We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pooley Bridge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pooley Bridge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 356: English reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

Never been somewhere so dog friendly. It was really busy but the food still came pretty fast and was really tasty. All pooches were well behaved and service was fast and friendly. Great atmosphere too, with lots of happy faces around the pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Delicious food, great value and lovely atmosphere. Great for families, the chef is very talented and we'd definitely visit and eat here again. The decor is 'oldie worldie' and comfortable, lovely wooden booths and some beautiful stained glass windows that are well worth a look.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

We visited here as a family on Halloween. The pub was very traditional and welcoming. The staff for very friendly and accommodating. Three of us ordered starters - prawn cocktail was substantial and delicious. The other two were garlic mushrooms - rather large for a starter and the sauce was a little watery - but overall tasty. Mains were adjusted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cannies
england
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Visited here for lunch on a busy Saturday lunchtime. Firstly plenty of parking, interior of pub is cosy and very well maintained with different combinations of tables/ booths. Staff were lovely throughout our lunch. Food potions are huge and really good. I hag chicken and sweet chicken sizzler plate it was lovely and could of easily fed two. Drinks reasonably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank polperro
Whitehaven
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Visited this pub load of times over the years so expected another good experience. Unfortunately this was not the case. Ordered 2 rib eye steaks and would probably have stayed for a few drinks, asked to change chips for jacket potato. Sorry can't do it we don't have enough jacket potatoes. Pub lost our custom and spend for a jacket...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5030berty
Ricki L, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

hi berty firstly I would like to point out to people reading this, how rude you were towards a member of staff. before she had got chance to explain the situation you were already walking away. we did not have any jackets available at the time when you ordered, the foh manager was in the process of explaining other healthier...

Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on arrival into the area. Really impressed. Had a ciabatta roll. Lots of filling, with lovely side salad & coleslaw. Cappuccino was amazing too. Really nice service from the two gents who were behind the bar. Called in again that evening & had the pasta of the day. Once again fab food. Lots of it and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_smiley
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for taking the time to review us at the Pooley Bridge, I have taken great delight in passing these kind words on the team! hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Amazing Inn, very friendly, helpful staff can't do enough for you, food fantastic, plenty of choice and cheap. Been 3 times now and can never complain at quality or quantity, will be returning. Definitely recommend going if near pooley bridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah u
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your visits with us, hope to see you again soon Pooley Bridge Inn Team

Adlington, Chorley
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

Didn't stay there but visited on 3 occasions in our recent trip to Pooley Bridge. Pub grub at reasonable prices for the area, the quality of the food was above average - most importantly friendly bar staff & very quick service. The best pub in the village!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbolapool
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us three time and the kind words, hope to see you again soon. Pooley Bridge Inn team.

Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Visited first time for a drink but returned for lunch as the food looked amazing. Four of us ordered and were advised of a wait, and the food was worth the wait. Portions were very generous especially the fish and chips the only disappointment was the sizzler this was a little greasy for my fast but had a good flavour

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting us and leaving us a positive review, your words are very motivating to the team. The Fish and Chips is our best sizzling chip and glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Arrived with family who highly recommended following visit a few years ago, to find that it had recently changed hands and was in a state a disarray. The room was tired and in desperate need of an upgrade , the shower provided intermittent hot water and the breakfast wasn't consistent each morning, to which one of the staff carried toast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi Graham, after reading your review I can only assume that you stayed at the Pooley Bridge Inn, on the week that we had not changed anything, due to commitments in closing down our other venue across the road. Although legally it had changed hands we had not changed a thing. Evidence for this is that: we have only had...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
303 reviews
4.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Penrith
900 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,478 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
1.4 mi away
Another Place, The Lake - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Lakeland Inn in the Heart of Pooley Bridge, open fires, outdoor courtyard, home-cooked food and 11 en-suite rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pooley Bridge Inn

Address: Main street, Pooley Bridge, Penrith, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pooley Bridge Hotel Pooley Bridge
Pooley Bridge b&b
Pooley Bridge Inn England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pooley Bridge Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Aberdeen scotland
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pooley Bridge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 567zoe, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 at the front have a lovely Balcony !!”
 of 5 bubbles DebiS190, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms very clean but very dated.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingman227, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Front balcony rooms are good value.”
 of 5 bubbles COLINT426, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“The lower numbered rooms overlook the front courtyard, which may get a little noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles U8166PLjohns, Aug 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question