We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oriental Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveler (527)
Room & Suite (395)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Rebuilt from the ground up in 2010, Oriental Hotel stands proudly in the beautiful coastal city of Kobe. With a history of over 145 years, Oriental Hotel is widely recognized as Japan's first Western style hotel. Modeled after its predecessors, the hotel's interior features rich wood tones as well as vivid marine colors to represent its unique location between the Rokko Mountain range and Osaka Bay inlet.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Room Service
Spa
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Special Offer:Looking for room?
550Reviews
1,089Photos
6Q+A
28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 361
  • 136
  • 32
  • 9
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is good ... with an efficient staff, clean and spacious room. The breakfast seating is a little odd, but if that is the only issue .. it was really compensated by the rest! For the KOBE-restaurant see separate review
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Auke1960, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. As always, we are very pleased to hear that one of our guests were able to leave with a smile on their face. After all, that is what we strive for! We will take a look at our breakfast seating to see if we can improve in anyway, thank you for your input! On behalf of everyone here at Oriental Hotel, thank you for your visit and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
It is hard to fault this hotel. Great location, beautiful rooms, 5 star service and superb breakfast buffet. Tasteful, but not over the top. Traditional but with a modern twist. And a good bar on the top floor. I would not stay anywhere else in Kobe, which is also a lovely city
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2018
Dear David E, Thank you for your kind words and review of us here on TripAdvisor. We are ecstatic to hear that your stay was one to write home about! Nothing pleases us more than hearing praise from a satisfied guest. We will continue to do our part and hone our skills to further knock your socks off the next time you have a chance to visit! Thank you again for your comment and we hope you have a great day.
Read more
The hotel seems to have a strange breakfast queuing system. Perhaps they don’t have the capacity to accommodate all the guests at breakfast time but they seem to make people queue for breakfast even though there are tables available inside. Some people were forced to eat at the
Read more
The Oriental is an excellent luxury hotel presented in a traditional classic style that provides you with everything you would expect from a hotel of its class. We went in expecting luxury, and we were not disappointed. All the details of the hotel, from the lobby to the room
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2018
Dear MDJL81, Thank you for your stellar review! We could not have said it better even if we tried! We pride ourselves on everything you mentioned above. As they say, "The Devil is in the details", and that is our approach to best serving our guests. To put ourselves in our guests shoes and create an environment that we ourselves would want to be in. We are truly pleased that you were able to feel that during your stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Read more
this was a great hotel. 5 star service, great breakfast buffet - both Japanese and Western selections, nice bedroom and bathroom. There was just enough English being spoken at the hotel to get by. The staff that spoke little or no English bent over backwards to help us and
Read more
Response from OmotenashiHotelsKobe, Guest Relations Manager at Oriental Hotel
Responded Nov 20, 2018
Dear rocknrollal, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts and experience with us here on TripAdvisor. Needless to say, we are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was an exceptional one. Thank you for your kind words. Also, while we are always doing our best to better ourselves in communicating in multiple languages, we are glad that our desire and passion for our guests to enjoy themselves and relax is being clearly relayed. Should you find yourself in the Kobe area again in the future, we would love to have the opportunity to serve you again!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Suite at the Oriental Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Suite at the Oriental Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Standard Twin Room at the Oriental Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorOriental Hotel
The Deluxe Harbour View Room (King Bed) at the Oriental Hotel
Photo provided by managementOriental Hotel
Harbor View Room
PreviousNext
12345679
Dear camuche123, We sincerely apologize for the confusion and would be more than happy to assist you in getting this cleared up. Seeing as TripAdvisor does not allow email address or websites in the Q&A section, I have gone ahead and sent you a private message. We look forward to hearing from you.
0 votes
Show all answers
I would say the hotel directly, they were so helpful to me I am sure they will handle. A good credit card company will handle it for you in most cases
0 votes
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Martin, We most certainly do have both types of rooms available here at Oriental Hotel.
0 votes
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Oriental Hotel. We hope that your stay with us was a memorable one. For future visitors with same problem: Please note that our confirmation e-mail is an automated no-reply email address. For hotel inquiries, please contact us directly from our homepage. Thank you for your understanding.
0 votes
Good morning tiki248, We are located roughly 10 minutes on foot from Sannomiya Station or a few minutes by taxi. If you do decide to take a taxi, please tell the driver you would like to go to "Oriental Hotel in Kyomachi". Our hotel is next to Louis Vuitton and Barney`s New York. or alternatively, if you could print out the directions in Japanese and show them to the driver. The address in Japanese is "オリエンタルホテル:神戸市中央区京町25". We hope you have a safe trip and look forward to seeing you soon!
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Harbour views are good, but the other side has mountains - all good."
"Any direction of WENS will be OK."
"Harbour view is great, but the city view, with Mr Rokko in the background, is not to be sniffed at."
"Add breakfast when booking!"
"Book room with breakfast."
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
$158 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiHyogo PrefectureKobeChuo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing