We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo

Traveler (279)
Room & Suite (176)
Video (2)

About

#40 of 141 hotels in Shimogyo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Lowest Price Guarantee !
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
Neighborhood
Shimogyo-ku
Shimogyo-ku is centered around the busy train hub, Kyoto Station. A nexus for commerce, shopping, dining, and hotels, the Shimogyo-ku area is infused with tourists and local business travelers, making it a competitive location for ever-new commercial structures. The shops and cafes here are chic and trendy, as a result, with many recognizable chains. Commuters flood the Shimogyo-ku area twice a day, and with Kyoto Station itself being a modern mega-complex and an architectural marvel, this neighborhood is one of the most contemporary and energetic areas that the city has to offer. Buildings here look futuristic, and huge department stores, shopping arcades, and public meeting spaces provide every possible convenience. It is also nearly the only place in Kyoto where rooftop dining and socializing is available, completing its modern tone.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
896Reviews
22Q+A
28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 228
  • 491
  • 129
  • 34
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here for 4 nights while we toured Kyoto. The rooms are clean and the staff functional and correct. This is a very basic hotel. There is no fitness center or pool. However, it does have a small public bath which is open to all guest. I think this hotel is positioned as a
Read more
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, Front Office Manager at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We truly appreciate that you have shared your comment with us.At our hotel, we have the garden view public bath where our guests can use for free. It is nice to extend your legs in the large hot bathtub after a long day of walking. Where we are located is convenient for our guests. We are situated just off the main Shijo street. From the Shijo underground station, it is approximately a 5 to 10 minute walk. To the famous Nishiki market it takes about 15 minutes on foot. The hotel is located in a residential part of town but we are surrounded by many small interesting restaurants. A convenience store is almost next to us, a couple of shops away. A 24 hour open super market is at the corner of the street. This is a great advantage for our guests to stay here with comfort.We are fortunate to be located in central Kyoto. For the most places of interest you can reach by taking a bus from the bus stops around the corner from us, or just a walk. At the reception, you can purchase a one day bus pass from the ticket vending machine. We have bus maps and tourist maps at the reception to give out. Please do not hesitate to ask us for directions.We hope you have enjoyed your experience in Kyoto.Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo Front Office Manager
Read more
We stayed in this hotel with another couple while on a holiday to Japan. The hotel is in a good location close to the main shopping centre and the subway. Rooms by Japanese standards are quite large and are well equipped. Breakfast was a little disappointing with some items such
Read more
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded May 6, 2019
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to share a valuable review of your stay. It is wonderful to know that you have been satisfied with our convenient location and room. We are fortunate to be located in central of Kyoto. We are surrounded by various kinds of restaurants and shops along with popular shopping streets in walking distance. We hope you could enjoy strolling around this area during your stay. It is regrettable to know that our breakfast is not what you expected. Our breakfast is served as a buffet with Japanese cuisine as well as western dishes. It is “Obanzai” style breakfast, which is a traditional style of Japanese cuisine in native to Kyoto. Regarding to the check in, it is unfortunate that we had to make you wait at the reception. If cleaning is completed early and room is ready before your arrival, you may be able to check in earlier than expected. We hope your stay in Kyoto has been something memorable. We would like to welcome you back again in the near future.
Read more
A very nice hotel with all the features you want! Breakfast available (we didn’t do it), bathhouses and close to the stations to get you anywhere. Local style restaurant in the near vicinity with helpful staff at the concierge.
Read more
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded May 6, 2019
Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and taking the time to give us your valuable comment. We are so pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our atmosphere,breakfast,public bath, location and staffs.Our staff members who speak English are normally present at the reception to help and support our international guests so, we could correspond with their requests.We attempt to do our guests for further improvement in our service and quality.We all look forward to seeing you in the near future. Front Office Manager
Read more
We had a good rate in autumn. The room was fine and the service was good. Location is quite central you can easely reach all intresting sights by bus from here. Buy a day ticket when you enter the buss. The breakfast was very nice as well, specialy the cook Tamagoyaki did a very
Read more
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and providing your valuable comment. We are centrally located Shijo subway station is within the walking distance, just five minutes walk. Our useful location also facilitates you to have easy access to various directions in town. Based on this, it is our great pleasure to welcome you back for a variety of purposes which Kyoto offers in diversity. We are also delighted to hear that you were pleased with our breakfast in the moment of relaxing morning. We value your precious comment which enables us to continuously improve our services. Once again, we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to Kyoto in the near future.
Read more
+1
Stayed there for one night while visit Kyoto from Osaka . The hotel is so comfort and has a big rooms. The room is clean and the staff is so friendly. Near to station by 10 minutes walk. The breakfast is so good and has a public big bath tub .
Read more
Response from MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Responded Apr 16, 2019
Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and providing your valuable comment. We are so pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our room, pablic bath,staffs and location.We are centrally located Shijo subway station is within the walking distance, just five minutes walk. Our useful location also facilitates you to have easy access to various directions in town. Based on this, it is our great pleasure to welcome you back for a variety of purposes which Kyoto offers in diversity. We are also delighted to hear that you were pleased with our breakfast in the moment of relaxing morning. We value your precious comment which enables us to continuously improve our services. Once again, we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to Kyoto in the near future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mitsui garden hotel kyoto
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoShimogyoShimogyo-ku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
278
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing