We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge

Save
Share
R343, Kenton-on-Sea 6191 South Africa
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (1006)
Room & Suite (180)
Dining (38)

About

#2 of 7 Specialty lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Kariega Game Reserve is a 10,000 hectare Big 5 malaria-free private game reserve in the Eastern Cape region of South Africa. The safari experience combines close up Big 5 game viewing, an expansive variety of fauna, flora & birdlife, a landscape spanning 5 eco-systems and dramatic views and vistas. Kariega has five safari lodges. Main Lodge consists of 24 separate log chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms, lounge & private balcony; River Lodge has 10 suites and is located on the Bushman's River; Ukhozi Lodge has 10 spacious suites, each with private pools and great views; Settlers Drift has 9 modern but intimate suites surrounded by natural bush and overlooking the Bushman's River wilderness area and lastly the Homestead private lodge is perfectly suited for families or groups of friends of up to 14 people. Rates include accommodation, meals, morning and evening game drives with an experienced guide, guided bush walks and a river cruise. Fishing & canoeing can also be arranged.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Boating
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Hiking
Walking tours
Spa
Massage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
R343, Kenton-on-Sea 6191 South Africa
Getting there
Port Elizabeth Airport64 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
2,329Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,876
  • 345
  • 72
  • 22
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jamiemarais wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
We checked in for a two night stay at Settlers Drift at Kariega Private Game Reserve on Friday the 28th of Nov 2020. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly and professional staff and immediately taken into a state of calm and relaxation by the beautiful natural setting and breathtaking views over the plains below. The beauty of the setting was complimented by the warmth and friendliness of the staff, and the lodge manageress Aurelie who ensured that we were always looked after and well attended. The game drives were as always amazing and we experienced stunning wildlife sightings on all three days. Settlers Drift is one of the places you just have to experience for yourself, and we would highly recommend it to anyone who is considering a visit to Kariega.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
florianw52 wrote a review Nov 2020
East London5 contributions
We're visiting Kariega often and it's always a pleasure staying there. The Ukhozi Lodge has a nice interior and a stunning view over the valley. All rooms are clean and well maintained. The staf and field guides are always very friendly, helpful and make a perfect service. The whole family is always happy there and some of us would like to stay forever.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bronwen d'Oliveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Florian, As always, we so enjoying having you and your family on safari with us. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback about your visit. We hope to see you again soon. With kind regards from the Kariega team.
Read more
Wendy C wrote a review Nov 2020
Mossel Bay, South Africa39 contributions1 helpful vote
Old outdated dark smelly chalet Smelt of mildew , couldn’t sleep there had to move at 11 pm Couldn’t get hold of manager , turned out he’d left in March but name still on contact list Phone disconnected No tv , had been taken out and left dstv channel list in chalet No ensuite Game drive truck no roof so if rained would be disaster Game drive mediocre not many animals on reserve Restaurant sited at back facing a wall no view at all very disappointing General manager phoned eventually to apologise but very defensive, they should not have taken my booking knowing this chalet not up to standard Frontline staff excellent Evening dinner excellent Moved out next day to nearby reserve PUMBA which was amazing !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bronwen d'Oliveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Wendy, We are very sorry that you were disappointed by your Kariega experience. Our team tries their best to ensure that each guest is looked after with the utmost care. We take guest feedback very seriously to ensure we are delivering an exceptional safari experience. We have gone through your comments in detail and used them to improve where possible. However, we would like to dispute the majority of your allegations in the strongest terms. Our Main Lodge chalet option was offered to you when you called at 19h00 on the evening before your arrival (due to all 10 Ukhozi Lodge suites being fully booked for the 3 nights you requested). The accommodation details were clearly explained, and images of the chalet were sent to you, whereafter you accepted our offer. Two adjacent chalets have been added to the Ukhozi Lodge offering (mainly for families) since our partial re-opening on 1 September. The bedrooms of each chalet have en-suite bathrooms and none of our rooms at Kariega have televisions. You enjoyed dinner at the newly built Ukhozi Lodge, which enjoys stunning views from the bar area and outdoor deck. You joined us for one game drive and left before breakfast the next day without paying your bill. Our reserve is known for excellent close up game sightings, using the open game drive vehicles to enjoy an immersive safari experience. We have ponchos and blankets to keep guests warm and dry, as is common at most safari reserves. We apologise for not updating the number on the contact list, this was an oversight and has been corrected. We have unfortunately had to make various adjustments to our team due to the impact of COVID-19. With kind regards from the Kariega team.
Read more
robin757 wrote a review Nov 2020
Stellenbosch, South Africa2 contributions
Kariega is one of the best we have ever had. I you have not been there yet, you are missing out big time. Its a world of wonders that need to be discovered and all the staff are so well prepared and excited to take you there. It was our sixth visit and the best ever. Thumbs up for our best private reserve in the Cape Province
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bronwen d'Oliveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your awesome review. We so appreciate you visiting and sharing your experience. With kind regards from the Kariega team.
Read more
marliswart wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town1 contribution
Absolute luxury treat for the family. Total break from work. The staff looked after is from the minute we arrived till we left. The game ranger guide was very knowledgable and kind. We saw so many animals in their natural environment. The EC bush is amazing! Best money spent this year!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bronwen d'Oliveira, Guest Services / Front Office at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your awesome review. We so appreciate you visiting and sharing your experience. With kind regards from the Kariega team.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$507 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kariega game reserve hotel kenton-on-sea, kariega lodge
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeGreater AddoKenton-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.