We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Save
Share
Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi Cook Islands
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (172)
Pool & Beach (76)
Room & Suite (75)

About

#2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Arorangi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Canoeing
Hiking
Snorkeling
Car hire
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Charming
235Reviews5Q+A86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 205
  • 22
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tammy J wrote a review May 2020
Bangor, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
I was looking forward to a week in this motel but due to the coronavirus and no flights to Rarotonga I had to cancel but these lovely people gave me a complete refund without question. Unlike other motels in New Zealand. Thank you Sunhaven. I hope to see you again when the world gets back to normal. Helen
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Hogan, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Kia Orana Helen, Many thanks for your kind words. We at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows fully understand the current difficulties associated with overseas travel. We are therefore assessing all cancellations on their individual merit. If travel is disrupted due to flight/border restrictions, or boarding is refused due to passengers ill health due to Covid 19, we will happily hold prepayments in credit and re book for a later date when travel is possible. We have done this for many of our guests who have had their travel plans interrupted. Kia Manuia, Dennis Hogan.
Read more
MamaTrixie wrote a review Nov 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada5 contributions4 helpful votes
Thinking about Cook Islands? Look absolutely no further than Sunhaven on the island of Rarotonga! They are a quick to respond to emails, and so easy to work with. The bungalows are are quick cab or bus ride from the airport. We had pre-arranged round-trip transport with Cheryl at the desk, and was greeted warmly by our driver and "lei-d" at the small airport. Upon arrival we found the grounds to be green and lush, and very well tended. Our bungalow itself (#4) was bright and airy. Vaulted ceilings and strategic fans provided nice airflow. We opted for a unit without air conditioning, as we knew this season isn't terribly hot, and we did just fine. Maybe during their summer we might have made another decision. Our bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well-lit. I borrowed a hair dryer from the reception desk, which was a full-size dryer. Not one of those little cheap ones you find in so many hotels nowadays.The kitchen had all we needed to fix our breakfast every morning. And we were welcomed by a fresh fruit basket of papaya and bananas on the table. YUM! Although there is a large dining table, we preferred to eat on the lanai out front. There was a book of information about both the property and the island on the coffee table. All was very useful! We had a peek-a-boo view of the beach and ocean. We had little hermit crabs visit us one morning, and a mama hen with her little babies on another. The pool is about 1.4 meters deep and lovely if you're yearning for calmer waters than the ocean (which is truly right there!). The barbecue is near the pool area and perfect for cooking any fish you may have caught whist fishing during the day. There are plenty of loungers around the pool and on the beach. I loved the hammocks that were put out daily. We opted to use the public bus system. It stops right out front of the property and circles the island regularly. It was so easy and quite reasonably priced, as we purchased a 10-ride punch card on our first day. The gent who usually drives the evening shift was a fun local man who was personable and engaging and always happy to answer any questions. In the immediate area there were stores and restaurants to chose from. We walked about 3 minutes to the local market to buy our breakfast supplies. They were always very kind there, and they accept credit cards. The restaurants nearby are also good, ready with a tropical drink or a lovely meal. I cannot say enough good about Sunhaven. It's what Hawaii used to be, with a true warm spirit and a lovely laid-back lifestyle. I would absolutely go back in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from sunhaven1, Manager at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Responded Nov 26, 2019
Kia Orana Trixie, Thank you so much for your awesome and informative review! We truly enjoy welcoming guests to our quiet resort right on the beach and we are so pleased you loved Sunhaven and Rarotonga as much as we do. Rarotonga really does have a lovely laid-back lifestyle that can be hard to find in today’s busy world. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to see you back in the future. Meitaki Ma’ata Cheryl and John Resort Managers
Read more
traceyd456 wrote a review Nov 2019
34 contributions14 helpful votes
I absolutely loved this little place, right on beach beautiful view every morning and private and quiet, Cheryl and John are the most lovely managers couldn't do enough for you. Sunset was gorgeous too, will def be back some day
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: go with the bungalow
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from sunhaven1, Manager at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Responded Nov 15, 2019
Kia Orana, Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Sunhaven and got to experience relaxation and sunsets in our little piece of paradise. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you both again. Meitaki Ma’ata John and Cheryl
Read more
kmitch2014 wrote a review Sep 2019
Tauranga, New Zealand41 contributions23 helpful votes
Sunhaven is the perfect place to relax and unwind, and literally do nothing! We spent six nights in our lovely, clean, super comfortable room where we could step out the door onto our deck, another few steps to the pool and yet another few steps to the beach. We saw some beautiful sunsets and some whales swimming by. We ate and drank, swam, read books, ate and drank, played Scrabble and cards, ate and drank, went for walks down the beach, ate and drank....Cheryl and John were fabulous hosts, available when we needed anything and ready with advice on the best places to eat. We didn't hire a car or a scooter, using the bus when we felt the need to venture out. There are several great restaurants within walking distance, as well as Beluga Cafe for coffee/brunch and the most tasty, generous serving of fish and chips ever across the road at the Pacific Fish and Chip Shop. With just a few bungalows, Sunhaven is boutique and child-free so you are ensured peace and quiet. If we didn't promise the kids we'll take them to Rarotonga with us next time, we'd be back in a flash!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from sunhaven1, Manager at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Responded Sep 24, 2019
Kia Orana, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you both had such a lovely, relaxing time at Sunhaven. We are in the perfect spot for gorgeous sunsets and watching whales and it was a pleasure to be able to share it with you. We hope to see you again in our little piece of paradise. Meitaki Ma’ata Cheryl and John
Read more
Tony Devereux wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We spent nine nights at Sunhaven. Our Bungalow was well presented and spotlessly clean. The beech was literally 30 paces away,golden coral sand and the waters of the lagoon creating a very relaxing view in any direction.The pool is well placed, close to all of the units and looks over the lagoon. The managers were welcoming and helpful and were able to answer any queries, backed by the owners Patti and Dennis who have been there for 30 years and who between them filled us in on points of history and interest. We absolutely recommend Sunhaven for a quiet relaxing break away from daily stress and worry
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from sunhaven1, Manager at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Responded Aug 27, 2019
Kia Orana, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you like our gorgeous beachfront location as much as we do and we are so happy you both had a relaxing and enjoyable stay! We hope to see you back at Sunhaven soon. Meitaki Ma'ata!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunhaven beach bungalows hotel arorangi
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaArorangi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Tik-e Tours (1.5 miles), Cook Island Christian Church (CICC) (0.7 miles), and Aroa Marine Reserve (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beluga, Tuoro Tapas Bar, and Antipodes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sunhaven Beach Bungalows have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sunhaven Beach Bungalows offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (4.1 miles).
Does Sunhaven Beach Bungalows have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.