We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Want Residences

No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Zhongshan District, Taipei Taiwan
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (727)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (211)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 141 hotels in Zhongshan District
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.3
About San Want Residences TaipeiSan Want Residences Taipei formally opened its doors for business in March 2008 and aims to exceed guest satisfaction and achieve the attentiveness found in leading luxury hotels. San Want Residences Taipei is a sophisticated bolt-hole in the centre of Taipei, a tranquil alternative to staying in a bustling city hotel. Located in Taipei Nanjing East Road, and adjacent to the LinSen Park, the hotel is surrounded with international designers’ boutiques and offers easy accessibility to MRT station. San Want Residences Taipei is the latest boutique property carefully selected to join Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH). The hotel has an impressive collection of artworks and sculptures by contemporary Taiwanese artists, adding a special element to your experience. In addition to the museum boutique concept, the hotel also offers office use facilities especially for our business travelers. Equipped with selected office stationeries, the spacious office desk features multifunction HP laser jet machine to fax, print and copy. With an access to project laptop screens to the 37” High-Definition LCD television, each guestroom offers wireless and high-speed fiber optic Internet Access and free cell phone rental to fully support your business requests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese

Location

No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Zhongshan District, Taipei Taiwan
Name/address in local language
San Want Residences
859Reviews17Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 605
  • 218
  • 23
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Perpetua C wrote a review Jan 2024
Bulacan Province, Philippines87 contributions80 helpful votes
The staff are accomodating and helpful, lobby is clean and orderly but a bit small, the room is small but the toilet and bath is big with the essentials provided. There were welcome fruits in our room. The tv shows are limited to local shows. Breakfast has a lot of choices but nothing exceptional, food is bland.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Must try this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations San Want Residences Taipei, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Perpetua C, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at San Want Residences Taipei. While we are glad to know that you enjoyed our bathroom and found our staff accommodating and helpful, we regret that our breakfast failed to meet your expectations. We pay attention to all of our guest feedback, as this helps us keep improving the quality of service. Your constructive feedback regarding the breakfast quality has been discussed with the relevant members of our team, and we hope that you will notice our continuous improvement when you return. With respect to the choice of in-room TV channels, we understand that worldwide news and information channel is very important for guests who travel from country to country, especially when they are away from home. We do hope that we may provide more popular and universally loved TV channels for our guests in the future, after we collect some more opinions from our guests. Thank you once again for staying at our hotel and for your feedback, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travel brings you to Taipei. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hotelreview77 wrote a review Dec 2023
Vienna, Austria156 contributions120 helpful votes
Thank you, Ms.Penny, Ms.Erica, Mr.Ellie, and Supervisor Hu, and the rest of the supervisory staff at the Restaurant. The front office team was great as always, but selective new housekeeping and kitchen staff were not so great. Compared to our previous stay, food quality seems to have taken a hit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations San Want Residences Taipei, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Dec 7, 2023
Dear hotelreview77, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about Ms. Penny, Ms. Erica, Mr. Elie, Supervisor Hu, and the front office team – we'll be sure to pass on your compliments to them. We also want to express our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced with the new housekeeping and kitchen staff. Your observations about a decline in food quality are particularly concerning, as providing an exceptional culinary experience is one of our top priorities. We take your feedback seriously and will be conducting a thorough review of the issues you raised to identify areas for improvement. Rest assured, we are committed to addressing these matters promptly to ensure that future guests have a more enjoyable and satisfying experience. We understand that your expectations were not met during this stay, and for that, we sincerely apologize. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it helps us continuously improve our services. Thank you once again for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. If there's anything specific you would like us to address or if you have any additional details to share, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We value your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Spanishworld wrote a review Oct 2023
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain191 contributions122 helpful votes
It was a very positive surprise. The quality of the hotel, the kindness of the staff and the top buffet breakfast was beyond our expectations. The room was wide, good beed and top quality shower contributed to a pleasnt stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations San Want Residences Taipei, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Oct 23, 2023
Dear Spanishworld, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at San Want Residences Taipei. We are so thrilled to hear of your fondness for our convenient location, friendly staff and all of the little details. Also, it is great to know that everything from our fantastic accommodations to the nutritious breakfast helped in making your stay with us a comfortable one. We strive to offer an exceptional and enjoyable stay for our guests, and your positive words will be shared with our team, as I am sure that it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. We appreciate your kind reviews and look forward to hosting you again very soon. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jacky Chua wrote a review Jul 2023
6 contributions
The desk staff wasnt too friendly and i overheard him switching my room during check in, my guess was due to full house with Japanese guests taking piority over everyone else. I was given a room with spoilt fruit, spoilt toliet basin and damaged wall desk. Toilet was also out of soap and shampoo. This is generally a Japanese only friendly hotel, not recommended for any other nationailties.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go only if you are Japanese. The rest will be a roll of a dice. Good luck with this one.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations San Want Residences Taipei, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Jul 15, 2023
Dear Mr. Jacky Chua, This is greeting from San Want Residences Taipei. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your comment with us. We are truly sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your room. Please be kindly informed that we tried to arrange a room for you before check-in time, and that is the reason why our front desk staff switches your room. With regards to the challenges you have experienced with our facilities, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We already have our Engineering team checked those problems and fixed it. To avoid this from happening again in the future, we already have our Housekeeping team to enhance the cleaning of our guest rooms, and also ask them must pay much more attention while making up the rooms. We truly hope you will notice our improvement next time you stay with us. Should there be any room facility which does not function well next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. Our staff will be more than happy to assist you in fixing the problem or change a room for you. As for your opinion about our hotel only Japanese friendly, though most of our guests come from Japan, the service to all of our guests is equal, and there is no double standard service in our hotel. Thank you once again for staying at our hotel, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shirleen wrote a review Jun 2023
Singapore108 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
Location is good but so walking distance to the train. Almost walking distance to anywhere Hotel is big and clean. Housekeeping done everyday. Whatever you need the hotel staff are all your services . Check in and check out are fast and easy. Impress that the staff able to speak in Japanese. Breakfast have a variety everyday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations San Want Residences Taipei, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Jun 6, 2023
Dear Shirleen, Sincerely thank you for choosing San Want Residences Taipei and for sharing your comments with us. We are delighted to read that you like our superb location and that our overall service reached your expectations. It is our honor to read that the excellent service provided by our staff ensured a wonderful stay, and I have shared your kind words with all the associates. Exceeding our guests’ expectations is our main goal and it is truly rewarding for us to know that we were successful in your case. Thank you once again for your precious feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to San Want Residences when your travel brings you to Taipei. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
M T wrote a review May 2023
San Francisco, California92 contributions77 helpful votes
Great location, good sized rooms, nicely appointed hotel with good amenities and good breakfast buffet. I sometimes stay at the nearby Okura Prestige, which I consider a 5 star hotel. The San Want is similar in many respects, but probably 1 star lower, although it is still a very nice hotel. The San Want basic rooms are smaller than the Okura rooms, but the prices are also lower so it is good value for price. Only issue I have w the San Want is the hotel is near the elevated highway, so some of the rooms on the front of the hotel have some traffic noise
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations San Want Residences Taipei, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Jun 3, 2023
Dear MT, Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding our location, guest rooms, amenities and breakfast. We are b business hotel with only 81 rooms, it is our honor that you compared us to other mega-sized hotels from famous international brands in Taipei. We must admit that the facilities of our hotel is not top-notch, but we do believe that individualized approach to each guest is the key to great service and we are so excited that we were successful in your case. And with regards to the challenges you have experienced with the traffic noise, we are sorry for any inconvenience which might have caused during your stay. We appreciate all the comments from our guests, as they help us to improve the quality of service we provide our guests. Your opinion has been passed on to the relevant department heads for review. We hope those issues will not affect your overall impression on our hotel. However, please understand that the hardware of a hotel is not easy to change in a short period of time, but we are planning to upgrade our room facilities in the upcoming fiscal year, and your suggestion will definitely be taken into consideration. If you would like to stay with us next time, for avoiding the street noise, we do have the rooms face to the street (studio room and studio suite). Thank you once again for choosing our hotel, we hope you had a great time in Taipei and we look forward to welcoming you back to San Want Residences Taipei in the not far future. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hotelreview77 wrote a review Apr 2023
Vienna, Austria156 contributions120 helpful votes
We had a great stay. Thank you, Ms.Penny and all the hotel employees for making our stay special. These people are in the hospitality business not in the business of business. Great location right next to literally hundreds of eateries, 7-11's, and family marts. About a five-minute walk to the subway, malls, and shopping. Great park right in front of the hotel. Nice size room, great large bathroom with rainforest shower with world record water pressure, a Japanese style Ohnsen bathtub, and a wonderful Japanese Toto toilet. Good Asian and Western buffet breakfast. Attentive and responsive Restaurant staff. The room was always spotlessly clean. Can't find fault with this hotel. Not getting paid to write this review. My wife and I will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 神旺 商務酒店, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Apr 21, 2023
Dear Mr. hotelreview77, Thank you for taking time to share your experience in reference to your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to know that our overall service reached your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your kind words with all the associates and we will do our best to keep deserving such high praise. Exceeding guests’expectation is our main goal and it is truly rewarding for us to know that we were successful in your case. Thank you once again for staying at our hotel and for your precious feedback, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lkyr wrote a review Mar 2023
Singapore, Singapore944 contributions92 helpful votes
+1
The assigned room was spacious and next to a 24 hour McDonald's. Although the hotel was quite a walk from the nearest MRT, the cleanliness of the room and its excellent service from the staff compensated for such shortcomings. I was very impressed with the shower room and toilet. It was just spotless. Honestly I was clueless how the housekeeping team managed to keep up to that kind of standard! It was very comfortable staying in the room with a bed mattress of the right firmness. The breakfast was standard but reasonably delicious. The hotel was clean, safe and most importantly, I woke up feeling well rested and refreshed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 神旺 商務酒店, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Mar 29, 2023
Dear Ikyr, Thank you for taking time to share your experience in reference to your recent stay at San Want Residences Taipei. We are pleased to know that our overall service reached your expectations and that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us, especially our superb location and clean room. Your positive feedback is the best rewards for us and have been shared with all team members. We will do our best to keep deserving such high praise. Exceeding guests’expectation is our main goal and it is truly rewarding for us to know that we were successful in your case. Thank you once again for your comments, we hope you had a wonderful time in Taipei. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the not far future. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John W wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
from reservation till check out handle by well train team. room is very comfortable and clean . for the food breakfast not too many item but very fresh and delicious,only is the western type food during the 5 days is the same. could use better coffee. the restaurant also service lunch on menu. got worst food and very high price (not recommend)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: don't try the hotel restaurant other then B/F (very high price and way below quality)many ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 神旺 商務酒店, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Nov 12, 2022
Dear John W, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to know the service we provided met your expectations and that we hope you had a nice stay. Thank you also for mentioning the reservation / guest / housekeeping service. Your encouragement means a lot to us. However, we regret to learn that the restaurant in the hotel fell short of your expectations, and we apologize for any inconvenience which might have caused to you. Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding the breakfast, coffee and lunch, which is highly appreciated as it helps us improve the service quality. Your comments have been passed onto relevant departments for further discussion. Again, thank you for choosing San Want Residences Taipei. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cal_TheHotelLover wrote a review Nov 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia483 contributions153 helpful votes
+1
Title says it all, affordable luxury. Hotels in Taipei can be really expensive with really small rooms. But this residence hotel doesn’t follow this trend. With low number of rooms in the property, the hotel able to maintain it’s quality of service and rooms and not asking for a premium rate. There’s even higher category with better room amenities if you wish to upgrade your stay (with Frette sheets). I was surprised with the room (mainly because of what I paid for) as compare to other hotels I’ve stay. This supposed to be only a budget stay, but turns out to be a decent one. The hotel apparently had won numerous of awards in the past. Overall room quality was good - love the shower and the tub! There were some spot which can be improve and probably refurbish like to include electronic curtains etc. Breakfast spread was decent here too - no frills. Would come back again if in the same area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations San Want Residences Taipei, 其他 at San Want Residences
Responded Nov 19, 2021
Dear Cal_TheHotelLover , Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay. It is more than our pleasure to have you be our guest again in the future. And furthermore, we are greatly honored to earn your hotel loyalty. Thank you for choosing San Want Residences Taipei and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon. San Want Residences Taipei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zhongshan District area.
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san want residences taipei
LOCATION
TaiwanTaipeiZhongshan District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAN WANT RESIDENCES $94 ($̶2̶6̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Zhongshan District, Taipei

Frequently Asked Questions about San Want Residences
Which popular attractions are close to San Want Residences?
Nearby attractions include MyTaiwanTour Travel Services (0.2 miles), Li zhi Bing Jia (0.1 miles), and Royal Bakery-Hotel Royal Taipei (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at San Want Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at San Want Residences?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at San Want Residences?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at San Want Residences?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Want Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include Umeko Japanese Unagi House, Umeko Restaurant, and Yakiyan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Want Residences?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Want Residences?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does San Want Residences offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Want Residences?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to San Want Residences?
Many travelers enjoy visiting MyTaiwanTour Travel Services (0.2 miles), Dalongdong Bao An Temple (1.6 miles), and Taipei Confucius Temple (1.5 miles).