We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magic Reef Bungalows

Arorangi CK Cook Islands
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Orbitz.com
$203
View Deal
Expedia.com$203
Travelocity$203
Hotwire.com$203
CheapTickets$203
TripAdvisor$203
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (336)
Room & Suite (121)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
9 Polynesian style, self-contained bungalows located right on the beach of Arorangi, with golden sunset views from each. All bungalows have sea views, romantic four poster super-king size beds, a private outdoor shower and bath, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. There is an extensive DVD and book library available. The boat-shaped pool, BBQ facilities and Petanque court invite you to relax. Complimentary use of snorkel, mask and reef shoes. Complimentary breakfast on arrival. Complimentary air transfers for direct bookings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Beach
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Fax / photocopying
Paid wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
331Reviews2Q+A94Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 294
  • 28
  • 5
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A week at Magic Reef really lived up to expectation, snorkelling off the beach, whale watching from the beachfront viewing platform, swimming in the pirate ship pool, watching the sun set each day - simply beautiful. Gill, Jayne and staff were available to answer all of our questions. Being able to hire an electric car on site made getting around the island easy.
Read more
We are regular travellers to Rarotonga and have stayed in a variety of accomodation. We were so impressed with Magic Reef Bungalows last year that we booked the same accomodation for this year. The absolute beach front is exactly that, and our deck sat on the beach with many a relaxing hour spent watching surf breaking on the reef and just beyond the passing whales. Well furnished bungalow serviced unobtrusively by friendly staff every second day. Managers office more than happy to provide advice and help, and owner on-site most days and more than happy to have a chat. Great swimming pool and newly developed onsite parking available.
Read more
Response from GillianEva, Manager at Magic Reef Bungalows
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to send a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Magic Reef and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Meitaki and Kia Manuia
Read more
I would highly recommend Magic Reef to anyone! Trust the staff! Jane and Gill are absolutely amazing, friendly and have so much knowledge for things to do around the island! A warm welcome of a fruit platter followed by excellent service. An absolute paradise retreat! Clean, quiet, peaceful, and full of resources to use at your own leisure. ( I highly recommend beauty therapist, she’s amazing!!! ) The staff are so laid back and yet deliver quality and flexible service nothing was to much of an ask... a pleasure to stay at Magic Reef and we shell sea you again!!
Read more
Response from GillianEva, Manager at Magic Reef Bungalows
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kia Orana Ash! Thanks so much for your awesome review, and we're thrilled that you and Heath enjoyed your time with us. We are so pleased you chose to have your honeymoon with us, and we really hope we shell sea (I saw what you did there, lol) you both again :-)
Read more
+1
We stayed for 9 nights. Our bungalow was second back from the beach. Upon arriving at 3am we were annoyed as we expected a king size bed and 2 single beds - as noted on ALL the booking sites. Instead there was a king size bed and a very dodgy looking sofa bed which angled down and one could feel the metal bars under the mattress. Over the next 2 days, the accom rectified this, firstly bringing in 1 single bed and then another single bed when we explained our situation. Some breakfast staples were supplied for our first morning and were most adequate. We enjoyed the privacy of the bungalow, the deck lounges and view of the beach. The pool was clean and larger than the pictures online depict. Usually we were the only ones in the pool or on the lounges at the beach. It often felt like we had the property all to ourselves. There were a couple of minor nuances. Keeping in mind the bungalow sleeps up to 4 people. There were only 2 teaspoons, 2 tablespoons, 2 mugs and 2 dining chairs. We were also annoyed on our second last day when staff expected us to move to a bungalow set further back in order to accommodate new guests arriving who had requested a beachfront bungalow. We had no idea that we had actually been upgraded to a beachfront bungalow in the first place as all bungalows have ocean views. This was very disappointing but we managed to sort it out and stay put. Overall, we loved our stay here. The location is excellent. We would be happy to stay here again.
Read more
+1
An absolute wonderful experience! Owner Lawrence and manger Gillian were very welcoming and accommodating. Resident cat “The Captain” was adorable! The grounds were immaculate and bungalows outstanding — topped off with the outdoor shower and views to die for. We stayed two nights in late April and wish it could’ve been longer prior to heading off to Aitutaki. Thank you for your hospitality! Kevin and Adrienne
Read more
Response from GillianEva, Manager at Magic Reef Bungalows
Responded Jun 30, 2019
Kia Orana Kevin and Adrienne! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your fabulous review, and we're thrilled you enjoyed your time with us at Magic Reef.... next time you're in Rarotonga we'd love to have you stay with us again :-) Meitaki Ma'ata (thank you very much)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
magic reef bungalows hotel rarotonga
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaArorangi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing