We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites

Save
Share
Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour Antigua
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$205
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$205
Priceline
Travelocity$205
Orbitz.com$205
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (290)
Room & Suite (113)
Pool & Beach (50)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 in English Harbour
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
A charming, historic boutique hotel set in a secluded section of 18th century Nelson's Dockyard, offering casual elegance and friendly, personal service, provides the perfect backdrop for relaxation, romance, special events and being active if you choose. The 32 rooms and suites are housed in 4 historic buildings on the waterfront and a headland 100 yards across the bay. The hotel offers a small non-swimming beach, spectacular infinity edged pool, a spa and two excellent open-air restaurants, Pillars and Boom. There is a complimentary boat shuttle to the swimming beach in Freeman's Bay and kayaks to explore the harbour. The perfect hotel for relaxing in peace and quiet or for finding plenty of activities (sailing, scuba diving, hiking, snorkeling, yoga) and fun (several restaurants and nightlife) only 5 - 10 minutes away. A great spot for honeymoons and weddings for 2 to 200.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Car hire
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian
360Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 226
  • 88
  • 19
  • 12
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kristen wrote a review May 2022
Seattle, Washington45 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I spent the week in early May 2022 at the Admiral's Inn during Antigua Sailing Week. The location and grounds are very special and historical. The grounds are kept up nicely and are really spectacular. The Admirals Inn rooms are average. Granted, I realize this is a historical building, but improvements could be made to make it a bit more comfortable for people. Adding a coffee maker and a small refrigerator would be huge! Not having coffee service in the morning in the room was frustrating - especially for those coffee lovers like me! The bed was average and could be updated. Adding a fan to the rooms would be nice as well. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful though. This resort is over priced for what you get in a basic standard room. Admiral's Inn is definitely charming but the rooms are very lacking and distracting from what could have been a spectacular stay! The restaurant "Pillars" for breakfast was subpar. They offered the basic breakfast fare that wasn't that great. We opted to eat other places in the morning (La Brasserie) yum! Everything seemed much too overpriced at this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Juliet wrote a review Apr 2022
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Book with caution! Incredibly overpriced for a basic standard room. No facilities in the room except air conditioning. No fridge, no fan, no kettle, no TV -just one jug with tepid water on the bedside table with 2 glasses - room is so tiny the bedside tables are placed sideways. The bed is 2 single mattresses pushed together which leave a big gap down the middle. The bathroom is very dated with the wardrobe and safe box inside. The woodwork is chipped and grubby and the once white fluffy towels are drab and yellowed - some with lipstick stains in patches. Dogs incessantly barking. Large groups of drunken yachties being loud and offensive in Boom restaurant then peeing in the garden as they left. The following day an extended family with multiple children arrived with inflatable toys and took over the whole pool area - vocally & physically! No pool towels in the morning on either day. Boom staff erratic - sometimes quite cold and aloof. Pool area not cleared very frequently so morning coffee cups and drinks glasses left on tables for long periods- staff just walked past them! All in all a very disappointing and expensive 2 nights - expectations certainly not met!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nadhub wrote a review Apr 2022
Montreal343 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
This hotel oozes character and it is also very comfortable. Staff were friendly and right on the ball. They were terrific at helping us arrange taxis and COVID tests. We stayed here for 3 days and I was sorry to leave. This location is fantastic: quiet and peaceful but close to attractions and other restaurants. I loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Garden rooms are great!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
RD H wrote a review Apr 2022
129 contributions5 helpful votes
This is one special place! The historic aspect of the Admiral's Inn is charming and does not detract from a very pleasant stay. The staff members are very efficient, responsive and warm. We enjoyed a three-day stay and enjoyed every moment. The location is amazing -- right in Nelson's Dockyard. Our room (in a separate building) was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet. The food and beverage service was great. Other restaurants, beaches and shops are a short walk/taxi ride away. If you love boats and history -- this is the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
676PaulB wrote a review Apr 2022
Caribbean99 contributions62 helpful votes
Looks over the harbour to the Admirals Inn from its infinity pool. Accessed by a small ferry from the Inn across the harbour. Very extensive bistro menu and drinks list. Has a day visitor package for non residents with access 12:00 to 5:00pm including drinks and food
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Gun Powder suites are very quiet
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Hampshiremum wrote a review Mar 2022
Road Town, Tortola65 contributions44 helpful votes
We only stayed one night, having holidayed on another island and wanted to guarantee that we didn’t miss our BA flight back to the UK. So glad we chose this place! We had one of their Gunpowder Suites which overlooked the Boom Restaurant, Pool, waterway and the Admiral’s Inn across the way. Such a lovely place to sit in the morning and watch the birds and everyone coming and going. We ate at Pillars the first night and there was more than one vegetarian option on the menu, which is always a bonus. It was a beautiful setting by the water and service was great. Breakfast wasn’t so brilliant - being a vegetarian, it would have been a struggle to come up with anything other than the one “Healthy Breakfast”, which was Muesli, plain yoghurt and fruit. It was OK, but not sure I would want it every day for a week! We couldn’t get a late check-out, but we could leave our bags in the lounge area on the Gunpowder Suites side and after we’d had a very lovely lunch at Boom, we reluctantly returned and were given a little room by the laundry to shower and change. A taxi had been arranged to collect us and off we went. Everyone was so very accommodating. Our room was also very comfortable. I was particularly pleased that water was provided in a filtered jug, thus doing away with plastic waste. I was also amazed to find just outside the hotel, that there were so many shops, bars, restaurants, museums, boats and all sorts going on, but you would never know it within the hotel - it was like a little Caribbean oasis of its own. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
mdvLondon wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom154 contributions119 helpful votes
I loved staying in the Admirals Inn. This is a boutique hotel . The first part of my stay was in one of the bedrooms in the cheaper side of the hotel (in the historic Inn) I had a gorgeous light airy colonial style room overlooking the bar area and the creek. The room was fresh and clean although a tiny bit noisy in the evenings, but it was charming and felt like a lovely historic place to stay. The second half of my vacation was spent in the more expensive newer built side (gunpowder suites) the room was larger and had more facilities like a kettle and minibar. Both were lovely and id recommend either (the Inn being 3 and a half star- the gunpowder suites being a good 4 star ) depending on what you are looking for. The property is beautiful and well maintained. the gardens are gorgeous, the staff really friendly. I enjoyed going to the spa and chatting to the fabulous girls who work there and the bartender Reggie was brilliant and has a very dry sense of humour. The hotel is very pretty and in the best location on the island for restaurants and diving, boating etc - it is in the hub of the island yet tucked away to feel exclusive with s a relaxed Caribbean vibe -its not swanky but its charming in a good way - this is a boutique hotel if ever there was one! The hotel's website doesnt do it justice- it is far prettier and the pool is wonderful- the little boat taking you between the two sides is really great too. I found the breakfasts a little disappointing and as a gluten free vegetarian, there wasnt much on offer at Boom restaurant, where the food was OK but not amazing. we visited other hotels on Antigua and many are quite isolated which is fine if you are looking for a restful holiday. I like this hotel because you could relax but also walk five minutes to the action- friends of mine in some of the beach hotels kept coming over to mine because they were a bit bored elsewhere. This is not a five star hotel but my husband who loves his luxury said he was very happy staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Nicola I wrote a review Feb 2022
St. Albans, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
Our arrival was lovely, greeted, offered a rum cocktail and led to our beautiful Gun Powder suite which overlooked the infinity pool and harbour. The room was beautiful, large with a lovely large balcony. We dined at the Pillar’s restaurant on our first evening, which was pleasant, but not outstanding. The outdoor environment was wonderful. Our bed was really comfortable, but our first and last night’s sleep were both ruined by an incredibly loud night club which cranked up the bass from 1am - 4am. Our suite was on the end with windows looking towards the night club. I wouldn’t recommend booking room 4 until the owners and other local businesses do something about this terrible noise on Friday and Saturday nights! The pool is beautiful and I enjoyed it to myself each morning before breakfast, but in the afternoons it is overrun with people who come to the pool restaurant for lunch and then stay around the pool. Pool staff were great, as was the food at Boom, but the day guests spoilt the experience. The management needs to think about the quality of the experience they are offering, considering the price for a room only holiday. The manager on the Gun Powder side was helpful regarding restaurant bookings and beach suggestions.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Admirals Inn and Gunpowder Suites, Owner at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Responded Feb 22, 2022
Dear Nicolai We are delighted that overall you were very happy with your stay. We are working with National Parks who control the area to try to get a noise restriction in place to reduce the volume of the bass and music on Friday and Saturday nights. Regarding Boom we have put in place a high season policy which only allows non hotel guests who buy a day pass to use the pool and sun loungers and we restrict the number to 10 day passes when the hotel is full so we are a bit perplexed as to your experience with the pool in the afternoon. Perhaps some of the hotel guests from the Admirals Inn side of the property were confused for day guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Sunny Regards Admirals Inn & Gunpowder Suites Team
Read more
Gingerballs wrote a review Feb 2022
Penrith, United Kingdom189 contributions61 helpful votes
We chose Admirals based on pictures and reviews - for our 5 night stay to finish our Antigua trip. We had come from Keyonna, which isn’t cheap. So we opted for the entry level accommodation, standard gunpowder room across the water - away from the main building. When we were shown this room our initial thought was that it was a little further away from the pool and restaurant. It felt isolated. We are not fussy at all, in fact I jokingly said as we walked to the room “We only need a bed and a toilet”, which is pretty much all we got! It had a nice outside area, with table and chairs - but that was one of very few positives. Inside it was small, with our 2 cases space was limited. There was no fridge, mainly as there was no room I guess. Also there was no kettle/tea coffee facilities. There was no ceiling fan and the air con was positioned directly above the head end of the bed, far from ideal. The room looks onto a dusty gravel road, the vehicle entrance to this side of the resort. Cars could be heard grinding past, at all times. Not at all peaceful. To add to our misery there is a late night club that is located across the water and within earshot of our room.. very loud music kept us awake until 2.30 am or so. This place is only open Fri and Sat. The next morning, through the adjoining room door, we could hear everything from the guy next door, including trumping and his kettle clicking off (yes, they had a kettle) We decided we would pack up and go, this decision wasn’t taken lightly but we were so unhappy and we knew the hotel was full. We explained this to the french lady at reception (Francine)? She asked for us to wait and see what she could do.. luckily for us there was a cancellation and for an extra $70 we spent 2 nights in a superior room with garden view back on the main side. We loved it, the difference was unbelievable. We even had a ceiling fan, fridge and kettle! This gave us 2 nights of respite and one of those was Saturday and we never heard the music. The next problem though was where to spend our last 2 nights. The only available room was the deluxe gunpowder suite with harbour view and balcony. It was an extra $284 per night!! Do we have the extra hassle and move on? Do we stay? We were enjoying English Harbour though, we decided to stay. We reluctantly agreed and after some protest the rate was reduced to an extra $230 per night. It was way over what we needed and had 2 queen beds, huge balcony etc. We had paid an extra $800 to escape from room 16. I feel we were hoodwinked a little. I can’t see any pictures of that room anywhere on the website. We paid the price for trying to do things cheap I guess, having blown our budget a bit elsewhere. That room would be suited to late arrivals or perhaps someone needing to quarantine. It did nothing for us, other than almost ruin our holidays.. I think Admirals could have done more to appease us, making further profit from dissatisfied customers is scandalous in my opinion. Some positives to finish with.. Despite everything - We did enjoy Admirals Inn, staying either side of the water was good. If I was to return I would prefer the Harbour side where the pillars are. The pool area and boom restaurant is nice, outside visitors who have lunch are invited to stay. It was never packed out though, there is lots of space and plenty of beds. I think a 4 or 5 star review would be expected under different circumstances. In our case that sadly was not possible.. we were not invited to review by the hotel or for our feedback. However Tripadvisor is ideal for this I guess.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Dani K wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our stay at the Gunpowder Suites location was a dream. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and were extremely helpful every step of the way. They arranged off site meals for us and even a doctor's visit for the required COVID test to get back into the US. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and comfortable, and the view of English Harbour / Nelson's Dockyard is unbeatable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a beautiful spot nearby beaches, restaurants, and bars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$263 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the admiral`s hotel nelson`s dockyard national park
LOCATION
CaribbeanAntigua and BarbudaAntiguaSaint Paul ParishEnglish Harbour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
Nearby attractions include Nelson's Dockyard (0.07 miles) and Admiral's House Museum (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Incanto Restaurant & Lounge Bar, Boom, and Abracadabra Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shirley Heights (0.8 miles) and Fort Berkeley (0.3 miles).
Does Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.