We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I travelled from Brisbane to Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort just after Christmas 2016. My husband had looked on their website and thought it looked like a lovely place to visit and stay for a short holiday. Because we already had our accommodation booked, we did not arrive at our destination until approx 2:30pm. We were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We camped near the bunkhouse on lovely green grass. This area was open and really lovely as we were able to be in a seperate area to other campers with our group of 5 families but next to oval and extra amenities which were open due to holiday season. We left the powered site which we originally booked as was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie_272727
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Finally a place that is actually dog friendly!! I give it full stars for this aspect. I feel like not enough places cater for our dogs who are a part of our family! If you don't like dogs- this isn't the place for you! We stayed in the cabins and were there on one of the hottest weeks. Although it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mishysnees
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our fourth visit to riverwood downs and how disappointed were we all. The powered camp site was bumpy dusty no grass and small and we were persecuted by millions of flies the whole of our 5 days. I know it's Christmas but this is the hospitality industry and they need to staff accordingly as the place was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cminors
KathT4994, Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hi cminors, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay over Christmas as much as you have on previous stays. Thanks for your feedback on the condition of your camp site. As part of the maintenance of the garden and grounds we routinely re-turf the high-use areas of Riverwood Downs...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed here in a camper during some very hot 40 degree days. The river was lovely to escape the heat, busier than other places but still nice. The powered sites were scattered amongst some cabins, and the trees here were refuge from the blistering sun. Some other campers weren't as lucky to have shade. I like dogs in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lou88009
KathT4994, Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Lou88009. Yes, that certainly was a heat wave! Glad to hear you found an escape from the heat in the mountain river. Yes, like teenagers, even the most well-mannered four-legged family members needs some guidance from their people. If you visit us again please know that you're welcome to pop into reception and let me know...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2016

whilst visiting relatives in Australia we spent a week-end camping in this lovely peaceful park, we had two tents with plenty of space, also a power point for fridge etc. The amenities were kept very clean, as was the whole of the park. It was Bonfire Week-end but unfortunately the bonfire was cancelled due to bush fires in the area,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheila w
KathT4994, Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Sheila w. We hope you enjoyed your time in Oz.

Reviewed October 19, 2016

We spent a night at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort as we were attending a wedding that was being held there. A wedding that cost the couple & their families around $25K to hold there. On arrival we were required to leave a $150.00 deposit at reception to cover any damage that may occur overnight ! This was after we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annette S
KathT4994, Operations Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay Annette. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped. I do apologise for the handling of your air conditioning issues. I would like to think our team deals with any request for assistance empathetically and efficiently. I'm sorry that this was not your...

Reviewed October 11, 2016

We stayed in a King room, which was two short single beds jammed together in a small, pokey room. Some staff were lovely but others were very rude and unhelpful. It felt like our presence and requests were a bother to them. Completely oversold as 4 star - more like 2 star. An old TV that was older than one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy D
KathT4994, Operations Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback on your stay, Amy D. I'm sorry to hear the king room accommodation and restaurant didn't live up to your expectations. We strive always to keep a happy balance between our canine and human guests. You would have noticed that we have 'Pet-Friendly' and 'Pet-Free' dining areas for our guests to choose from, as well as...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Great technology free weekend with fabulous staff on a beautiful property. We stayed with a large group of friends, both adults, children and a dog in the bunkhouse. I can therefore only comment on the bunkhouse accommodation. This was basic but clean (I mean basic) but we paid 60 per night so it was what we anticipated. We enjoyed bushwalks,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen T
KathT4994, Operations Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Karen. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next visit. Thanks Kathleen for the Riverwood Downs Team.

Cessnock, Australia
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Perfect for a get away with your family and dog. Only downside was the noisy inconsiderate losers in the cabins behind us that had no respect for anyone except themselves, but that won't stop us from returning. The staff are fantastic, the area is peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg B
KathT4994, Operations Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Greg B. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear about your neighbours! Whenever you're staying with us please do let us know if you're having any issues. Two managers live on site, so you'll always be able to reach a manager, even after hours, by calling the 1800 number from the public phone...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkerai
21.3 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
41 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bluegums Cabins
Bluegums Cabins
#1 of 4 in Dungog
47 reviews
10.5 mi away
Settlers Arms
Settlers Arms
#1 of 6 in Dungog
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Curlew Cottage B&B
Curlew Cottage B&B
#2 of 6 in Dungog
22 reviews
18.0 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
19.6 mi away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort

Address: 311 Upper Monkerai Rd, Monkerai, New South Wales 2415, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Monkerai
Price Range: $141 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Hotel Monkerai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“No motel units are good - possibly have a look at the cabins but I would definitely want to inspect before you say "yes".”
 of 5 bubbles 284debs, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Book at restaurant - they don't assume that because you're staying there, you're going to need to eat!”
 of 5 bubbles R2279YOamyd, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Can only comment on bunkhouse accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles karentK6162VV, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“For couples, the river cottages are perfect. For families the rooms or cabins, or pitch a tent or bring your caravan.”
 of 5 bubbles 939leanneh, Mar 24, 2016 | Read review
“If you're not keen on dining in for every meal, a cabin is better. The rooms have kitchenette only - bar fridge and tea/coffee”
 of 5 bubbles DaniTheKlutz, Mar 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay