We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,568 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 992: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived after dark to Stovepipe Wells. When we woke the next morning and opened our doors, wow, what a view. Death Valley is an exceptionally beautiful national park and Stovepipe Wells is perfectly positioned within the park to make the most of this. All of the staff were delightful. Our check in was smooth, the staff in the gift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie_louise_84
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Your morning view is one of the first of many amazing things I discovered when my husband and I first visited Stovepipe Wells Village. We arrived late, in complete darkness, as you did and were greeted by a gorgeous sunrise and panoramic mountain views, all from our front door. We...

State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

For a hotel on the floor of Death Valley, this was a nice place. Simple, clean rooms and very friendly service. Location can't be beat! General store, gas station, restaurant and saloon all within easy walking distance. My only complaint is that the walls are thin and you can hear everything going on the the rooms around you. Will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingfool49
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Our goal at Stovepipe Wells Village is to provide our guests with everything they need for an exceptional visit to Death Valley National Park. Centrally located to many of the park’s most beautiful features, we also offer modern conveniences such as the dining, shopping and fuel offerings you mentioned. We...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We only stayed here 1 night but wish it was for longer. Rooms are small but clean and pleasant. We sat on the porch and watched the sunset, just magical. Nice pool on site which was a blessing in the middle of summer with temperatures over 120. The restaurant serves good quality basic food in large portions :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to host your stay during some of the hottest days in Death Valley and we are so pleased that your stay was both beautiful and comfortable. Our gorgeous, outdoor pool is open throughout the year but it is especially refreshing during the Spring and Summer months,...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Stovepipe Wells for about a week in October. It was a wonderful place to stay- quiet and not too busy at that time of year. The staff, especially Chris at the front desk, were exceptional. Chris was extremely knowledgeable about the best places to visit in Death Valley and provided us with great information. We would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for recent extended stay! This National Park has so much to offer its visitors and it simply can’t be discovered within one or two days. We are so pleased that you were able to interact with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, like Chris. He is a great example of the passion that we hope to share with...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room is OK, although it is a bit small. The thing I am dissatisfied is the wifi reception. The hotel should invest a bit of money to improve the wifi, so that visitors can enjoy internet connection in the comfort of their room, instead of camping around the 'business center' in order to get a wifi connection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hctlam
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We are pleased to have hosted your visit to Death Valley National Park. Despite its location far from common infrastructure to be found in urban settings, we strive to provide our guests with many modern conveniences, including limited Wifi in our centrally-located guest areas including the Lobby and Business Center....

San Diego, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here for a photography workshop, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. They went out of their way to get me a good room and make sure it was convenient. This is Death Valley, so don't expect over the top luxury, great food, or cheap prices-water is a priceless commodity and food has to be trucked in, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDtraveler-7
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback! We absolutely love our photography workshop guests and welcome the chance to host their explorations of Death Valley. We are so pleased that our staff provided exceptional service and met all of your needs during your stay. As the only hotel located in Death Valley National Park, we strive to...

Shanghai Region, China
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed in standard cabin for two nights. I liked my experience very much. Pros: almost in the middle of the Death Valley - not far from both Panamint springs and Furnace Creek area. Location is very close to mesquite sand dunes - unforgettable sunrise, sunset and uninterrupted stargazing. Restaurant is good - buffet breakfast (not free)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssaha2015
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We are glad that have hosted your extended stay in Death Valley National Park. As you experienced, our staff members are passionate about the unique beauty of this landscape and strive to provide insight and direction in explorations of the surrounding area. Although you did not experience our guided tour...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights. Had the deluxe room facing dunes. Overall, our stay was very nice and convenient for all of our activities. Room was clean, updated, and had a refrigerator. I will say that the staff were extremely friendly... really nice people. We had two queen beds and the lodge provided a sleeper rollaway per our reservation. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
Mak K, Public Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay and feedback! You chose an absolutely beautiful time of year to visit Death Valley National Park. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to take advantage of all the Stovepipe Wells Village has to offer, including friendly, helpful staff like Chris as well rustic, yet modern guest...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was OK--needs a deep clean. Staff were great with the exception of one of the front desk staff. We had the breakfast buffet in the restaurant one morning which was horrible. Everything was cold and they constantly ran out of food. Had dinner both nights in the bar food was OK first night and cold the second night. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay. Our goal is to provide every guest with their best experience possible and your feedback makes that possible. It sounds as if your stay had many positive aspects such as your tour to the Mesquite Dunes, but it seems that our performance was inconsistent. We expect that our guests encounter helpful service...

Puyallup, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night. It was in a fairly central location for what we wanted to see and do, and it was pet-friendly. The AC worked great and made our room comfortable in the extreme heat of late June/early July. After touring the area, the pool felt divine. It's an outdoor pool open late, and we really enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank playerblue99
Mak K, Guest Relations Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent stay! We love our four legged guests and we are so glad that you were able to bring your dog along on your adventure in Death Valley National Park - our staff is always glad to accommodate our guests with pets and it sounds like they took great care of you. You picked...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

683 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (674)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (185)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (256)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
18.7 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
5,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
12 reviews
45.8 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Toll Road Restaurant
Toll Road Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Price Range: $179 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid units 1 through 8. They are very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles X9458HJmichaelb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Any room is great”
 of 5 bubbles tmwind, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Dune view rooms have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles DebF-E, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Book the luxurious room for a nice stay. better view, more space, light and a fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles rowenad898, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Dune view rooms are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles marilync531, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay