Weru Weru River Lodge

Weru Weru River Lodge

standard room
Traveler (213)
Aufgang zur oberen Wohneinheit
Room & Suite (35)
Swimming  pool
Pool & Beach (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 lodge in Weru Weru
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
We are a small boutique hotel located in Moshi Kilimanjaro, Tanzania. We have 32 rooms and all rooms can be converted into twin rooms and have also room for an extra bed for those travelling with children. At the Lodge we offer Wi-Fi connectivity, swimming, camel rides, bicycle tours, day trips, coffee tours at very reasonable prices. We like to ensure that our guests are fully entertained. We serve buffet and al a carte meals at our main restaurant. If you are hiking Kilimanjaro, then this is your hotel of choice as we are very close to most gates; Machame gate is only 22kms, Mweka 27kms, Marangu is 45kms, Lemosho is 75kms. Kilimanjaro International airport is only 32 Kms away. You can book your transfer with us at a very minimal fee. For group bookings we offer celebration dinners after the climb with complimentary acrobatic entertainment and local chagga dancers around the bonefire. We have a conference hall that can accommodate upto 200 guests for those seeking MICE around Kilimanjaro. Once you come down from your climb, our Spa provides various massages and treatments so make an appointment at our reception. See you soon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
215Reviews1Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 91
  • 74
  • 37
  • 11
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Liz Wood wrote a review Jan 2020
Palma de Mallorca, Spain14 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I had been recommended this lodge by a friend therefore perhaps I was expecting too much. On check iin, arrived early evening, tired after driving from the Ngorongoro crater and just needed a shower, I had prepaid, my booking was recorded but not my payment, WiFi wasn’t brilliant, so it took a while for me to be able to connect and show my payment receipt. The room was great and very clean. The food was good limited choice though and expensive. I was a little put out to see when signing for purchases, a blank line for tipping, I am from the UK and live in Spain, I always tip if appropriate but felt to be asked for a tip was inappropriate. We wanted a late check out as were flying in the evening, we had a surcharge of half the amount we had originally paid which was a lot seeing we had no electricity for the whole day, these things happen I know, but no generator so no hot water etc for the price we paid very disappointed. The lodge was clean and had some lovely decor touches, but I’ve stayed in better in The area for half the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from wwrl, marketing manager at Weru Weru River Lodge
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Dear Liz, Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. 1. The receipt leaves a space for guests to add their tip but this is not mandatory. We are sorry it made you feel that you had to tip. 2. We have been having power problems and on this particular day we had a service problem with the generator which has since been fixed. We apologize once more for the inconvenience this caused. We cannot apologize enough for your bad experience but we do promise to improve our service delivery. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
voyager1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Deventer, The Netherlands84 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a lovely 3 day stay at Weru Weru, the rooms were comfortable with aircon and nice sized beds. Meals were very tasty and well priced at around US$10 per dish. In comparison I found the wines prices quite pricy for mediocre wine (significantly more than what one would pay in Europe ) To be fair it was not just at Weru Weru but all other lodges that we stayed at. The staff were exceptional, especially Hope and the gentlemen at reception who always went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. There is also a lovely pool, spa, bike rental to enjoy. Will definitely like to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EVERYDAY SAFARIS wrote a review Apr 2022
Arusha, Tanzania7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been hosting our Clients at Weruweru River Lodge and they have all enjoyed our time there. As a tour company, it is important to ensure you choose a hotel with good facilities as well as good customer care. At Weruweru River Lodge we have received all this. They went above and beyond to ensure our clients are comfortable. We recommend Weruweru River lodge for guests climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro via Machame route.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Derek O wrote a review Aug 2020
Tralee, Ireland300 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Weru Weru River Lodge is a fantastic resort. The staff are extremely kind and helpful especially Robert and Joseph! The grounds and surrounding environment of the hotel are spectacular. They have beautiful gardens, flowers and trees and of cousre the views of Kilimanjaro are breathtaking. Roaming around the grounds is a magnificent tortoise who loves to pose for pictures. WWRL has a really nice swimming pool with a lifeguard on duty. The food here is also fantastic with a great choice on the menu. The pizzas are really nice, lovely burger and chips and the chicken dish is tops. My wife and I stayed here for one night and the room was beautiful. Afican themed with a comfortable bed, air con, mini fridge, balcony and a stunning rainforest shower. Philipo behind the bar will look after your drinks, he is such a nice guy. Overall I couldn't recommend WWRL highly enough. We cannot wait to return and relax in the glorious surroundings.
10/10 Asante Sana ❤
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christine C wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff with good English. Great bar and pool. Nice gardens and cool thatched lodges with thick stone walls. WIFI is good. Lots of activities available such as bike rides and tours of the coffee plantation.
Food is very healthy with lots of vegetables and tasty sauces.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RNP wrote a review Apr 2023
20 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The not so great start to the Holiday as we arrive 9pm after travelling for 16+ hrs with no rooms available to us as they double booked. We were a part of 8 with 3 kids from 10yrs to 15yes of age.

Their sister lodge down the road was a lot nicer in accommodation.

We managed to get a room on the 2nd night so had to move.

Eating is outside which is lawn, so ensure you have bug spray, for the rooms as well.

Food was okay but eating in the dark not overly nice.
Staff were friendly and the kids loved the animals and exploring the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: bug spray, always bring sacks for kids.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pippa Watts wrote a review Aug 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom16 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly staff, good food, but a rather lacklustre hotel, which could be anywhere in the world, and tired-looking rooms that need updating. We had peeling paint in our bathroom, cracked tiles, two light bulbs in the room that didn't work which the staff could not replace as they were special ones that come from Nairobi and no mosquito net for my daughter's bed. The bar area was quite noisy until late at night, which you can hear in all the rooms. Weru Weru Lodge is about 20 minutes drive out of Moshi. There is nothing much to do in the surrounding area unless you get in a car and, although on a clear day, you can see Kilimanjaro from the road outside the hotel, you don't have a view of it from the hotel rooms. I think there are better options for a stay in and around Moshi.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the upper storeys facing Kilimanjaro as you may get a view that way.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FovantHighFlyer wrote a review Jan 2020
Salisbury, United Kingdom19 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very friendly and well run lodge catering for Mt Kilimanjaro climbers (and also for those biking around the African plains). The restaurant meals were all excellent and the pizza bar snacks were the best we ate in Africa. The lodge rooms were of a good standard and were kept clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from wwrl, Marketing Manager at Weru Weru River Lodge
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall pass your Pizza compliments to the Chef and the entire team. Thank you for taking time to add a review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derek O wrote a review Mar 2020
Tralee, Ireland300 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Weru Weru River Lodge Hotel is a beautiful place to visit. Robert the manager is such a kind person. He is extremely helpful and really goes the extra mile to make your experience memorable. All the staff members are very kind, helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds are stunning with beautiful gardens that include a lovely swimming pool. The food is of very high standard. The pizzas are delicious. Camping is also an option here along with bike rental. Security is extremely high here.
Would highly recommend visiting Weru Weru River Lodge. We love stopping by to talk to Robert!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luca H wrote a review Sep 2023
18 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on Kilimanjaro and were 4 Nights in the Weru Weru Lodge. The Food is good, the Kilimanjaro Beer is very good an the people are very friendly. The massage before and after Kilimanjaro was just perfect. I was ab very good Hotel to stay and we will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Wifi is everywhere but it is not the fastest one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Abdirahman asked a question Mar 2020
Mogadishu, Somalia
How much the double room per night?
Moshi, Tanzania24 contributions
Hi, We can offer a double room for USD 100 per night. This is inclusive of breakfast and taxes. Regards Carol
Paula T wrote a tip Oct 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast says it starts at 7, when I was there early they opened the restaurant for me"
Read full review
dasha mladejovsky wrote a tip Oct 2023
Idaho Falls, Idaho160 contributions51 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"WIFI in the lobby only, if you are lucky to have electricity in the hotel. Ask for a room furthest away from the bar/restaurant"
Read full review
Luca H wrote a tip Sep 2023
18 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wifi is everywhere but it is not the fastest one"
Read full review
Pippa Watts wrote a tip Aug 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom16 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room on one of the upper storeys facing Kilimanjaro as you may get a view that way."
Read full review
RNP wrote a tip Apr 2023
20 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"bug spray, always bring sacks for kids."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Weru Weru area.
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaKilimanjaro RegionWeru Weru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WERU WERU RIVER LODGE $87 ($̶1̶1̶0̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Weru Weru River Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Weru Weru River Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Taste of Kilimanjaro Adventures (3.6 miles), Kikuletwa Hot Springs (4.6 miles), and Amuzz Bar And Car Wash (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Weru Weru River Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Weru Weru River Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Weru Weru River Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Weru Weru River Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Weru Weru River Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kuonana, Jackfruit Cafe, and Courage Café.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Weru Weru River Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Weru Weru River Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Weru Weru River Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Weru Weru River Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Weru Weru.
Does Weru Weru River Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
FlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars