We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 823: English reviews
derry ,northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely hotel food was very good stayed on the 2nd floor very nice room could do with a update ie carpet was looking past its best and could hear music from the disco which was annoying at first but then seen earplugs that solved that issue. Views are amazing and the service from the staff, overall definitely would recommend this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rbacheta
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Only my second review ever on trip adviser but thought this hotel is definitely worth shouting about. We arrived at about 9:20 after a very long drive absolutely ravenous, being told that the restaurant food closed at 930 I assumed I would have to drive somewhere to get something to eat, oh no ! In true irish hospitality these guys... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnvegas12345
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnvegas12345, Thankyou for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We don indeed have fantastic staff here at the Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa and it most definitely showed here. We are delighted to be able to exceed the customers expectations at every opportunity. I have now bought your kind comments to the attention of the restaurant manger... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our family had a fantastic time at the Ballyliffin lodge. A great hotel with super amenities. We stayed a family of 5, had a great room overlooking the beach. We ate in the hotel and the food and service was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Dermot O
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dermot O Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel with it's multi award winning facilities and services. We hope that you will indeed be returning again soon to sample more delights from our AA Rosette winning restaurant. More 

Mayo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just had a lovely weekend in the lodge, would highly recommend as very good hotel with lively bar. Food was of a high quality and is very reasonably priced so we ate there both nights. Views are unreal and the beach is only a walk away and definitely worth a visit. We found it a good location to see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathal O
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathal O Thank-you for your kind comments I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our multi award winning Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa. We are indeed so lucky to be set in beautiful Inishowen and it is perhaps one of the many reasons that we are such a popular hotel. We look forward to your return... More 

Derry
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel. Lovely view from the reception. Comfortable bed and good sized room. Good strength shower. The food in he bar was also nice. Didn't try the leisure centre but it looked good. Breakfast was good too. Only small problems would be no conditioner in the shower (not my complaint - partners!) and the iron didn't work in the room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank paddygray08
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paddygray08 Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am delighed to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for bringing the issue with the Iron to our attention. We had it rectified the next day as part of our weekly in room / hotel maintenance checks. I hope that you will be... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After booking on booking.com for what I thought was going to be a standard double room costing £90 turned out to be cost £127!I was shocked but paid it as we were down for a wedding and had nothing else booked.After looking at the current prices online, £87 on here,and what other people paid I'm appalled at the price!The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank gingss
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gingss I am most disapointed to hear that there was a mix up with the room you booked through a third party website, I have conducted some initial investigations into your complaint and it appears that the wrong type of room has been booked on Booking.com. So that i can investigate this further I would ask yopu to contact... More 

Co. Tyrone, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel. Stayed last yr with large family group B&B and 1 dinner. Ate in bar and restaurant. Food in restaurant was poor but had a good stay overall so returned this year for same package. Quality of food in bar and restaurant this time was much worse. None of the courses in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank OrlaC
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OrlaC Thank-you for taking the time to post your review, I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our usually high standard of food I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager. I am however delighted to hear that you did indeed pool, fantastic location of the hotel and thought that we had... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended a wedding here. The venue is very nice with a great view looking out towards the beach and the mountains. The function room is a good size and looks nice as well. The food however was not a great experience. The starter was a goats cheese tartlet that was tasty and the soup was potato and leek, pretty standard.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank irish_goat1
Ballyliffinlodge, Owner at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear irish_goat1 Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention I am glad to hear that you had a great starter course but very disappointed to hear that you felt you did not receive our usual AA rosette main course winning food. I have passed on your comments to our food & beverage manager and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here twice now thought I'd give it a second chance but second time was worse waited 25 minutes to get our order taken asked for jug of juice for kids came out with jug and 15 minutes later I had to go looking for glasses finally after nearly a hour the food came out which the kids couldn't even... More 

Helpful?
Thank donegal2053
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear donegal2053 Thanks for taking the time to post a review we take a complaint like this seriously and we would like you to contact the hotel in order to investigate the complaint in detail such as the day and time. Let me reassure you that this is not our normal standard of service. We hope that you will indeed... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Little cracker of a hotel. Family friendly, couple friendly. Non expensive bar. Friendly helpful staff and a great location a small walk to the beach and accessible to all of Donegals attractions. The Spa was great. Relaxed as you'd expect but very competitive prices. Was very pleased to not be overcharged. But the Spa staff were great too. Will for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KPB1981
Ballyliffinlodge, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KPB1981 We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be returning again soon. Please sign up to loyaltyoffer@ballyliffinlodge.com in order to avail of the best possible accommodation rates. We hope to see you return again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

571 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (151)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (413)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (67)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (79)
Viewed
Superior Room (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
21.4 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Price Range: $111 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay