We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Rondablikk

Traveler (64)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (11)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Kvam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stay with the magnificent Norwegian mountain world right outside the door, in the middle of Peer Gynt's kingdom. Hotel Rondablikk is beautifully situated at the foot of Rondane National Park with a magnificent view of the huge mountain plateau with more than 10 peaks over 2000 m.o.h. Here you can enjoy the peaceful nature surroundings. The hotel is built in a cottage style inspired by Peer Gynt, with nature in the city center. Rondane National Park of a total of 572 km² was conserved in 1962. The core of the park is the Rondan massif - in many respects the finest and most beautiful mountain party in Norway. In Rondane there are observed a total of 124 different species of birds and 28 varieties of mammals. 20 of these are residents. There are 240 species of tall plants and over 300 species of moss and low.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
Rondablikkvegen 1208 Rondablikkveien 1208, Kvam 2642 Norway
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Roros Airport78 mi
See all flights
See all nearby hotels
74Reviews
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 17
  • 18
  • 13
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is located in an unbelievably beautiful area. The surrounding are stunning: hills, lake, animals, little houses with grass on roofs. It looks like a place from an illustration book, but it’s real!
Read more
Response from Post R, Resepsjonist at Hotel Rondablikk
Responded Mar 12, 2019
Thank you for this great review! We agree that its beautiful here! :D Hope you come back one day. Best regards, Mari.
Read more
Hotel Rondablikk has the perfect location in the mountains. The only thing you can hear from your balcony is the bells from the sheep and the chirps from wild birds. Horses graze unleashed. It’s heaven. The rooms are simple with the rustic feel you want when in the mountains. You want the toilets, shower and beds to be modern, and they are. We have tried to rooms, and they both had balconies. The view was spectacular from both, but ask for the Mountain View if you want the best. The common rooms offer incredible views as well. We like to relax with a good book and equally good wine in the evenings, and we found many comfy sofas and perfect places to relax. There are numerous hiking trails in the area, you can ride a horse or use a canoe. There is one thing, though, and this is to the hotel; you need to provide shampoo. Guests expect shampoo. In short, Hotel Rondablikk is the perfect place to regain your peace and strength.
Read more
+1
This hotel is located near the Rondablikk National Park, which is way out of the city centre and in the nature, with several cottage houses, plantations, horse stables, plantations, mountains, river lakes are located. If you are a nature lover, you will probably like the place, if not, you should consider elsewhere especially if you are a shoppaholic! This is the 4th hotel and possibly the "worst" hotel we have stayed in our recent Scandinavia tour. To us, it does resemble a holiday chalet and not a hotel and it looked dated despite of recent renovation in the 2-storey building. The lobby was small and was decorated with many animal displays (like the polar and brown bears as shown) and specimens all over. Check in was slow and instead of using the card-activated room, our room key was the "old and traditional" type, a heavy ring bunch of key. And there was no lift here. Our room was 212 and it was small but fairly speaking quite ok. The bed was small (wonder how a bigger size person will be able to sleep) and toilet was small too. There was no TV, kettle, fridge and phone (so don't expect any morning call!). But the window view is nice, looking into the nature, with lots of greenery, mountains, clouds and lakes, just like a nature painting! Although there is Wifi and is free, you will not be able to get connection in the room, so you will need to be at the lobby or cafe to be able to stay connected. So in the evening, many people opened their room doors and stood at the corridor passage way trying their luck and hoping to get some connection but were generally disappointed! Since there were no TV or internet connection, activities in the room were limited except sleeping! Generally, there was no entertainment and you can forget about your FB, Instalgram or social media! We had both dinner and breakfast at the cafe on the same level. The cafe was quite nice though, with lots of wooden crafts and decors. Both the meals were buffet styled and the spread was not fantastic but were generally ok, especially the salmon and fish items (dinner) but the breakfast spread was quite limited. There was a big common/activity area at the lower floor with a big TV screen, sofa seats, a piano, game and activities room (including a table tennis table) for guests to enjoy! Perhaps the kids would love it. Staff's service was generally ok as they were quite friendly and helpful. We had a good walk after dinner outside along the country road to have a good view of the scenery. It was tranquil and scenic and despite of the rain and extremely cold feeling, we walked quite far and long since it was still bright at 9pm! The air was fresh and cooling and always great to be at our mother's nature arms! It was OK for staying here one night but if you are staying longer, you may get bored as there is nothing much to do here except sightseeing the nature. We would give it a between 2.5-3 star though we feel it is still not too strong on a solid 3-rating (but since we are unable to give a 0.5 rating, we let it at 3)!
Read more
Response from JeppeWH, Operations Assistant at Hotel Rondablikk
Responded Jun 30, 2017
Dear "ZfyEd", Thank you for taking your time to give us a review. We are very proud of the nature around the hotel, and we hope all the guests will like that as well. This is why we offer a lot of outside activities e.g horseback-riding, canoes, fishing, hikes etc. And you are completely correct, we are not a hotel for shopaholics, we offer other things! When guests asks for a wake-up call in the morning we knock on their door, so that is no problem! Regarding amenities in the room, we made a decision to remove the TV's from the room, so they could rather enjoy other unique things up here. If there something important guests would like to watch, we do offer two TV-lounges at the hotel. We are really sorry that the Wifi was not working properly during your stay. We are constantly upgrading the Wifi, and have already better capacity now. If you come back for a longer stay, I hope you will have time to enjoy a little bit more of what we offer. Best regards Jens Petter Operations Assistant
Read more
Three course dinner on the menu. Limited choices but everything we tried was amazingly good. The waiters were inexperienced but very charming. Prices low compared with Oslo and other hotels. We have a cabin nearby, but we will definitely return for more meals.
Read more
Response from LarsSPettersen, General Manager at Hotel Rondablikk
Responded Jul 3, 2016
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review and welcome back to Rondablikk!
Read more
Rooms and general appearance a bit jaded but quite comfortable. Excellent smorgaasboard for breakfast and dinner but hot food at dinner not so appetizing. All food self service. Goods area for walking
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayNord-Fron MunicipalityKvam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing