We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Myself and my husband booked a spa and afternoon tea deal here. After visiting quite a few spas in the past we were excited to visit. We were very disappointed with the spa, although we know for specific reasons they cannot include any wet facilities in the spa. We were shown to a relaxation room - a loose term. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura O
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Hazlewood for only one night. We were attending an onsite wedding. The Castle and the Grounds are stunning. The view from the rooms and common areas are breathtaking. We enjoyed walking the grounds and reading the tree fairy doors with our daughter. Large trees and covered walkways. Extremely well manicured and maintained. Our room had a King... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlliZnFamily
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AlliZnFamily Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Hazlewood Castle. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at the castle. The team will be thrilled to read your wonderful comments-thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely Andrew Brownridge Deputy Manager More 

Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My friend and I visited the spa as a gift from our husbands and agree with the experience a previous reviewer. We arrived and waited until the receptionist answered two telephone calls which we felt was rude. We filled in the forms as requested and were guided to a small changing room (which was dingy as there was a light... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill T
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gill T Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for what you felt was a below expectation service you received. I have passed your comments onto Imagine Spa who will contact you direct to further discuss your comments. In the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me direct at the hotel if... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had exclusive use of the castle for 24 hours as the venue for a marriage blessing and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The setting is spectacular, the staff are super-helpful and the public rooms are very grand.

Helpful?
Thank jahollis
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jahollis Thank you for your wonderful review of the castle, we are thrilled you enjoyed your special day with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely Andrew Brownridge Deputy Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked to stay in Hazlewood Castle for our honeymoon- what a huge disappointment it was. As it was a special occasion we booked a four-poster room and the first one we were given was the Rose room. Our hearts sank when we went in there. The room was huge but looked very 70s. The bed was squeaky and the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LittleGem065
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LittleGem065 Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Adivsor. We are sorry you felt the hotel room which you booked was not to your liking, but that you were given an alternative. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening meal in the restaurant, but that there was a contrast with your lunch experience. We do, as you point... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I held our wedding reception at the Castle on July 9th, following our wedding ceremony at Selby Abbey. From the moment we set foot in the Castle almost a year ago, we fell in love with it! It was exactly what we were looking for, grand and luxurious but it also had a really laid back feel,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Leanne T Thank you for your wonderful review of your wedding day at Hazlewood Castle. We are thrilled that your expectations were exceeded. We really do pride our selves on being able to create memories that will last forever. Melissa, Heidi, Steve and the rest of the team are delighted that you have taken the time to give them... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I visited on a special offer to the spa. We were met by an unfriendly receptionist in the spa, we could hardly understand what she was saying. We were shown to a changing room, then to a 'relaxation' room upstairs. The 'relaxation'room was very stuffy on a very hot day with no ventilation. The drinks corner had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BevIdForrest86
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear BevIdForrest86 Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed you found the spa facility not to your liking. I will share your views with Imagine Spa here at Hazlewood Castle, I am certain they would wish to have the opportunity to restore your faith. I am delighted you enjoyed the grounds and cream tea. Please... More 

Leeds West Yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a table for lunch on route to my friends hen weekend, there were 6 of us. I am sorry to say that 4 of the ladies who ordered the steak couldn't eat it as it was in flavoured and had basically been boiled. For £21 we expected more, a failed attempt to rectify led to us leaving with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank uk12
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear uk12 Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. We are sorry you felt disappointment on your visit to our restaurant. The General Manager has contacted you directly, to further discuss your disappointments. Yours sincerely Andrew Brownridge Deputy Manager More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location. Perfect stop over if your going to the Leeds(Reading) Festival. Beds and rooms were well equipped and clean. Breakfast was top quality but the dining room was very cramped, and they have added a massive extension that houses most guests so there's a very good chance you won't actually stay in the castle itself.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mark L Thank you for your review following your recent stay. The castle was built over a period of 800 years, with the most recent being in 1760. The accommodation is incorporated into the buildings from the original hall and through to the additional buildings added in the 13th, 15th, 17th and 18th centuries. We are delighted you have... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner karen and I, went to this very old castle,for afternoon tea The castle was built in 1086.Hazelwood castle is full of character. We decided to visit, as Karen's nephew is getting married in the castle in April 2017. The afternoon tea was very nice sandwiches and a lovely warm scone, with cream and jam.strawberrys and buns, with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John P
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John P We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to this ancient castle. We are proud of it's history, which is long and varied. I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your nephew's wedding. Yours sincerely Andrew Brownridge Deputy Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

419 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (374)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
11.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 stars 4,031 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
9.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa

Address: & Spa Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER COLLECTION Hazlewood Castle & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Price Range: $102 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
BW Premier Collection Hazlewood Castle & Spa England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay