We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Udekki

Travelers' Choice award winner
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpitiya
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Udekki
 Click to rate
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've stayed in Udekki a few times. It's low season at the moment, so the deal is good. I had the place pretty much to myself, so a little gentle swimming and a lot of lying around with a book, and not a little napping, too! Chatted to the staff a bit, too. A lovely bunch of lads, who were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flora_dora010
Udekki A, Owner at Udekki, responded to this review

Thank you Flora. We really appreciate that you continue to come back to visit and that you found the time to put your review on TripAdvisor. You are part of our family. Please come again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights having chosen Udekki rather than other resorts nearby. I'm so glad we did! Strolling down the sandy beach it's possible to glimpse the others and they don't look half as nice, being set much further back away from the beach. Udekki has plenty of places to be on your own whilst still overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulkinane
Udekki A, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Hi Jane and Paul, It was lovely having you at Udekki recently. And we're glad you were happy with your choice and you found Udekki relaxing. Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor. And hopefully we'll see you again sometime! Cheers, Carolyn

Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sad to come back after a long time and not see the smiling face of Glen. That aside nothing has changed. Peace and quite if you want it or as much fun as you can have with the other people staying. Always a friendly crowd , its that kind of place. Food never disapoints and still so much of it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northt21
Udekki A, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! As always we love it when our guests come back. We miss Glen being here too... But we are glad you still find Udekki a relaxing place with good food! And for the chance to be a little bit out of the way. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Carolyn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It is believed that spending USD 200 per night in a resort in Sri Lanka would at least guarantee our safety. Sadly it was not the case when my female friend and I (British and German nationals) booked 2 nights to stay at the Udekki resort. The assault took place within hours of our arrival. It is worth mentioning that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nina1908hj
Udekki A, Owner at Udekki, responded to this review

We at Udekki are both surprised and saddened to see the post regarding these allegations, some of which are inaccurate and defamatory, not only of the resort and its staff, but also of Sri Lanka. Investigations are currently being conducted by the appropriate Sri Lankan authorities on the basis of the original complaint of the two guests. Contrary to the impression given that...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Fantastic location (not far from Colombo, only 3 hrs+ by car), lovely resort, very spacious villas, beautifuly decorated; common area nicely arranged with 5-6 cabanas.. the pool is so nice that once you get in, you do not want to get out!.. nice food served at time that suits you..extra friendly and helpfull staff.. what more anyone could ask for?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandaken
newcarolyn, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Dear Sanda and family, It was lovely having you at Udekki! And you're right - we wished you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor, and we do hope to see you again sometime! Cheers, Carolyn

Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

We had three nights at Udekki and loved it. From the moment we got there we were impressed. The friendly and helpful staff, the quality of the villa, the pool area and the fabulous food. Carolyn and her team were always available to ensure our time was special and share local information and traditions. If you need an authentic getaway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suziecot
newcarolyn, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Dear Suzie and Georgie, It was so lovely having you at Udekki! Although your stay was not long enough! Udekki is a great place to relax, isn't it? Enjoy the rest of your travels in Sri Lanka, and thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor! Cheers, Carolyn

Reviewed April 4, 2017

Udekki is a really nice hotel with a touch of Rustic Architecture. The place is a getaway and the location just perfect. The Owners and the staff are true ambassadors of Hospitality, The staff are overwhelmingly generous and the food is just beyond great. Had a very nice 3 nights at Udekki and managed to see a couple of thousand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sajid S
newcarolyn, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Hi! It was lovely having you stay at Udekki. We're so glad you enjoyed our food and got to see thousands of dolphins. We are a little out of the way - which does make it the perfect getaway! Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor! Do come again some time! Cheers, Carolyn

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed April 3, 2017

Liked this place a lot and we spended 3 days here then we arrived to Sri Lanka.Perfect place to start or end a journey on this island.Its very quite here,no trafic noises,the food was very good to.Svimming in the sea iin the mornings,and many dolfins on the tour we made.Friendly staff and Carolyn who runs it make it a genuine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lofoten2017
newcarolyn, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks very much for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor. It was lovely having you stay at Udekki, and we're glad you enjoyed the food, and the dolphins, swimming in the sea, and the relaxed atmosphere! Thanks for the recommendation! Cheers, Carolyn

Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

We loved Udekki! We were made so welcome, it was cosy but uncrowded, even when we were warned that the weekend was going to be busy. Carolyn and all the team worked hard to make our stay memorable in the best way. We could always find just the right spot to swim or relax or sunbathe. The food was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
newcarolyn, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Dear Julia, David and Oliver, It was lovely having you at Udekki recently! And we're glad you enjoyed our rooms called Suite N Sour. We are a great base for dolphin watching and for a trip to Wilpattu. Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor. And we'd love to have you again sometime! Cheers, Carolyn

harrogate
Reviewed March 6, 2017

A perfect place to relax. We arrived mid morning and after a welcome from Carolyn we were shown to a lovely one bedroomed villa with a Moroccan style Terrace with loads of cushions and views over the flower filled gardens leading down to the pool. Lovely place to sit and listen to the birdsong and watch the dogs trucking around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollyHarrogate
newcarolyn, General Manager at Udekki, responded to this review

Hello! It was lovely having you at Udekki recently! Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We're so glad you enjoyed the food and were able to have dinner on the deck overlooking the sunset. We'd love to have you stay again sometime - 2 nights is never enough! Cheers, Carolyn

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

286 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (276)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpitiya
5.3 mi away
Elements Watersports & Nature Resort
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Kalpitiya
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palagama Beach
Palagama Beach
#3 of 28 in Kalpitiya
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bar Reef Resort
Bar Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Alankuda Beach
323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Village
Dolphin Village
#4 of 28 in Kalpitiya
60 reviews
11.2 mi away
Kitesurfing Lanka
Kitesurfing Lanka
#1 of 52 in Kalpitiya
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Udekki provides guests with a rare combination of luxury, rustic style, and seclusion. The villas have been designed to fuse the unique style and influence of the Middle East and North Africa with the colour and vitality of tropical Sri Lanka. The beautiful antique features of the villas highlight the rich heritage of the island. With two private villas and a shared villa consisting of five individual suites on the estate, Udekki provides complete privacy along with first class accommodation and hospitality. Each of the two private villas incorporates air conditioned bedrooms, spacious living areas, satellite TV, a central courtyard, and large open front veranda with views to the pool. The five suites in the shared villa are spacious and airy, with ceiling fans and air conditioning, and views through the gardens. The new additions to Udekki, Loft D situated on the back terrace of Villa 343, and Loft M situated on the back terrace of Villa 346, have stunning views of the ocean. They are spacious and the many large antique windows provide ocean views from your bed. Although the lofts do not have airconditioning, the overhead fans and breeze from the many windows are all that you need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Udekki

Address: Off Kalpitiya Road, Alankuda Beach | Ettale, Kalpitiya 61360, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Price Range: $120 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Udekki staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Udekki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ist floor lofts would be my choice”
northt21, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Suggest discussing your individual needs with Carolyn, who will give excellent advice”
drmarkf, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Villas are the best, have to reserve early to get a villa.”
turtlebird, Feb 1, 2017 | Read review
“The Villas are large with kitchen and all cooking facilities if you wish to self cater. Ideal for families and a treat for couples”
car0linesc0tt, Jan 9, 2017 | Read review
“A loft with the room under wd be a good combo for a family. Back rooms a little dark but hang out at the pool, it doesn't matter!”
cardy1964, Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question