We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paquera
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been bumming around Costa Rica for about three months and we were itching for a really unique experience; Bahia Rica provided exactly what we were itching for. We arrived late in Paquera because of the bus from Montezuma and were stressed we wouldn't make it for our 6:30pm reservation time. We called and asked if we could still come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca S
Turrilabla
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We've been on a weekend at Bahia Rica lodge and we felt like we were on holidays, that was great ! The house on the top of the hill is quiet, we loved the architecture that makes it fully integrated to the environment. This is a perfect place if you want to be independent. But need anything and Thomas and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edouard526
ViVPaquera, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so mucho for writing us a review! We enjoyed very much having you stay with us here at Bahia Rica, and we are very glad you had a good time here. Hope to see you back here again!

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing lodge. Our room was simple but it had all we need. The badroom was fine, but a new shower would be even better. The breakfast was fantastic. As Belgians we love bread and Vigdis made really good bread. The next morning we had pancakes, these were also incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
ViVPaquera, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us a review! It is very helpful for us and our future guests! Thank you for the feedback on the shower, I have checked it out and the water pressure was indeed very low. We do have a challenge with the water pressure here, but we managed to get it somewhat improved now. We...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed September 22, 2016

I stay with my family, my husband and my daughter (12 years old). We booked triple room, which was very large and comfortable for the three of us. The lodge is like Tarzan house, a wooden house with lots of details what make you like being at home. The shared bathroom is upstairs, with a shower "open" to beautiful garden....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicethings2015
ViVPaquera, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It really made our day reading about your experiences wwith us here at Bahia Rica. We are so happy that you enjoyed everything and would love to have you back. I promise I will have banana pancackes with melted chocolate ready for you!

Troy, Michigan
Reviewed September 22, 2016

We booked our trip to the Bahia Rica Lodge specifically for the bioluminescent tour. Sadly there was none to be seen, at all. I felt it was a bit of a bait and switch. It should be billed as simply a night kayak trip say nothing of the bioluminescent, that way if people see some it is a nice surprise....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucashartsell
ViVPaquera, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review - we really appreciate all the feed-back we get, and take it to heart! We know those stairs up to the guesthouse is a killer, and we try to make sure that the information about it is clear on our web-page! We are very sorry that the...

Reviewed August 28, 2016

A very special place! The combination of a wonderful natural environment and the perfect organized tours and excursions, make for an unforgettable vacation. We went on the kayaking and Tortuga Island tours, we also relaxed by the beautiful beach. The view was extremely relaxing and beautiful! The visits of the monkeys were a highlight. We will certainly come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lissette d
ViVPaquera, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Lissette! We enjoyed having you here at Bahia Rica, and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have you back one day! Greetings from the Bahia Rica Team!

Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Truly one of the most amazing experiences of my life. The hosts were wonderful and warm, the guide very knowledgeable. I didn't stay the night but certainly would next time! Highly recommend! I also had some car troubles and our host picked us up from Paquera, drove us in time for the tour and made some calls on my behalf-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amitalush
ViVPaquera, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you som much for taking time to write a review about your experience with us! We are glad that you enjoyed the bio-night kayak tour - we love it ourselves and just want to share the experience with everyone! And we were more than happy to help you out with your car issues - hopefully you did not have...

Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

We want to go back...nice people, fun excursions, very good breakfast and dinner. ..of our 6 days, only we have 1 day raining , the rest sunny days. It was 250 steps down and up every day for our breakfast, but it was a good exercise. ..the excursion to island Tortuga , it was super, than we went back again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed August 11, 2016

My family had the amazing opportunity to night kayak with Vigdis and experience the bioluminescence. What a fantastic experience! I had never been in a kayak and was a little scared of being on the ocean at night. Vigdis was so calm and walked me through the whole process. This is a great way to spend an evening!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Our family traveled to Bahia Rica looking for a place and experience different from the mainstay tourist spots. This choice proved to be right on. The owners, Vigdis and Thomas, were wonderful hosts. We went on several tours with Bahia Rica - fishing, snorkeling, Tortuga Island, whale/dolphin/turtle watching, and the night bioluminescence kayaking (this is a MUST see - don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristieAndRyan
ViVPaquera, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review sharing your experiences from your stay with us! We truly enjoyed having your lovely family here with us. I always makes us happy when our guests enjoy our place, and the activities we offer. We love this place, the fishing, the kayaking, the snorkeling etc ourselves, and try...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paquera
1.4 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alkamar
Hotel Alkamar
#2 of 2 in Paquera
17 reviews
13.0 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Manito
La Casa de Manito
#2 of 2 in Paquera
3 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Bahia Rica you will be staying in big comfortable rooms in a real jungle setting. The place is perfect for relaxing in a hammock and enjoying the jungle sounds, or you can get some exercise by taking a kayak tour or walking up along the jungle paths. A relaxed atmosphere is surrounding Bahia Rica, with common areas for eating and socializing. Bahia Rica is at Punta Cuchillo on Costa Rica’s west coast. The place is perfect for people who enjoy a calm atmosphere away from the main tourist trails. We offer sport fishing, kayak and boat tours to several beautiful destinations in the Nicoya gulf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge

Address: Punta Cuchillo, Paquera 60105, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Paquera
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bahia Rica Kayak And Fishing Lodge Costa Rica/Paquera
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A better shower”
 of 5 bubbles 159carlam, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Our family stayed in the top floor, two young men stayed on the first floor. Despite having a communal kitchen and bath we really didn't cross paths with them. It's an ideal rustic beach bungalow, we lost power for a while due to a storm which only added to the adventure, it felt like you were in atarzan movie. ”
 of 5 bubbles Lucashartsell , Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“This is a natural area in Costa Rica. The local wildlife, including geckos, insects, monkeys, etc. are part of the experience. Embrace and enjoy it!”
 of 5 bubbles ChristieAndRyan, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms looked similar, but I would take a top floor room as you won't get as much noize in the morning from other guests”
 of 5 bubbles jeremyw195, Jul 8, 2015 | Read review
“The lodge creaks a lot, so I would recommend being upstairs so you do not have to hear people walking around upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 228jamiet, Mar 28, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question