We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel

Traveler (1124)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (305)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#9 of 61 hotels in Chuo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Urban resort hotel surrounded by the sea; on site restaurant featuring French & Asian cuisine; theatres & shopping within 1 mile. Parking: 11
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
1,091Reviews
8Q+A
57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 448
  • 473
  • 128
  • 30
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I recently stayed here for a business meeting. The hotel is lacking major amenities for a hotel of its size. They could not offer me an iron, or an ironing board. There was no business center and when I asked to print something they charged me. The gym does not open until 10 AM and the gym was very bad. Additionally, they charge you a $1600 yen fee. The restaurant food was terrible. The food was overpriced. The staff was unwilling to make any accommodations to improve the experience. The room is very small.
Read more
Response from MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear we failed to meet your expectations and sincerely apologize for these inconveniences that disrupted your overall experience. We had a more than 170 guests for the business meeting and most of them needed the iron and iron board at the same time. We deliver them as much as possible upon requests however we run out the stock at a couple of times. We apologize for your inconvenience to those who could not get an iron set when they needed it. We will discuss to increase our stock for the future. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback as this only improves our operations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so that we may restore your faith in our hotel. Best regards,
Read more
Stayed one night prior to a cruise. Flew into KIX then took the high speed ferry over to Kobe airport and taxi from airport to hotel (taxi was over $30). Hotel extremely welcoming with bell boys to take your luggage at the entrance. Check-in smooth, polite and friendly (as expected). Bell boy took us up to our room and showed us how to get onto wi-fi etc. Room was HUGE by Japanese standards with very large balcony and views out over the harbor. Nice bathroom with separate tub and shower ... PLUS the wonderful toilets that are standard in Japan. Other than Starbucks there’s really no dining actually close by. Walked about 15 minutes to dining/shopping district) We actually ate in China Town( go figure - we were in Japan and ate chinese) Breakfast at the Meriken Starbucks which is just a few steps away from the hotel ... so cannot comment in the hotel buffet breakfast. Wish the hotel was a little closer to dining options other than that, I wholeheartedly recommend a stay at this hotel Pictures are of from and of our large balcony
Read more
Response from MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for staying at the KOBE MERIKEN PARK ORIENTAL HOTEL. We are delighted to have you with us, and hope you were pleased with our facilities and services. We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments. It is our earnest desire to make your stay at the hotel totally comfortable and worthwhile. We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel. You can enjoy Japanese, Western and Chinese food for breakfast in a buffet style in the restaurant “Santa Monica no Kaze”, looking over Kobe Harbor through the windows. We also recommend that you should try the open terrace seats (only open the in summer), as you can feel the sea breeze. Please try it in the future. We thank you once again for your coming and hope you will long remember with happy memories your visit to our hotel. We are all greatly looking forward to seeing you.
Read more
+1
This is a good sized room for Japan. We had a balcony with a view of the water, 2 double beds and a desk and the room was not cramped at all. Because of the balcony and the hotel’s position fronting the water, guests can hear some of the noise of the ships in the morning, but I didn’t mind it. As with most Japanese hotels, there are not that many TV channels. The room came with bottled water, Dolce Gusto coffee pods, nice bath toiletries (face foam soap, bath wash, shampoo and conditioner). The pillows were a bit hard. We stayed here a night before heading to Arima Onsen. The KIX airport bus drops off guests near Mint Bldg at Sannomiya Station, Which is a 5 min walk to where the hotel shuttle stop is (Bay 6). There is a free shuttle between Sannomiya and the hotel that goes 2x an hour. The 7-Eleven is a 15 min walk away, while the mall complex with Uniqlo, H&M, etc is a nice 20 min walk. A bridgeway connects the hotel to Meriken Park. Overall, a good stay here.
Read more
Response from MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying at KOBE MERIKEN PARK ORIENTAL HOTEL. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. I am very proud to hear that our team took good care of you and I can assure you that I will share the good comments with them. This feedback is very valuable to us, as we all strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and to ensure that we create lifetime memories for our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more future visits.
Read more
We arrived at this hotel the night before we set out on a cruise. From Kansai International Airport, we took the airport limousine bus to Sannomiya Station and the hotel courtesy bus to Meriden Park Hotel. Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by hotel staff and our luggage was held by them until we finished checking in. We headed up to our rooms and our bags were brought to us. The entire staff was pleasant and so very helpful. It was a wonderful welcome to Japan. Our room was absolutely fabulous! We faced the ocean, and we saw the cruise ship the next morning. We had dinner at their buffet restaurant and it was excellent. I absolutely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Response from MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate the time spent detailing you recent stay at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed reading your warm comments regarding our bell staff service, the view from your room and the buffet restaurant. We will share your review with our staff and keep trying our best to make all the guests comfortable. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Have a great day! Warm regards,
Read more
I chose this hotel for our one night stay based on the location and design which I thought was most unusual. On first appearance this hotel looks very well maintained however once in the room, we were quick to notice that the hotel really does need some upkeep. The main lobby of the hotel is welcoming and very posh. Our room carpet were very dirty so the slippers provided were something you would really want to wear. The furniture was okay although the actual cupboards & closet dorrs were looking their age. The bathroom was functional and clean but could use modernization on the taps both on sink and bathtub. The bed was on the firm side which was fine with us as we prefer that. The internet was working fine for what I needed to use it for which was checking emails, etc. We did like the location as it was near the Mosaic complex where there were lots of restaurant choices plus Meriken park area just outside hotel was nice to walk through in the evening. There is also a Starbucks right in the park. The views at night from hotel and our room were interesting and at night everything sparkles.
Read more
Response from MerikenOriental, 支配人 at Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying at KOBE MERIKEN PARK ORIENTAL HOTEL. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. I am very proud to hear that our team took good care of you and I can assure you that I will share the good comments with them. We apologize for your disappointment about the carpet, bath etc. We will share your valuable review with our team and discuss the renovation for near future. This feedback is very valuable to us, as we all strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and to ensure that we create lifetime memories for our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more future visits.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiHyogo PrefectureKobeChuo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
319
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing