We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel

Save
Share
St. John's Antigua
E-mail hotel
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$2,520
View deal
Expedia.com$2,520
Jumby Bay$2,800
Hotels.com$2,520
Priceline$2,800
Booking.com$2,800
Agoda.com$2,800
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (748)
Room & Suite (192)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 16 in St. John's
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay Island casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife amidst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Fishing
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Facial treatments
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
755Reviews120Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 627
  • 66
  • 23
  • 20
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Niki P wrote a review Jun 22
Palm Beach, Florida99 contributions44 helpful votes
We have been going to Jumby annually for the past 10 years and have had wonderful experiences. From the moment you step off your plane to the moment you step back on the ferry to depart you are met with familiar faces of the staff, lots of smiles, never a “no”, wonderful dining options and exceptional accomodation. Whether you want to be active or just chill on the beach and do nothing - there is truly something for everyone at Jumby - there really is no reason to leave the island unless you have to head to the airport. The dining options are also great. There is a new chef who started in January and we really noticed a difference at the dining venues . We had a chance to meet chef Mikael who is very enthusiastic about his role - which is certainly evident in his beautifully plated and wonderfully tasting dishes. We will certainly continue to visit Jumby and are already looking forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 'Niki P', Sunny greetings from Jumby Bay Island! Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to know we have continued to meet your expectations and repeatedly create wonderful experiences over these 10 years. This is always our aim. We will share the sentiments with the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to your island paradise soon! Sincerely, Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director
Read more
Meredith W wrote a review Jun 22
6 contributions5 helpful votes
My husband and I have stayed at comparable hotels many times, an all-inclusive luxury experience, small, intimate, etc. (Think Awasi properties, Twin Farms, etc.) So we have high expectations and a good idea of what to expect. This, however, was our first time traveling with our baby, and boy did Jumby Bay exceed our expectations. Arrival/Departure: Couldn't have made this easier. They get you through customs on the way in, security on the way out. Car is waiting, they're a step ahead of you (ours had a car sea!) And you get to take a beautiful, quick boat ride to the resort. Room: Gorgeous. Well appointed, everything you need. They put every possible baby thing in our room. Lots of space to put the crib in the corner, baby could sleep, and while he napped we could sit on the porch and enjoy a glass of wine. Staff: Top notch. Some of the friendliest we've encountered (and it all seemed sincere and genuine). They loved on our baby, always had a high chair ready to go, and went above and beyond for us (more on that). Food: Didn't have a thing we didn't like. Estate House is definitely the fine dining experience, but on trips like this I don't want that every night. A burger and a beer with a great view does the trick on the others. Drinks: Fantastic wine selections, great cocktails. Beach/Pool/Overall resort: Spectacular views, well maintained. Everything is close but still feels very private and spread out. Other: Our child got sick the first night we were there and the way the team responded could make me cry. There is nothing scarier than being in a foreign country with a sick baby. Housekeeping came multiple times. They went to a pharmacy on the main island to get him Pedialyte. The next day the entire staff was asking after him. Traveling with kids changes things, but this place allowed us to strike a great balance between enjoying time with our child but also feeling like we had our own vacation (they have nannys on-site and we were able to go out every night). We wanted to go somewhere kid-friendly but that didn't feel like a giant kids club. This place definitely hit the mark.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Meredith W, Sunny greetings from Jumby Bay Island! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that we met and exceeded your expectations, this is always our aim. We will share the sentiments with the entire team and will look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise soon! Sincerely, Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director
Read more
jwz203 wrote a review May 2022
New York9 contributions3 helpful votes
Jumby Bay is a fantastic hard product of natural beauty, spoiled by 3/4 star hotel and service. My wife and I stayed in mid April 2022 for a dual birthday vacation. Airport greeting and transfer worked well, however it was a steady decline following. I will detail our stay and the highlights and lowlights. Upon check in around 3:00pm we were informed that room would not be ready until 4:00pm, after a long day of traveling, I could understand but it was a bit frustrating (especially as we were pushed to check out by 11am and room wasn’t used the day / evening we left). Informed that only dinner available was a vegetarian buffet, however discovered through the lunch waiter we could order grilled fish and meat which we did as the vegetarian options were sparse and not all edible - it felt much like a cheap Sandals-style all you can eat - certainly not 5 star quality. The buffet was serving food that was meant to be hot, such as lasagna, cold (in chafing dishes with no heat source, sitting out for ages) and some of the cold food looked a bit dubious, suffice to say we special ordered an over-cooked mahi mahi and decided to call it a day (luckily our lunch waiter mentioned that, because the dinner staff had no idea about it). To compound issues, they ran out of Pinot Noir - the staff was too lazy to get some more from that estate house. Our evening was pleasant but we had to discover our shortest path to the room via walking vs bike riding or cart, again orientation was hurried and a theme throughout the stay was you needed to discover what is on offer and available, as the staff was not going to tell you. Breakfast was decent, especially as we learned to order off the “in room menu” at the restaurant from another disappointed group, not the restaurant menu. Again, this is not brought up - but if you figure it out - you’ll have a better experience and fresher food. Breakfast was probably the most consistent meal, only one day did the lose our order and we just gave up. Note, the Children’s quesadilla was surprisingly good and a nice option. Beach bar and staff and pool grill were the hardest working staff on the island. They genuinely cared and tried, though they admitted they were under staffed and over worked. The pool grill was a decent lunch, albeit very slow and 2 waitresses doing orders, drinks, bussing and servicing for about 30 tables. At one point we were helping ourselves and them - as we felt bad they were trying their best. Don’t anticipate much better quality then 3 star food here, but it’s convenient and a nice view. Spa experience - was a highlight and relaxing. On par with most 4-5 star experiences - but nothing over the top or memorable that we could not experience anywhere else. Balance of dinners were at Veranda and the Estate House. Veranda had a beach buffet which was awful, the music act was the highlight - but food was tired and nothing special. We came away with disappointment in terms of quality, variety and any lack of care. One highlight was we had to obtain our own wine - which we got scolded for but we were tired of waiting (over an hour since ordering it) - they didn’t protest much. Onto the Estate House, first night we waited over half an hour past our reservation despite open tables they had to stage due to short staffing. The food as others have said was the best - but not 5 star. The first night eating there they served tuna that was still frozen and had ice in the center - wasn’t fully cooked, we again called it a night. The second evening was better with an earlier seating and decent food. Drinks and wine were better - but by then, the dye had been cast on our dining experiences. Other notable points - reminder multiple times of my wife’s birthday which they claimed to have a special meal planned for, including the morning of, which never materialized - not a huge deal, but little things matter. You can tell the management just doesn’t care. Don’t anticipate clear explanation on what’s available or not, best too google and do your own research. Bizarrely our luggage was opened when it was out of our possession during checking in. We mentioned this, nothing was taken, we reported it, but it was odd. The house keeping walked in and continued entry despite my wife being in a state of undress and asking multiple times to come back later - they were insistent on giving her an Easter Egg desert. A litany of little and medium sized details and experiences that if you’ve been to 5 star hotels and resorts at this price point you notice. Jumby Bay simply doesn’t care and will charge you for the privilege of the stay, name and hard product. Candidly, there are far better, nicer parts of the world to stay at in this price point / no need to come back. As a final point, the departure was a scramble - poor communication on boat to car to airport and then a feeling of hands out for tips left a final bitter taste.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Honestly, unless you’re really set on seeing the island - stay at a house vs hotel or go...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Joe Z, Thank you for your review and the feedback. At Jumby Bay Island and across the entire Oetker Collection, we pride ourselves in providing our guests with exceptional service. Your recent experience does not reflect standards we uphold. Should you have a change of heart, we welcome the opportunity to make good, providing the five-star service that you expect. Sincerely, Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director
Read more
Aimee G wrote a review May 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom3 contributions8 helpful votes
On the whole Jumby Bay was lovely, lovely island, lovely room and lovely staff. But there was nothing unique or special about it, certainly not to justify the price. You are most definitely paying to say you have been to Jumby Bay. On the last day we had to be out of our room for 12 (after some unprofessional negotiating) we only had access to a hospitality suite from 3.45 until 4.30 (when our boat was leaving), found out that no one was in it beforehand and considering we had to wait for our room when we arrived, it wasn't good enough. The biggest disappointment was the food. The food we had at dinner in the main restaurant was poor, it wasn't bad, it just wasn't anywhere near the standard you would expect. The estate house was lovely, food was on a different level but it's not open every evening, the menu didn't change and the specials were not on each evening it was open. The farm night was very disorganised, again the food was just ok, would definitely give it a miss if we went back. On the other hand, the white night was elegant and romantic, it was unforgettable. There was a great variety of food and what we had was beautiful. As previously stated, Jumby Bay is lovely, but you certainly don't get what you pay for - you pay to say you've been to Jumby Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear '623aimeeg', Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the island, accommodations, and our staff lovely. Your constructive feedback is noted, and we trust that you will consider us for future visits so that we will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director
Read more
Snorkleme wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
We arrived at Jumby Bay and knew from the get-go something seemed off. Long wait at dock. We usually expect 20-30 minutes, but after an hour, we were getting antsy. Upon our arrival on the island, we were ready to start anew and enjoy the holiday. Our villa was not ready, so we headed to have a drink and were greeted by a lovely staff member. The staff at JB is still overall very accommodating and pleasant. We went to make dinner reservations to be told that our times were not available for any of the days we wanted. Ok, we pivoted and switched up. Tried to schedule massages, but nothing available on the days we wanted. We would be understanding of this, but we called in advance from US to schedule and were told to schedule once we arrived. We hoped to have dinner on the beach and someone was going to call us back about this, the call never came. We felt like the forgotten guests. The beach service was spotty throughout the week. Some days it was great, other days we saw staff in the early part of the day but they were mostly huddled at the bar. We walked up to the bar, which wasn't the biggest hardship, but in the past, wait staff roamed the beach. The beach is still beautiful. Our villa was fine, but once again....we had no turn down service half of the nights we were there. We missed the Jumby Bay when Rosewood managed it. In those days, we felt like the resort genuinely cared if we had a good visit, if things were to our liking and made sure simple requests were met. Other guests noticed the difference too as did a nice couple who are homeowners. They felt Oetker lacked the warmth of what draws people to the island. Additionally, for all the issues we had scheduling, the hotel wasn't terribly crowded. We heard about another hotel on the mainland that we will try in the fall. Jumby's prices jumped and the experience dropped. Simply not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear ‘H635RG’, While we are disheartened to learn your experience during your recent stay fell short of expectations, we are grateful for allowing us the opportunity to improve by providing your honest and valuable feedback. We would like to sincerely apologise. Your concerns have been addressed with the respective teams. At Jumby Bay Island and Oetker Collection we strive to provide our guests with exceptional service, we would like to assure you that this is not reflective of the services we are known for. We would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back, so we can create for you, a memorable Jumby Bay Island experience. Sincerely, Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director
Read more
Virginia wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I along with our two adult children have just returned from Jumby bay and it exceeded all our expectations. I always think the most important thing in any business is the people and the staff at Jumby are incredible. Every single person is so keen to ensure you are having the best possible experience and they all have the biggest heart. We arrived on the island not really knowing what to expect and it was amazing. Our rooms a pool side suite and beach side suite immaculate and perfect. It was so peaceful no traffic noise just the incredible wildlife. Every meal was so delicious we loved the Veranda the Pool Grille and the Estate house was very special. We have been to some amazing hotels but the quality of the food here is really exceptional. We loved the all inclusive aspect so relaxing not looking at prices. The house champagne and wines were of a high quality. But the most important aspect to us was the people the guys on the beach including Omarie, Travis Rowan John and Giant looked after us so attentively and we loved the snacks on the beach and the drinks and ice cream all served with such care and attention. There are so many staff in the restaurants but special thanks to Lyndon, Patel, Asheeka, Franka and the wonderful Jackie for organising a cake for my birthday. Alex and Randy from water sports were amazing and so patient with our attempts to learn waterskiing. Thanks also to CJ for the aqua aerobics and to the amazing yoga teachers. If there is one slight criticism it was difficult to join some of the activities because they were oversubscribed and maybe the hotel needs to look at increasing their offer in that regard. There was also one meal at the Pool Grille where we had to wait a long time for service. A small negative however. Was it expensive ? Yes very, but to us absolutely worth it for the most wonderful and memorable holiday. Thank you dear team at Jumby bay and we hope to be back very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Virginia, Sunny greetings from Jumby Bay Island! Thank you for sharing your delightful review. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will share your kind sentiments with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise soon! Sincerely, Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director
Read more
jjj wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I just wanted to share my disappointing experience at Jumby Bay, where we recently returned from a week-long stay (April 9-16th). First, to put things in perspective. We are an American family But this holiday we included my parents ) to join us. So we were frankly surprised by the 3 bedroom villa quality standards upon arrival, (Bougainvilla-302). This house was sold as part of the hotel reservations system with hotel amenities. To be honest, the villa is in desperate need of an upgrade, while the master suites on the ground floor were B+, the upstairs was in poor condition. The tv cable didn’t work nor was it properly explained how to use them. The bathrooms in all suites were vastly outdated. The outdoor furniture was in disrepair and the cushions on the beachside were old and ripped (we asked for replacements which were never given to us). While we now understand this is a privately owned villa that the hotel rents out and manages, we were very surprised to see the quality standards so low considering its being sold as an equivalent room/standards to the owned hotel rooms. Be mindful of this variation as it was a shocking surprise and disappointment. I don’t care who owns it and how little money they invest in the property but the hotel should at least have a standard of care if they are representing that villa on their reservations system. But perhaps the most stressful part of the vacation was the issues we had with changing our dinner reservations. We had been advised a few weeks before we left to book dinner reservations and I requested a 7 pm dinner time but when I was given my itinerary many of the dinners were for 8 or 8:30. When we arrived at the hotel on Saturday, I had requested to change the dinner times to 6 or 7pm because we were exhausted after a 9 hour flight from the UK and were on a different time schedule. We were informed by Janelle and the other concierges that it would be difficult to change any of our reservations but she was able to change our reservation that night to 7, after I and my husband had complained (also the restaurant was practically empty when we showed up). Whilst at dinner that first night, I went to the concierge office to try to change the reservations for the following nights and was again told that I could not. We had a reservation at the Estate house the following night at 8 that I wanted to change to 7 and was told it was going to be very difficult. I then asked to switch to the white night dinner instead and was also told that would be impossible (my daughters were disappointed to not be able to go to that). Ultimately I had to contact my travel agent who then emailed the resort and only then were the concierges able to accomodate my request and change my dinner times (except the west indian dinner reservation at 8:30 the following wednesday that they said they absolutely could not change ). I think it's preposterous that I had to pull strings to change my dinner reservations when I'm paying over $50K for a week's stay. It is insane how unaccommodating the management staff were. This has never happened to us before at any resort we have ever been to (regardless of whether it was 5 star or not). Covid restrictions are not an excuse as we have stayed at a number of resorts during the covid period, including Indian ocean and caribbean (parrot cay) and were treated much much better than we were at Jumby Bay. I was also confused because when we finally went to dinner at the Estate house, it was practically empty ,only 2 or 3 other tables were occupied, so why did it matter if we ate at 7 or 8? Also, we ignored our 8:30 reservation for the West Indian dinner, and showed up at 7 and were seated at our table, no problem, and the dinner was a buffet. That is why, I really don't understand why management had to make it so stressful for us with regard to when we ate. It really left a very bad impression and put a damper on my trip. I should say however that most of wait staff and poolside staff were excellent, if only that sense of customer service trickled up to management. While the restaurant staff tried and attempted to be conscientious, I wouldn’t say it was flawless. One failed request was to surprise my 75 year old mother with a candle in her dessert for her recent birthday a few days earlier….my husband got to the estate house ahead of us with our children to organize this “ask”. Of course, when the desserts came and went, that request must have just been neglected or lost. The staff seemed very interested, even asking her name to write on the plate when he asked at the start of the meal. There were other errors I won't bother you with. Like I said, they tried and appeared conscientious. In addition to dinner reservations, it was very hard to book activities for the week as I was also told by the concierges that most of the activities were booked (as were other families who were also looking forward to participating in the resorts activities). I ultimately was able to get 4 out of 6 of us on two separate circumnavigation tours (2 people on one tour and 2 on the other) by dealing directly with the water sports team (who were also very helpful and nice) but there was no room for our daughters to join. I ended up booking other water activities directly with the water sports team as the message of the day at the concierge office was "no" or "sorry it's all booked". I signed up for a tennis clinic that was listed on the activities sheets for tuesday from 10-11am. I signed up by calling the concierge and got confirmation of the time of the session, and showed up and 4 others were there for the clinic. Funny enough the 2 pro’s claimed that was yesterday’s clinic and the concierge screwed it up and it was “not their fault”. They claimed to have another lesson, but those lessons never showed. They complained that “they won’t get paid for this” so it's our problem and told us there was no clinic. They were actually in disagreement, one told the group to go to court 2 and the other pro convinced him not to go ahead. Now it wasn’t just me that showed up for the clinic but 4 others, so it was definitely in writing and on a schedule. I was annoyed and left as there was no clinic at all. I chose not to find time to play with the pro later in the week (a paid lesson, which he was planning on booking) based on that experience and lack of organization and scheduling mishaps. The final straw was back to the horrendous communications and front office etiquette and treatment of guests at the day of departure. Instead of Janelle or any greeter, at the time of our arrival, kindly explaining to us, (communications and hospitality skills required) that upon departure, our room would have to be vacated and we would need to “book” a specific time slot a a “hospitality suite” (didn’t know it existed), we only learned on Saturday morning, the departure date, that we had nowhere to change clothing for our 8 hour international flight post our luggage pickup (noon) to our ferry departure (3:45pm). I asked what we could do and after waiting some time for a call back, i was told the hospitality suite was available from 1:15 to 1:45. This was just not acceptable in light of departing 2 hours later, it served no purpose for us. I explained to the woman on the phone who was a part of the concierge that wasn’t very hospitable or accommodating at all and what was the point. Her response was, “sorry we cannot accommodate you”. So after being on the beach all day we took soapless outdoor showers at the pool in our bathing suits and changed into our airplane clothes in the Veranda bathroom. Ironically, on our boat departure back, while Alex (the manager who clearly is ill equipped for that title or employment) politely came and sought me out to introduce herself (by then this effort was fruitless since we were literally on the ferry leaving the dock) another family of 4 was literally saying to Alex the same thing….”the communications here are just horrible”. Apparently the hotel screwed up their room accommodations. Alex introduced herself to me on the ferry and she acknowledged that we were disappointed and that he should reconsider his experiences; the one she knew nothing about other than a hunch of our overall dissatisfaction. My response was that the world is a big place and as luxury traveler's who spend thousands (hundreds of thousands) of dollars to enjoy and experience, we have many many choices and can easily share our experiences with others along with our travel agent. You have many challenges and many failures and while some of the staff care and are conscientious, the front of house seems severely broken and you should be aware of it and the accommodation themselves (private villa) were nothing to be proud about for a five+ star experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded May 18, 2022
Dear 'JJJ', Thank you for your honest review on your recent stay at Jumby Bay. As already communicated to you by myself when you were departing and subsequently, I am very disappointed that we did not provide you and your family with the experience that you expected and that we seek to deliver. As you know, we have taken your feedback seriously and have already taken steps to address some of the issues you have raised. As you also know, the CEO of the Oetker Collection is aware of your concerns, takes them seriously and had reached out to you. We would very much welcome the opportunity for you to give us another chance to give you experience that Jumby Bay can provide. Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director, Jumby Bay Island
Read more
Kevin lazaroe wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We just returned from a week vacation at Jumby Bay. We have traveled to most 4 and 5 star hotels in the Caribbean over the past 20 years. Jumby Bay was one of the last we wanted to visit. We have never been more disjointed in our experiences than this week. We booked a beach suite, but we were given suite 38, which over looked a 5 foot cliff. No beach in site. When we called management, they told us they could “upgrade us” our last 2 days. A beach suite, is feet away from the beach. What we had was an ocean view room. Beach service is horrible. We would see someone in the morning and never again. We would have to walk down to the bar for drinks on the beach. We asked about using or renting a golf cart and we’re told $200 a day. We asked for a late check out of 1 pm and we’re told no. I would give the following ratings. Hotel grounds. 5 star. Property looks amazing Beach service. 0 stars Housekeeping. 5 stars Management. 0 stars Food quality. 3 stars Restaurant service 3 stars
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you want a beach room, make them show you its location.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded May 6, 2022
Dear Mr. Lazaroe, Thank you for your valuable feedback and allowing us the opportunity for continued improvement. We are disheartened to know that your recent stay at Jumby Bay Island was disappointing. We also note that the beach service experience was not what it should have been. We would like to sincerely apologise. This is not the service that we strive and are known for, and we hope that you will consider returning to Jumby Bay Island so that we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. We have also updated your profile with your preferred suite location for future reservations. We appreciate your sentiments and rest assured your concerns are noted and have been addressed. Sincerely, Aleksandra Vukojevic Managing Director
Read more
LLB43 wrote a review Mar 2022
Portland, ME11 contributions22 helpful votes
Second visit here. I would like to give this resort 5 stars, but I can’t… The food is excellent, but it took FOREVER for meals from the kitchen to arrive at our table. Perhaps this was a Covid staffing issue, but we sat marooned at our table for an incredible length of time waiting for food/drinks/appetizers. I could forgive this but for the premium prices. We opted for the self- serve buffet whenever possible. While we’re on the subject of food, I asked a staff member if staff could take home leftovers from the incredible buffets we paid for. No indeed, I was advised- leftovers went in the trash. Really? I think an exclusive resort like this can do better- at least donate to a local food pantry. One final issue: pesticides. During my 10 day stay at Jumby Bay, I was not bothered by a single insect. That was nice. Still, one night I drove my golf cart to dinner while a staff member was spraying nearby sea grape with pesticides. The chemical cloud covered the road and engulfed my golf cart. Gross. The next morning I observed Jumby Bay’s famous black headed sheep grazing on the same grass the pesticide cloud had settled on. This issue may be out if the resort’s control- the owners of Jumby Bay island may dictate pest management policy. Still, for guests who may be concerned about the human/coral reef/sea life effect of pesticides, I would stay elsewhere. I would like to return to Jumby Bay in the future- it is lovely. But not until they clean up their act.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Onideh Seth, Owner at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Dear LLB43, Thank you for your valuable feedback and allowing us the opportunity for continued improvement. We apologize for any extended service time experienced during your stay as we pride ourselves on doing just the opposite. Regarding your left-over food concern - In adherence to strict health and food safety guidelines and ensuring the health and safety of our staff, there are consequently very few alternative options. Here at Jumby Bay Island we are very cognizant and protective of our environment. We aim to impact the local wildlife and their habitat as little as possible with a robust sustainability and conservation program employed on the island. To keep our resort safe and comfortable for our guests we engage in vector control throughout the island by way periodically fogging; the chemicals that we use during this process ensure that the environment and wildlife are not adversely affected. Sincerely, Jumby Bay Island Management
Read more
RBurnet wrote a review Feb 2022
United Kingdom49 contributions44 helpful votes
All of my ratings go to the staff. They were all absolutely outstanding. The friendliest and most helpful you could ever hope for. Sadly I don't know everyone's names but amongst those we saw regularly were Franka, Claudette, Maureen, Lawson (Giant), Jacqueline and the lovely lady in charge of Breakfasts. Room service was very random. Some days the mini bar wasn't refilled, and when it was, they just added more water. We had 10 bottles at one point!! We regularly asked for champagne in the room, but that was never forthcoming. Food at the Veranda and Pool Grill was lovely, especially on their "special" evenings. We were treated to the chicken pepper pot, which was delicious. This should be on the menu for everyone to try. The sea is full of very slippery, smelly seaweed, so not an enjoyable experience. There are all sorts of special evening events, like Rum tasting, Wine tasting, Gin & golf etc, however, no-one goes to them. Reason why is that they totally lack atmosphere. There is someone giving out a drink and that's it. There should be people explaining the cocktails or different gins and making it entertaining. There should a selection of snacks on the tables to enjoy along with the drinks. This is a lovely island, with fabulous staff and nice food, but sadly the price does not match my expectation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$3,027 - $3,534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jumby bay, a rosewood hotel st. john`s, jumby bay antigua
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanAntigua and BarbudaAntiguaSaint John ParishSt. John's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Prickly Pear Island (2.9 miles), Gilly Gobinet Art (2.4 miles), and Great Bird Island (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cecilia's High Point Cafe, The Cove Restaurant at The Blue Waters Resort, and Le Bistro Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Barrington (8.5 miles) and Fort James (7.0 miles).
Does Jumby Bay Island - An Oetker Collection Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.