Fairfield, Connecticut2 contributions
I've been visiting Bermuda since I was a little girl. So happy to have discovered Greenbank. Nestled on the dockside, this quiet little piece of Bermuda is calming and beautiful! (the sunsets were off the charts!!) Our room was bright and clean and the kitchenette was perfect for my 5 year old twins. We ate breakfast at our outside table everyday. The owner Melanie was so helpful with tips for Island day trips as she has a daughter the same age as my girls. Such a special stay, can't wait to go back!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor seating perfect for dining outdoors!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MAHocking, Manager at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Thank you so much for your shinning review! We are so happy you and your family found us here at Greenbank. It was a pleasure having you all with us and we will cherish the memories of watching the girls all play together. We look forward to your return, soon hopefully! Cheers, Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janice Robertson wrote a review Jan 2020
15 contributions5 helpful votes
I had stayed at Greenbanks for 6 years running, every February for 4 weeks, and loved it. Then it was taken over by a new couple. What a disaster. Cockroaches in the bathroom and kitchen, dirty carpeting in the bedroom, only one daily cleaner for 12 cottages. The grounds were neglected and overgrown. All the photos on the website are from the previous owners, it is nothing like that today. If you don't mind slum conditions and roughing it make a booking, but there are much better places in Bermuda for the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MAHocking, Manager at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Good day, I'm sorry but think you are mistaken as we do not have you noted as a guest here in 2019. Perhaps you are confusing us with another property from last year. I do however remember your visit in the early part of 2018. We chatted about when you were here when my grandparents used to manage the property and that there had been some upgrades and rate increased along with the updated decor but we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We did all that we could do to appease you but with very little success. Seaspray has hardwood floors and is currently depicted in our main photo on TripAdvisor. We add photos to TripAdvisor all the time but encourage you to look at our website and the guest photos. Kind regards, Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Twofreespirits wrote a review Dec 2019
UK154 contributions324 helpful votes
A belated report from our week’s stay in June 2019. We stayed in a Water View Unit. It was well equipped with a large fridge and kitchen in which basic meals could be prepared. The bedroom had a standard double bed, reasonable storage, and a small table and chairs. The bathroom with shower was adequate. The bright decoration and fabrics gave it a cosy, cottagey feel – not luxurious but certainly comfortable. We had a decent view across the lawn to the sea beyond. The unit’s terrace was a great place to sit out in the evening barbecuing and watching the sun set. A small barbecue is provided but you will need to buy charcoal. We ended up barbecuing on several evenings as it was both enjoyable and convenient. We did a big shop on the day of our arrival which set us up for the rest of our stay. The grounds are attractive with a jetty to swim from and other seating to relax in. If you’re reliant on public transport, the Salt Kettle ferry dock is 5 mins walk away so Hamilton can be easily reached for shopping, restaurants, etc. We found this very useful and it pays to get a book of ferry tickets in you’re staying for several days. We hired a Twizy and Greenbank has a couple of charging points which is a big plus if you intend to explore the island by car. Melanie was very helpful and communication both before and during our stay was excellent. We felt well looked after. We enjoyed our stay at Greenbank. You will be in good hands.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MAHocking, Manager at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us here at Greenbank and hope you will return soon. All the best, Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
greenbank guest house and cottages hotel paget
LOCATION
CaribbeanBermudaPaget Parish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREENBANK GUEST HOUSE AND COTTAGES - Prices & B&B Reviews (Paget Parish, Bermuda)

Frequently Asked Questions about Greenbank Guest House and Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Greenbank Guest House and Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Front Street (0.7 miles), A Memorable Evening in Bermuda with Mark Twain (0.4 miles), and Harbour Road (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Greenbank Guest House and Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greenbank Guest House and Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crown & Anchor, 1609 Bar and Restaurant, and Fourways Inn.
Are there any historical sites close to Greenbank Guest House and Cottages?
Many travelers enjoy visiting National Museum of Bermuda (3.9 miles), Admiralty House Park (1.9 miles), and Fort Hamilton (1.5 miles).
Does Greenbank Guest House and Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.