We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marine Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
London, UK
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I chose the hotel as I was visiting friends in the area so the distance from the city wasn't an issue for me. The building is lovely from the outside and there's plenty of free parking available. The receptionist was slightly less lovely and was quite grumpy when checking us in (and likewise upon check-out!) but outside of that we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Glasker
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Firstly apologies that the Receptionist was not as friendly as she should have been, this will be looked into. We do serve a wonderful Breakfast, always fresh for all our guests, even on the busiest mornings! Hopefully you will find a reson to visit us again! Kindest regards, John Walsh

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was my first visit to Ireland, and I will definately be going back and most certainly be using this hotel. We paid 109 euro's which included Breakfast, which included a range of fresh fruit, pastries and a full hot breakfast. The rooms are slightly tired but very comfortable, we had a view over the bay and could see the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine r
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you have such warm regards for the Hotel. We hope you will visit us next time you are in Dublin. Thank you, John Walsh

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a wonderful week-end in Dublin where we introduced our grand daughter to her Great grnd mother and all those cousins she needs to know. The hotel family room was very spacious for our son and his family whilst we were accomodated with the room next doo which was great to help out. The hotel high point for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Island50
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Marine. It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again to our Beautiful Hotel on Dublin Bay. Kind Regards, John Walsh

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Some of the rooms can be small but the hotel is fantastic, there are wonderful views of the sea from the large gardens at the back and the buffet dinner is gorgeous and at a good price. The Pool is small but again with the views. The Hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly. I stayed here two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Heres hoping you may have another opportunity to visit us again. Kind regards, John R Walsh

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Drove to Dublin arriving early evening to catch a flight the following morning. This hotel is within 10 miles of the airport so decided to book for one night. I asked for a smoking room not holding out much hope but the polite and helpful lady on reception said it was not a problem. Delighted with this outcome I headed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScreamerC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review, Im delighted that you had such a good time with us! Its great that you enjoyed all aspects of the visit, we really do all we can to ensure a warm friendly welcome. And yes, you got a super rate! Kindest regards from the shores of Dublin Bay. John Walsh

United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Once you have sucessfully negotiated the challenging entrance to this hotel on a staggered crossroads you should not be disappointed. It is externally well maintained and therefore welcoming even from the outside. The reception experience is excellent and in fact all the staff that we encountered were excellent. The hotel is a bit old fashioned in parts eg drapes, pelmets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanetteK969
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Janette K, Thanks for the review, and taking the time to point out the negative and positive parts of your stay. Apologies that you found the rooms to be slightly dated, while we constantly update the hotel, we like to keep the overall decor Traditional, far away from the new souless Hotels that popped up everywhere! I appreciate the opinion...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A conference hotel preferred by our company for week long training. Older hotel in a small village between Dublin and Howth. The location is outside of the city and there is nothing around, if you do not like to walk by the sea. There are many golf courses close by and the beautiful and cosy little fishing village of Howth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aksel
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, I must apologise that you found your stay to be disappointing, but thank you for the positive comments also. We value our Business guests and endevour to do whatever we can to ensure the stays of our business travellers are great, I am sorry that you were disappointed. Perhaps you might contact me directly, I would be...

Co Tyrone
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Booked this hotel for a surprise 50ieth birthday celebration for 12 people with a meal after golf at St Anns down the road. The meal of which we were only allowed two choices should have been good but was only good in small places. The plates were freezing cold and there were only two waiters tending us. The whole meal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hav1onme
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the comments on Trip Advisor, while we appreciate the comments, we also appreciated your comments made on the day of the event itself. I must apologise that the Hotel did not meet your expectations but thank you for mentioning the staff and that we did have 2 taking care of your party of 12 for...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Comfortable hotel in a great location on the bay. We had a room with a sea view, which enhanced our 2 day Easter stay. Easy access to the Dart and the bus stop into Dublin(No. 31/31B) was just outside the door of the hotel. The staff were friendly. On the down side, service was very slow when ordering food in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you for staying with us at the Marine, I hope that overall you had a wonderful time. My apologies that service may have been slower than normal, the Easter weekend was a little busier than we expected it to be. I hope to see you again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Kind...

Armagh N Ireland
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed at the Marine Hotel in November 2011. I was impressed by the friendly and welcoming staff - from my initial phone call to book, being greeted on arrival, and throughout my stay. The view of the bay was great. It is easy to walk to the beach. Access to train travel to Dublin city centre is a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 353Mags
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Sutton! Thank you for your review which as always we very much appreciate. It is a pleasure to offer you a wonderful stay. The Marine Hotel is so well located, just a hop on the Dart to the city centre while having the bay outside the door, it is ideal for a city break. We look forward to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

422 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (295)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (51)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Cross
2.9 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,467 reviews
1.9 mi away
King Sitric Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,657 reviews
3.2 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
344 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Marine Hotel's guests can browse complimentary newspapers in the lobby, go for a dip in the indoor pool, and relax in the sauna and steam room. Business guests can benefit from conference rooms, and those arriving by car will find complimentary parking onsite. Further practical amenities include a 24-hour front desk, a safe-deposit box and a dry cleaning service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Sutton Cross 13, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Sutton Cross
Price Range: $142 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Sutton Cross, County Dublin, Ireland
Hotel Marine Sutton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Marine Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Marine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“This is a great venue for a wedding reception.”
johnbQ7200VS, Mar 2, 2017 | Read review
“Stay longer than you had intended!”
EOG123, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“try for a sea view”
mlloyd01, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bedroom with views of the bay”
sunnygirl1969, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the wedding venue, it gets noisy”
SteveS988, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question