We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Special Offer
Summer Spa Break
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 792: English reviews
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Open to non-residents. Good selection of cakes, buffet lunch and cream tea - just check what time they start. My favourite is the white chocolate éclair or the custard slice. I have had a cream tea previously but I don't really like warmed scones. I do like the welsh cake that comes along with the price.

Helpful?
Thank 02081983
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited here with family and friends for 2 nights, all I can say is what a fab place. Staff were attentive and polite, food was amazing and the attention detail was superb. Already wanting to plan my next visit. Well done parkway hotel keep up the fab work

Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked a carvery meal for our reception for wedding meal for a small get together coming home from getting married abroad. The Service was fantastic, paying attention to every detail and needs. There was such a good atmosphere from guests and the staff who were at hand if anything or help was needed. The food was absolutely fabulous with... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahCaddick87
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently stayed here for a flying visit and emailed ahead to let them know I'm vegan. The response was accommodating and reassured me it would be no problem. At breakfast the staff took the effort to understand what I could and couldn't eat and advised me that potatoes and tomatoes were cooked in oil and made me some separate mushrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lu S
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just want to say a massive thank you to kerry and all the staff at the parkway hotel, We held our wedding there and everyone at the hotel made it a very special day. I've got so much to say but will keep it short.. food pipping hot and amazing lots of comments from family and friends how nice it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An oasis in a sea of trading estates. Wonderful parkland setting. Well-appointed bedrooms set on two floors. Very comfortable lounge/bar areas, with a magnificent feature fireplace in main area. Our visit was overnight stay at a wedding reception/evening function. NB : check-in is slightly later than with other hotels at 3pm. However it's worth asking at Reception to see if... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank barry w
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as we arrived, we couldn't believe that nothing had change for 31 years... It was so dated and tired, even though we read that the bedrooms had had an update, the furniture was very old, but the bathrooms were fine. It felt like an old peoples home, especially when they stopped serving in the restaurant at 9pm...The receptionists... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dan E
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We held our year 11 prom at the Hotel and I cannot say enough positive things about the venue or the staff. From start to finish we were given assistance and support in booking, organising DJ and lighting, arranging decorations and table plans- the lot! We will definitely be using the Parkway Hotel and Spa again, the staff treated the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tania1981
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Tania1981 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate your lovely feedback which I will ensure is passed onto the team. We were delighted to host your School Prom and hope to welcome you all back soon. Best wishes Kerry Jennings General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Iv been to 2 baby showers here in the last 2 weeks (both been fab). The last one was Saturday just gone (9th July) which i organised for my sister in law. From booking to the day everything was easy and everyone iv spoken to has been helpful. Special mention to Kelly who was polite friendly and informative with our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle869
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Danielle869 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the Baby Showers you have attended here at the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments which I will ensure are passed to the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Kerry Jennings General Manager More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We asked for the food and wine Menus whilst sitting in the bar area - waited about 20 minutes but we were forgotten. When we did eventually order our food was inedible - we tried..but it was really not nice - the lamb must have been on the hills for a few years - we complained and the Manager said... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandBobo
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello IrelandBobo Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed that this review has been put on tripadvisor despite the issue having been dealt with on the evening. Unfortunately, as we weren't made aware of an issue until after the meals had been eaten we were unable to resolve this for you. Had it been... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

249 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
12.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
13.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Price Range: $109 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay