We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Muncie, Indiana
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Stayed in the Yanert and was as close to camping as I am willing to get. Bathrooms a short walk, were clean. Beautiful stream to sit at and have a fire. Great place to eat across the street. About a 15 min drive to the park entrance but had a car so this was not a problem. Reasonable price for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank showmeadeal
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable and that the surrounding amenities helped to make your stay a more enjoyable and comfortable one. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Denali!

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed September 26, 2016

we stayed in the couple's room. the stairs up to it are steep, so watch out. Staff, esp Tom is very friendly and lent us bear spray. Great recommendations for places to eat. Much cheaper than any hotels nearby and get to meet many interesting folks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lois_finney
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us in our Octagon Private Room. We hope we will see you on your next visit to Alaska!

Reviewed September 18, 2016

We were picked by shuttle service at train station, place is a little ways , , out of town, very rustic, by a beautiful running creek, community kitchen, good restaurant across highway, bathrooms about 50 feet or so from cabin, out in the woods

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D. B
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on a future adventure!!

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Encouraged by the vast amount of information available on the hostel's website, I impulsively booked a room with less than 48 hours notice. The request was quickly met and I got my questions answered really well. It was my first time travelling alone so I loved how friendly the staff were. The common area is a really great way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zonkypuff
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for another fantastic review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be a positive part of your first solo traveling adventure! The week you were here had some pretty spectacular and magical northern lights and we are so happy you got to experience them! They really are special, and we are...

Burnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

This place is amazing. Cabins/dorms are clean and comfortable, the setting is beautiful and the staff are ultra friendly. The hostel provides free shuttles to the park and back, 2 early morning and 2 in the evening, but I would recommend hiring a car for the duration of your stay here. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be friendly and comfortable. We hope to see you again!

New Delhi
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

We are a retired couple from India. Very fond of travelling. Visited Alaska in August 2016. We decided to make the trip at a very short notice so could get accommodation only for one night at the Iceworm Cabin. The place is very well organised. It is a little away from the main touristy area but they do pick up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adventurer281153
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will be able to see for longer next time if you are able to make it back to Alaska!

Sedro Woolley, Washington
Reviewed September 6, 2016

My cousin and I stayed in Yanert in June 2010 and found the hostel to be a very enjoyable experience. I had stayed in many hostels before but this was a first for my cousin. She enjoyed meeting visitors from Australia in the Common Room and we found all the facilities to be comfortable. We had a car so didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grannyzip
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed multiple stays with us over the years- it is always great to see people come back and enjoy Alaska over and over again. Unfortunately our public computer, which was an older style desktop computer, just starting giving us too much trouble on an almost daily...

Elkview, West Virginia
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We booked the private room in the Octagon house. In hindsight, I think we would have been much more comfortable in a cabin. The place is cute and in a picturesque setting with a rushing stream and nice walkways. The room itself was nice enough but we were told the room had a door with a lock. It did -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lqchar
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for your review. First off, I wanted to apologize for the issues with the door to your room during your stay. As soon as we read this review and learned about this problem, we had our maintenance crew go and fix the door, so this has now been remedied. We only wish that we had been...

La Pine, Oregon
Reviewed August 23, 2016

i requested 13 days stay gave my credit card information didn’t ask total cost, waited hour 1/2 then e-mail asking if they got my request- they shot back- they get to me shortly wait my turn their busy. I waited two days for confirmation as I wanted to buy plane ticket each day I waited. Morning of third day I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yohanyoga
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

To any future guests who are considering staying with us that are reading this review, I would like to take this opportunity to respond to clear up some discrepancies that are listed above. This reviewer sent us an email requesting a 13-night stay, which is outside of the guidelines of our reservation policy. We have a 6-night maximum stay policy,...

Reviewed August 18, 2016

We had the octagon private room. The room was very nice, the bathrooms were also good. The kitchen was well stocked with tools and some leftover foods from previous guests. The bonfire and river were very nice, and if you have a car it is the perfect location if you're taking the Denali bus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melina I
DenaliAli, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and wish you happy travels in the future!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
13.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
970 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
703 reviews
66.8 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#3 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
335 reviews
12.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#4 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful setting on a creek. Private cabins, private rooms, hostel beds and wall-tents. 13 miles from the park entrance, but with a free shuttle service. The only way to see Denali on a budget. The hostel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful and we offer discounted prices on local tours and transportation. We are the source for the lowest cost tickets for the Alaska Railroad and sell tickets for The Park Connection Motorcoach. And we offer the lowest prices on nearly all the local tours. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Address: 224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: $32 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Denali Mountain Morning Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“WiFi in community meeting area, moose tracks outside our cabin in the morning, we enjoyed awesome moutains all around”
 of 5 bubbles , Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“I would opt for bunks rather than tents - cosier!”
 of 5 bubbles zonkypuff, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“If you like privacy, go for the cabins. Bathrooms and kitchen facilities are only steps away.”
  • Coffee Grinder cabin.
  • Coffee Grinder cabin entrance
 of 5 bubbles grannyzip, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms are the best! Octagon room was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles , Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“Private cabins are nice, but depends on your style and budget”
 of 5 bubbles _JesseWilson, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question