We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Save
Share
630 Chapel St, South Yarra, Victoria 3141 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$145
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (419)
Room & Suite (472)
Pool & Beach (42)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in South Yarra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1223Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 719
  • 337
  • 112
  • 35
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ray Quek wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
Two night stay. 22/06/2021. No disrespect, but definitely not M Gallery standard. The “upgrade” is hardly worth anything. Large room, sparsely decorated with weak attempt to fill out the space (e.g. two work desks ... for?). Arm chairs seats are saggy and hardly comfortable. Room windows facing other rooms - zero privacy. zero views. Here is the important bit. Room has no tub and when we called reception indicating that we really wanted a tub (that’s The Como signature feature right?) and didn’t mind a smaller room on a lower floor. The response from the receptionist was, sorry, rooms have been allocated. So here we are... stuck here for two nights. Planned Rest and Relax out the door. The Como has lost its lustre. Devoid of its original charm. Decor looks tired and dated. It should be rebadged as a Mantra or Mercure. Oh, yes, the two slices of nougat on a plate in glad wrap as a welcome gift. Urrrm, I rather just the welcome note... sometimes less is more if you want to make a proper impression. Feels like we received a trite and token “upgrade” on the Platinuim tier. I will definitely be sharing my reviews on other hotel review sites and social media. So not worth the hype. ... my observations and opinion. Saturday, 22 May 2021
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Stay at The Olsen Art Series just across the road. Far nicer hotel. This house not be an M...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Marie Lennon, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr Quek, I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. I would welcome a conversation. We clearly did not impress you. I also apologise that we were unable to assist you across the weekend to turn your experience around. As mentioned I would be more than happy to discuss a resolution. Sincerely, Anne Marie Lennon General Manager
Read more
Ingrid H wrote a review May 2021
Lennox Head, Australia73 contributions14 helpful votes
From check in to checkout I was made to feel welcome. Every staff member was courteous and friendly. Every request was quickly met. Our apartment was spacious and very comfortable with a pleasing view over the park at the back. With its large living room and full kitchen, this was a perfect place for a reunion where the aim was more to spend time together indoors than see the sights. Plenty of dine in and take away food choices nearby. Easy access to trains and trams.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park are quiet and feel well away from the busyness of city streets.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Marie Lennon, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded May 18, 2021
Dear 548ingridh, It is a pleasure to read your review. We really appreciate your positive feedback. It sounds like you made the most of everything that the hotel and the area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. with best wishes, Anne Marie Lennon General Manager
Read more
Louise G wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia214 contributions73 helpful votes
The location, while conveniently placed on chapel street was a bit underwhelming as half of chapel street is now sitting vacant. The hotel itself is a bit of a mixed bag. The lobby looks fresh and trendy, whereas the rooms are run down, scuffed and the bathrooms look very tired and worn. Nothing about our room was outstanding and the Japanese garden was a bit lack luster. My biggest issue was with the service from the front desk. The hotel is plastered with covid safe guidelines, and the instructions outside the lifts advise for no more than 2 people per lift. Nevertheless the french man from the front desk hopped in the lift with us, exceeding the capacity. We also asked the same man to call for a lift for us that night. When we went down at the time we were meant to leave he advised he wasn’t able to book anything for us as the night was busy. I was very annoyed as he could’ve informed us earlier. We ended up having to organize our own Uber and arrived half an hour late for our event. Our breakfast the next morning from the hotel was pretty woeful. My husband and I ordered the same thing and ended up with very different plates of food. He got mushrooms and tomato but no egg, and I got egg but no mushroom or tomato. The quality of the food was very old and we left half of the meal on the plate. Overall I wasn’t overly impressed with this hotel and more than likely will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Marie Lennon, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded May 13, 2021
Dear Georgiab681, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Como Melbourne - MGallery. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am very disappointed to learn that our safety protocols were not adhered to and that you were underwhelmed by the service offered from the front desk. Secondly your breakfast experience was clearly not up to the usual standard. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and if you would like to reach out to me directly I would be happy to discuss in more detail to hopefully reach a satisfactory outcome. Regards, Anne Marie Lennon General Manager
Read more
Bekka100 wrote a review May 2021
Adelaide, Australia127 contributions17 helpful votes
We recently spent 3 nights at the Como with our 4yr old. The staff went above and beyond, beautiful clean facilities and a fantastic yummy breakfast each morning. The pool was fantastic and we loved having a spa in our room. We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Marie Lennon, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded May 11, 2021
Dear Bekka100, Thankyou for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed a great family time together. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. with best wishes, Anne Marie Lennon General Manager
Read more
Lee L wrote a review May 2021
Melbourne, Australia110 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Amazing check in staff and house keeping staff, great conversation. Unfortunately when we discovered the doonas was (see photos attached) in such horrific state ... it was ultimately replaced of course by the lovely housekeeper. Thank You. The manager didn't know what to do, yes she was very kind and call me and email-me "as a gesture of goodwill to reassure you that this experience was not up to their usual high levels" (See photo for reference) and later did offer me to stay as a guest in the future, which I appreciate but due to work commitment and cannot see or plan any future I cheekily ask for a potential refund. From then all the emails went ignored, which I find quite unprofessional. All she could say is "Sorry unfortunately we cannot offer you the refund, but at any stage in the future, should you change your mind, the offer to stay as a guest will still be honoured." ... Anyway first world problem and customer service 101.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Marie Lennon, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded May 9, 2021
Mr Lee, Thankyou for your feedback. I apologise for the lack of service you have encountered and if there was any mis-communication again I apologise. As mentioned in our communication I am more that happy to offer you a refund for your stay if you would prefer. I understand that due to work commitments you are unable to stay. I will ensure that this is actioned today. Once again I apologise that this was your experience. with best wishes, Anne Marie Lennon General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the como melbourne hotel melbourne, como hotel melbourne, the como hotel melbourne
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGreater MelbourneSouth YarraChapel Street
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Which popular attractions are close to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Nearby attractions include Rush Escape Game (0.3 miles), Palace Cinema Como (0.04 miles), and The Jam Factory (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burch & Purchese Sweet Studio, Two Birds One Stone, and Chez Olivier.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of South Yarra.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (2.7 miles), St. Patrick's Cathedral (2.3 miles), and Rippon Lea Estate (2.8 miles).