We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thornton Manor

Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Lodge Clinical Spa
    0.5 mi
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 2 days ago
The only hotel on The Wirral for an exclusive event
Attended an event at Thornton Manor and this is a charming hotel... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
CHESHIRE
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Attended an event at Thornton Manor and this is a charming hotel where you feel like a guest in someones wonderful preserved stately home as a private house party rather than a hotel. The manor is adorned with original superb quality antiques open fires cracking away and welcoming friendly staff who are incredibly attentive. The overwhelming feeling is a cozy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexander R
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a family wedding. Stayed in the Gardeners Annexe. The hotel is badly sign posted. We arrived at 8pm in the evening and it was hard to find staff. We were finally shown to our room. To say I was unimpressed was an understatement! There was hair in the bed, dust and cobwebs with dust on all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAL2607
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding at the stunning Manor House on Friday 25th November and we can say without a doubt it was the best day of our lives. We feel in love with Thornton Manor from the first time we saw it and couldn't have imagined a more perfect place to get marrried...you are made to feel like royalty as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsshaw86
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our son's wedding took place here and it was amazing. The staff were courteous and could not have been more helpful. Even though there were weddings the day before and the day after, at no point did we feel anything other than the most important wedding in the world. Everything was first class and made it the most enjoyable day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsS111
UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very beautiful wedding venue, outstanding in fact but forget about staying there unless you're paying the £450 for the top rooms. Stayed in the more affordable rooms annexes and servants quarters... clearly these have had very little renovation over the years. No new radiators, wardrobes, no tvs, pound shop lampshades (No joke) and pictures that would be turned down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViaggioSimon
Isle of Man
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking forward to staying here for a wedding. We had originally booked at a B&B but when told we could stay at the Manor we cancelled the B&B. What a mistake! We drove into, as we thought, the main entrance. Not a soul in sight, just a notice saying use the office entrance, or tradesmen's entrance! which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manxie52
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Thornton Manor. I was disappointed to read of your poor experience with the accommodation and I am very sorry for this, I do however consider that all feedback is a personal opinion and what one might find not suitable would be absolutely perfect for another - as in...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There are too few superlatives to describe this venue to enjoy the biggest day of your life! My now wife & I viewed in December 2015 & booked the date pretty much there & then; a truly magical venue in the winter. Just over a year on we have experienced getting married in a dream venue & it would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam M
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs MacCarthy, Thank you so much for your wonderful '5 STAR' review following your amazing wedding at Thornton Manor. It was an absolute pleasure for us to host your special day and it was lovely to meet you both and spend time talking to you and your guests - what a great day, not only for you...

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 19, 2016

A very impressive building from the outside and was not disappointed with the inside. We attended a family wedding and was not let down by the attentive staff. The ballroom was were the meal was set out. We had a beautiful meal, the lamb was excellent considering they were catering for about 200 guests. I would recommend a stay here.

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lestom
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your wonderful '5 STAR' review following your recent stay at Thornton Manor, I was delighted to read your feedback and have shared this with the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Many thanks, Marc Smith General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

On the 26th November 2016 we had our wedding at Thornton Manor in the Manor House. We picked the venue over a year before our big day. We had appointments booked at other venues, which we cancelled once we seen Thornton Manor. We knew that this was our perfect place for our wedding. The building and grounds are beautiful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muj1982
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your amazing '5 STAR' review following your wedding at the Thornton Manor Estate and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your amazing day!! I was thrilled to read your feedback and have shared it with the team. You have described Thornton Manor perfectly, everything we do at the estate...

Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

The Manor House is a very special place & spks for its self :) The staff are amazing there from the day we booked our wedding date which was 26.11.2016 they all have been incredibly helpful with anything we needed for our big day! Our special day went without a glitch & this wouldn't have happened with out there help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keels000
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your amazing '5 STAR' review following your wedding at the Thornton Manor Estate. I was thrilled to read your feedback and have shared it with the team. You have described Thornton Manor perfectly, everything we do at the estate on your special day revolves around you - and only you and I am...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,081 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
703 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
244 reviews
3.0 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Address: Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Price Range: $87 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Thornton Manor staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Thornton Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't choose the Housekeeper's annexe.”
 of 5 bubbles Manxie52, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't choose the Mews”
 of 5 bubbles Geoffy, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“The photos belie the current conditions”
 of 5 bubbles DizzyMiss, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have en suite bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles chrisash57, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the main rooms”
 of 5 bubbles margaretsS6140CZ, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question