We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,256: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The food was good, internet wifi was very expensive, clean rooms, good service, great pool (though not heated) good activities like outdoor chess, snorkelling straight off the pool, raw fish preparation. Must book for evening dinner show.

Helpful?
Thank Ron A
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Ron, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are pleased that overall we ticked all the right boxes and note your comments about the cost of wifi. Being a small island nation with one... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are a family of 4 with 2 children under the age of 6. With repeated requests for a ground floor room, we were constantly fobbed off, even though, being on the 3rd floor with a hazardous balcony wasn't seen as an issue. We booked our room in January 16 and stayed July 16, so I am not sure why... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ukkiwi4
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were delighted with our beach front villa which slept 6 of our party of eight. The other two were in an apartment a short walk away. The kitchen meant we could feed our family lunch and have sundowner nibbles and drinks before heading out for an evening meal, very pleasant and a great saving! The sheets were changed twice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philippa W
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Philippa, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent holiday experience with us. We are pleased that we ticked all the right boxes in our villa accommodation - they are a popular accommodation choice for families and groups and make for a relaxing and carefree holiday. We look forward to seeing you all... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Attended an island night at this restaurant which left us underwhelmed. Although the food was excellent the show was a weak version of others we have seen. It was all over within an hour, consisted mainly of the compere going through his routine and dancing was so so. There are better alternatives.

Helpful?
Thank iamwarren
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana iamwarren, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us - your feedback is valuable as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We were somewhat surprised to read your review on the Island Night experience as the two troupes that perform at the Edgewater Resort & Spa, being... More 

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

a girls trip mean't a garden bure for us with all the amenities! Three bedrooms, two bathrooms & our own washing machine. Fridge/freezer was a godsend for chilling water, alcohol, & snacks! Breakfast was continental with a good variety of breads & tropical fruits & there was plenty of it. I enjoyed the relaxed family atmosphere & the fabulous staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiwiprobins
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kiwiprobins, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are thrilled that our villa accommodation ticked all the right boxes, they are indeed super popular for families and groups looking for a relaxing and carefree... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This used to be a good resort, but with all of the extra rooms that have been added to the resort, the restaurant and bar struggle to keep up with numbers staying there. The food is good and the staff are lovely to deal with. Probably won't stay here again because it was too loud and busy.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Burton
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Cheryl, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is valuable as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We recognize that as the largest resort on Rarotonga, our popularity with visitors can sometimes be challenging, especially during our high season. We are however pleased to... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As some have said needs updating but great location bar restaurant location excellent great looking out over water watching sunset at happy hour Mary in restaurant most mornings was brilliant as was in every morning for latte ,after the 3rd morning didn't need to ask! great service

Helpful?
Thank Robin L
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Robin, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is valuable as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the evening sunsets, at the moment it is extra special when dining at the restaurant or relaxing poolside as the whales... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the beachfront deluxe (3000 block), which would be the minimum I would stay in. Quite run down, lots of things broken (eg pool table) and in need of a good tidy up/paint. Staff VERY unhelpful and unfriendly apart from the housekeeping which were lovely. Buffet breakfast average. Don't drink the tap water.

Helpful?
Thank Jakes_Mummy_11
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jakes_Mummy_11 Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. We are saddened to hear that in this instance we did not meet your expectations and it is unfortunate that we did not have the opportunity to discuss while you were staying with us in person. Your comments (as are all... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second time we've stayed here, mostly good, getting a little run down, breakfast not as good as 7 years ago, restaurant and housekeeping staff helpful and friendly, most reception staff very good, 1 or 2 disinterested and unhelpful. Nice food, nice setting.

Helpful?
Thank Denise B
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Denise, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Edgewater. In that regard, we are saddened to hear that your 2nd stay with us after 7 years did not meet all of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve with each and every stay and look forward to seeing you... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay we had 7 great days of relaxation,the beach front suites are well appointed ,bed was really comfortable our room was cleaned daily, staff were very helpful and friendly, the tropical breakfast was a great start to the day Great cocktails and meals, we will be back

Helpful?
Thank Kelor23
EdgewaterSales, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kelor23, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are thrilled that we ticked all the right boxes for your holiday with rest and relaxation. When you are thinking of returning to the Cook Islands,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

944 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (918)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (150)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Dining (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:35
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (301)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Price Range: $124 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay