We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bp 28, Te'avaro 98728 French Polynesia
E-mail hotel
28 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!ROMANCE, THE FRENCH WAY*
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$619
Booking.com$619
Hotels.com$619
FindHotel$624
Trip.com$624
Destinia.com$667
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (5293)
Room & Suite (1222)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 110 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti. Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional unique dance shows. For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Infinity pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
4034Reviews234Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,497
  • 1,003
  • 302
  • 141
  • 91
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nita N wrote a review Aug 6
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Loved every moment of our 6 days here. We stayed in an overwater bungalow on the left, and it had incredible sunrise views. Everyone at the resort treated us as an honored guest. We brought plenty of our own snacks and never had to buy drinks because there were plenty supplied in the mini bar (we don't drink alcohol). I loved the tranquility of this place. Every part of the grounds was beautiful and peaceful. If you let them, they will take care of everything for you. I can't say enough good about this place. In retrospect, it may be too quiet for some, but then again, the whole island is probably like that. If you are looking for quiet and relaxing, you can't do better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabine Lamberts, General Manager at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Responded 4 days ago
Dear nnewswa, We thank you for your such nice comments after your stay at the Sofitel Kia Ora Beach Resort. We are delighted that you find your paradise in our island. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Resort. With warm regards,
Read more
Martha B wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The Sofitel Kia Ora was clean and beautiful and completely exceeded our expectations. The staff was incredibly friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. We were upgraded to overwater bungalows when we arrived, which made the experience even better! The beach at this resort is gorgeous and the water was calm, which made it easy to relax and snorkel in the lagoon. From the beach there is a beautiful view of Tahiti and there are tons of coral gardens right in the lagoon that make for great snorkeling. Staff was very friendly and the activities desk was great – they had tons of gear (snorkels, paddle boards, kayaks) that were free for us to use. We booked through Venture Tahiti and we are very likely to return to this resort again the next time we travel to French Polynesia.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stéphane SOGLIUZZO, General Manager at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Responded Mar 29, 2021
Dear Martha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Overwater Bungalow and we are pleased to receive your compliments on the cleanliness, the staff and the activity desk. We will share your appreciation with our team. Your satisfaction is the best reward for our staff who works day after day to offer the best experience to our guests. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we are glad to have exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you again very soon, Yours faithfully Stéphane SOGLIUZZO General Manager Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Read more
Mandy M wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Our family was there 7/24-7/26. We stayed in the over water bungalows. I’m only giving this two stars because of how beautiful the property and bungalows are. But things quickly changed…our very first morning we woke up to several bungalows having a full remodel. Power drills, floor sanders and hammers. ALL day until 6:00pm. We contacted reception and they basically told us oh well they will be done by the evening. Forget naps, reading or just relaxing as expected. We understand property needs maintenance but they should inform their guests there will be construction going on especially when we paid so much money to be there. Our other issue was with the staff in the restaurant at breakfast. Very rude and the Buffet food was not great. If you are planning a trip there in the next few weeks we highly recommend calling the property first to see if they are still under construction.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jessica W wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada5 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed in a luxury horizon overwater bungalow and highly recommend! Beautiful resort and amazing staff. Excellent snorkeling right off our deck (saw eagle rays on numerous occasions). Food was delicious - really enjoyed the Polynesian show and buffet. The canoe breakfast was amazing!! A wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabine Lamberts, General Manager at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear JessicaW1088, What a magnificent review after your stay at the Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort. All the team is very touched by your comment. We are delighted that you appreciated the food, the Polynesian show and buffet. We will be pleased to welcome you again in our Resort. With warm regards,
Read more
huntejk wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia864 contributions470 helpful votes
Loved the overwater bungalow, nice veranda and quiet. Very spacious. Included breakfast which was excellent and included gluten-free bread for my celiac husband. Saw their Polynesian show with buffet and it too was excellent. We ate all our meals there and were very happy. Really enjoyed their All staff were friendly and helpful. Great spa treatments. Also had dinner at their K restaurant which was a highlight. Concierge Nathalie was particularly helpful and made our time better. Adelina stopped by while we were sitting in the lobby waiting for our room and explained a lot about local customs and culture. Fascinating. Absolutely no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabine Lamberts, General Manager at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear huntejk, Ia Orana from Moorea ! What a wonderful sharing of experience. Mauruuru as we say thank you in tahitian for taking time of suce nice comments ! We are very happy to read that you enjoy the SPA, your dinner at the K restaurant and the Polynesian show. Your compliments will be share with our staff. Your satisfaction is the best reward for them. The Sofitel team hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Resort. With warm regards,
Read more
Jitesh Patel wrote a review Jul 2022
23 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
My wife & I visited Sofitel Moorea for our honeymoon & we thoroughly enjoyed it! They provided us with transport to & from the ferry port at a very reasonable price. We received a very warm welcome from the staff at the front desk & were provided with a refreshing drink & face towel after our long journey to the Moorea. The resort itself is fantastic! The grounds are stunning. They have very much captured the tropical paradise feel. We visited the viewpoint whilst waiting for our room to be ready & it was incredible. I definitely recommend the short walk up there. Whilst exploring the resort we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff members we came across. They were all very accommodating & tended to our every need. The food & beverages were great! We really enjoyed the delicious variety at breakfast, particularly the omelette bar. The service we received was top class & everyone was very friendly. The bar staff really knew their drinks! I highly recommend the happy hour in which the cocktails were approximately half price & were very nice (particularly the pina colada in which they use real coconut ice cream!) We had a garden bungalow room which was spacious, clean & comfortable. A massive perk with this resort was they provided a free mini bar in the fridge which was refilled everyday throughout our stay. The mini bar included soft drinks, fruit juices, water & two cans of beers! It was the only resort we visited in French Polynesia which provided this service which we thought was a nice touch. There is a vast amount of activities available on the resort. They provide kayaks, paddle boats & snorkelling equipment. We used our own snorkelling equipment & was able to enjoy the abundance of coral & marine life that was just off the beach! The beach itself is a beautiful spot for both sunrises & sunsets. We particularly enjoyed the sunrises each morning. They were idyllic. I highly recommend the resort if visiting Moorea & we hope to visit it again someday!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
keltrinswife wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ohio24 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed here for our anniversary and was not disappointed. We stayed in an over water bungalow and the views were stunning. We were able to leave the doors open and feel the breeze through the screen. The food was delicious and the service was great! I would recommend this place to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabine Lamberts, Directeur général at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear keltrinswife, What a magnificent share of experience ! The whole staff joins me to thank you for staying with us and celebrating your anniversary. Our best gift received is to know that our services have been appreciated. We were very delighted to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru for the recommendation
Read more
OneHeart95 wrote a review Jul 2022
34 contributions16 helpful votes
My husband and I recently stayed at the Sofitel Kia Moorea in a beachfront bungalow for 5 nights. This was our first stop in our first trip to French Polynesia and we booked our stay as part of a package with a Tahiti travel specialist. I decided on the Sofitel due to the beach, location and just overall appearance of the resort and we were not disappointed. The resort and surrounding views were beautiful. Check-in was quick and easy then we were then off to enjoy the beach until our room was ready. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow that had a nice tropical island feel and was just steps from the beach, which was perfect. Even though the room may have felt a little worn, it did not distract from the room and our enjoyment of the resort. Pure restaurant was available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There were plenty of choices for breakfast, mostly having the same offering each morning. An omelet station was available but would get busy. I especially enjoyed my daily chocolate croissant with a cappuccino. Lunch and dinner were both good and the beach bar had a small but good lunch menu. My favorite evenings were watching the Polynesian show and dinner buffet with local cuisine. Vue bar offered an evening happy hour and was busy the evening we tried it but was still good. Service was good and very accommodating if we needed anything. The beach and surrounding grounds were beautiful. There were some areas that were rocky and if you walk down the beach to the public park, shoes are advised. We brought our own snorkel equipment and did some snorkeling. The current was strong a couple of days, having fins helped. We saw plenty of fish and a stingray once. From check in to check out all the staff was extremely helpful and wonderful. We really appreciated the warm welcome throughout our stay. For my husband and I we could not have been more pleased. We were there to relax, enjoy the beach and were not disappointed. We have already spoken about a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabine Lamberts, Directeur général at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Responded Jul 4, 2022
Dear OneHeart95, What a magnificent share of experience ! A great mauruuru for this review. We are delighted that you find your paradise in our Resort. The hospitality and the Polynesian kindness are our strength and what a beautiful reward to see that you have been touched by this. We hope you will keep nice memories of your trip and we will be happy to welcome you again in our island. With warm regards,
Read more
inlovewitheurope2015 wrote a review Jun 2022
San Diego, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked 2 luxury overwater bungalows for 2 nights. We checked in early at 8 am and no one mentioned any issues, check back at 2 pm to get the keys. At 2pm I was told I would only have 2 overwater bungalows for 1 night and then they said they overbooked and was placing one room as a garden view room. No explanation and wanted to only give me 20000 xpf for the difference. Theres a big difference between the overwater bungalow and a garden view one. It took another hour to resolve and finally got a beach bungalow for the 2nd night. What was annoying was they didnt inform of this earlier when I checked in at 8 am? Instead of wasting an hour when all I wanted to do was get to my room, take a shower and relax since we were traveling the previous night. The lunch at the resort was mediocre so we mainly ate outside of the resort. The showers did not drain well and would pool. The windows to the room do not close securely so mosquitos would get inside at night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Xtina Miller wrote a review Jun 2022
Park City, Utah14 contributions6 helpful votes
We had an incredible experience at the Sofitel Moorea. We have 3 celiacs in our family and they had many GF options for each meal - the chef even came out to walk us around the dinner buffet and let us know what did and didn't have gluten (sometimes gluten is hidden in sauces...like soy sauce). When we checked out to stay in a private home, we went to every market on the island and could not find GF bread. We went back to the Sofitel and asked if they would sell us a loaf of GF bread - absolutely was their response. Amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The beach bungalows are amazing...get one in the middle (not to close to the end but not right by...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sabine Lamberts, General Manager at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Dear XtinaPC, A great mauruuru for the magnificent share of experience. The hospitality and the Polynesian kindness are our strength and what a beautiful reward to see that you have been touched by this. We will share with the Chef and his team. Your satisfaction is very important for us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in our paradise. With warm regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$471 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel moorea ia ora beach hotel maharepa, sofitel moorea beach resort, sofitel maharepa, maharepa sofitel
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsMooreaTe'avaro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Scenic Shopping Tour - Pure Passion (3.2 miles), Eva Perles Pearl Buying (3.1 miles), and Have a Nice Pearl (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fare La Canadienne, Allo Pizza, and Rudy's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sofitel Kia Ora Moorea Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tiki Village Cultural Center (9.5 miles).