We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pooley Bridge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pooley Bridge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pooley Bridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
cheshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We didn't stay, just went for dinner on a whim after walking round the lake. Food was gorgeous, beautifully cooked, good value, perfect really. Staff warm and friendly, keen and smart. Someone can really cook here.

Helpful?
1 Thank tescoqueen
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I went for a weekend with my wife and two young daughters. It is a number of years since I used to visit very often, so I was interested to see how it was now. The rooms are lovely, clean and full of character. I have seen a reviewer who complained about the shape of the rooms ! This is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DukeOfCumberland
craig l, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the character of the building as we do. we hope to see you again. Regards Management More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here as part of a walking group. Found the staff very pleasant/ helpful, lovely evening meal but for some reason seemed to struggle to provide breakfast in a timely way for a party of eleven. We were keen to get away early but initially advised breakfast couldn't be any earlier than 9.00 and while an earlier start was agreed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
craig l, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Id like to thank you for taking your time to leave a review, our breakfast time is to suit the majority of our guests who are here for a relaxing break. We appreciate guests have plans to leave before the allotted breakfast time and do our best to accommodate everybody. I am sorry on this occasion your request was not... More 

Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We often stay just outside Pooley bridge, and tried here for dinner on Saturday night. When we arrived, most of the tables had reserved signs on with a diners name and time. Most said reserved from 7.30pm or 8.00pm, as it was only 5.45pm when we arrived (we were out with our 2 young children) I asked kindly if we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BobODonnell
craig l, Public Relations Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do listen to comments and do try to act on feedback that may improve service. May I firstly offer my apologies that your experience was not a great one. We do reserve tables and we try and allow guests 2 hours to relax and dine therefore the tables that where out again at 7:30... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pooley Bridge hotels

Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just had a weekend break at the Pooley Bridge Inn. Great location in the heart of Pooley Bridge. The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. We stayed in a family room with kingsize beds and bunk beds for the kids. It was clean but just needs a bit of an update considering the amount of money we paid to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
craig l, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, you were such a lovely group we do hope to see you again. More 

york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have recently returned home after a 2 night stay in the Pooley Bridge Inn. We could reference the excellent location, but that's obvious! A lovely clean room/fantastic food (breakfasts and evening menu)? Yes, if course!! What we would like to record is the welcome and service from the whole team at the Inn. We have stayed in many hotels... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bodyidol
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We as a team pride ourselves on making experiences special, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Good things: 1. Friendly young staff 2. Great beef dinner 3. Pretty location Not-so-good things: 1. Worst room we've ever stayed in -- very grubby and shabby, with a sharply-angled low attic ceiling. Carpet was very dirty and I could put up better curtains, which with my DIY skills is saying something. Bathroom tries to make use of attic space... More 

Helpful?
Thank furtho
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are sorry to hear your experience here was not a good one, we are constantly striving to improve accommodation and service experience and appreciate we do not get it right every time. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Never stayed here overnight, however we stopped for lunch today. I ordered the steak burger which was nice but a bit dry cos the bun was toasted. Hubby got the sea bass and langoustine, very small portion of the sea bass and the skin wasn't crispy so it was quite soggy. It came on a huge portion of beans which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovefoodcouple1
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, we are sorry to hear that you did not feel the food was satisfactory for the price, we pride ourselves on our excellent food and service and if you had informed a member of staff you were not completely satisfied with your meals we would of been more than happy to resolve the issue... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Went for a weekend with my wife, staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming. Room was generously proportioned and well furnished for the price, the balcony was excellent with amazing views. Really enjoyed the food, breakfast was especially good. Nice selection of beers. Will be back. Ignore the negative reviews, these are by townies who cant appreciate the natural beauty of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon. More 

durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Visited for one night as a birthday treat. The girls serving were all very nice , a special mention for heather lovely girl! Food very very nice. Atmosphere exactly what you want from a country inn. To the little touches. As it was andy's birthday heather prepared a special pudding for him completely unprompted and with compliments. It was awesome... More 

Helpful?
Thank durham_7
craig l, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and would like to thank you for your lovely comments. We strive to give excellent service and make your time here all the more special by adding the little extras when we can. We are glad you both enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rampsbeck Hotel
Rampsbeck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Watermillock
5.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
3.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 14 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
6.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
4.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 14 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Lakeland Inn in the Heart of Pooley Bridge, open fires, outdoor courtyard, home-cooked food and 11 en-suite rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pooley Bridge Inn

Address: Main street, Pooley Bridge, Penrith, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pooley Bridge Hotel Pooley Bridge
Pooley Bridge b&b
Pooley Bridge Inn England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing