We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plage de N'gouja - Kani-Keli Bp 636, Chirongui 97620 Mayotte
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (380)
Room & Suite (73)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Le Jardin Maore
Updated 07/26/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


Travelers' Choice
At the island's Southern-most tip, 45 km from Mamoudzou (45 minutes by car), the Maoré Garden is set in a location that is exceptional in many regards. It stretches out over one of the island's most beautiful beaches, the spectacular N'Gouja beach, and is nestled within a superb tropical garden covering several hectares, reaching straight out into the water... The hotel counts 18 2-to-6 person bungalows of 2 types: The standard bungalows are agreeably rustic, built in natural local materials, and all equipped with a covered veranda, a shower (with hot water), a toilet, air-conditioning and a safe. The superior bungalows, entirely renovated in 2002, offer both comfort and authenticity. They are built in local materials (weaved coco fibre, bamboo and stone). The wood-work and furniture are made of exotic wood (Movingui). They are also equipped with a covered veranda, a large shower (with hot water), 2 sinks, a separate toilet, a safe, a small fridge, a hair-dryer and a split-system air conditioner. The restaurant faré and the bar open straight onto the beach, and a barbecue is prepared for our clients every week-end. Majestuous century-old baobab trees line the beach, while mango trees, gigantic bamboo and many other species of trees are home to a rich and varied fauna. You will be able to admire the awe-inspiring flight of the fruit-bats, and small lemurs will come to greet you daily (especially if you have a few bananas on hand to offer them!), to the delight of both adults and children. Every day you will be able to watch green turtles and swim with them. And why not go out at dawn to discover traces of turtles that came to lay eggs a few feet away from the bungalows. The lagoon, the barrier reef, channels... many diving spots, accessible to all, make Mayotte one of the best diving sites of the Indian Ocean. Fully equipped and run by a team of experienced instructors, the "Lagon Maoré" diving centre welcomes you all year round, to help you discover the riches of the Mahoran seabed, whether you be a beginner or a confirmed diver.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Public wifi
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
492Reviews9Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 187
  • 159
  • 84
  • 44
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
abcnord wrote a review Dec 2019
Sandefjord, Norway1233 contributions248 helpful votes
Location: at the beautiful N’gouja beach, around 1,5 hours from the airport, including ferry A rental car is the best way to get around . Roads are not too bad Rooms: bungalows, some near the sea, others further back in the garden. AC, fridge, plenty of hot water . Terrace with table and chairs. Sunbeds to take to the beach. Clothesline. Looks a bit worn and torn, however comfortable enough Restaurant: Breakfast buffet with breadrills, pain au chocolat, fruit, cheese, ham and eggs to order Dinner: Set 3 course meals or a la carte. No vegetarian options listed, so vegetarians will have to live with the resultat of the chef’s creativity on the given day. Desserts not very good . Unless you have dreams of eating Chanel no 5, avoid the creme brule ylang Food and drinks is pricey. With a fridge In the room and shops some kms away, you can have eg a light lunch at you terracce or at the beach . Or for beer/wine which is also very expensive The beach is fantastic. Clean sand, surrounded by lunsj vegetation and big trees for shadow. Turtles feeding at the seabed, nice reef a bit further out with corals and fish! Posters at several places at the hotel tell you to not touch the turtles or feed animals. Nevertheless we saw a few people doing that. Please fellow tourists, be respectful and don’t touch turtles! Very little English spoken, any little knowledge - or Google translate - will help As this is France, Europeans can use cellphones like at home
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Whitewaterluksus wrote a review Nov 2019
Oslo, Norway90 contributions42 helpful votes
The road down to the accommodation, and the first “shacks” that meet you, doesn’t give you high hope. However they do have different standards, and the bungalow we stayed in (Cannelle) was very nice. The place is right of the beach with great baobab trees and lemurs in the garden. Lots of turtles to see when snorkeling. The food is okay, but you barely survive with just speaking English.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
fabiolux wrote a review Jun 2019
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg23 contributions4 helpful votes
Charming hotel on the beach, with independent bungalows equipped with essential.. My bungalow was 30 meters away from the beach, with an astonishing sound coming from waves hitting the sand.. And 100 meters away from diving centre, which was the main purpose of my holidays. Half board, with breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast and dinner varied, and all in all good and tasty. In my opinion beverages and extra were a bit expensive, however there is not too much to complain being in such a paradise. Maki apes live in the garden, and from outer sea it is imposing to see the beauty of giant baobab trees rising from the sand. Rooms clean, with air conditioning and safety box, only thing to notice is the non availability of multiple free electric sockets to plug multiple devices. Wifi working at times in my room, while it was ok on the terrace. Good choice for a week+ of relax and break from daily stressful life.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from JuMAORE, Resp. Adjointe de Réception at Le Jardin Maore
Responded Jul 31, 2019
Dear Fabiolux, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Julie
Read more
TAZMPictures wrote a review Mar 2019
Bujumbura, Burundi342 contributions134 helpful votes
Plage N’Gouja is one of the great unspoiled beaches of the world. About a half a mile of clear blue lagoon (all of Mayotte is surrounded by a lagoon) that extends as far as you can see in the distance, with hardly a wave. Swim out to the coral - maybe 300 meters of easy, flat water - and you’ll see quantities of fish rarely seen elsewhere, and green turtles every way you turn! Unfortunately for guests, the beach is also a public beach, so weekends can be busy and noisy. This is the prime beach on the island. The accommodations are ok but nothing to rave about. All are set back a ways from the water and have lounge chairs so you can enjoy the cool shade when you’re not at the beach. Food is good but expensive - after all, this is France. And the staff are not unfriendly, but you definitely get a sense of “they’re not happy I am creating work” though they serve everything you need in decent time. WiFi is set up to work at the bars and in each bungalow but not all of them work - though you can get what you need. Kayaks, snorkels, paddle boards all free of charge for staying guests. Stay for a few days and get your fill of turtles and move on. At these prices you should be getting pampered a bit more.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from JuMAORE, Deputy Manager for Reception at Le Jardin Maore
Responded May 8, 2019
Dear TAZMPictures, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Our team members are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We take good note of your comments and will work to improve our performance. I look forward to welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Julie
Read more
Alain Conito wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We ate at the snack beside the hotel and it was awful. The mayonnaise had fishy taste the sandwiches were totally messed up, the water had a wierd taste and finally the fries were made with 2 month old oil. Avoid if possible.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from JuMAORE, Deputy Manager for Reception at Le Jardin Maore
Responded May 7, 2019
Dear AlainConito, I am sorry that you were disapointed in our snack. Let me adress each point you make : - The mayonnaise is homemade, I have informed our chef that you didn't appreciate its flavor - I would like to understand better what you mean by "messed up" when referring to our sandwiches so that the problem may be fixed. I am at your disposal should you like to discuss it further - The taste of water I cannot take responsibility for as, either for tap or mineral water it is beyond my means to influence it - The oil used to fry is changed on every shift Feel free to send me more details via email : contact@jardinmaore.com It is always our goal to improve our service and better satsisfy our guests. Hopefully you will visit us again and have a more satisfying experience. Kind regards, Julie
Read more
$117 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Jardin Maore
Which popular attractions are close to Le Jardin Maore?
Nearby attractions include Plage de N'Gouja (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Jardin Maore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Le Jardin Maore?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Jardin Maore?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Jardin Maore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Facecook Pizzas, Mon ile, and Le Chato Café.
Does Le Jardin Maore have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Le Jardin Maore offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Jardin Maore?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Le Jardin Maore have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.