We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump

Papatotara Road Rd1, Tuatapere 9691 New Zealand
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
No booking options from our partners for this accommodation,
but there are similar options available. Contact accommodation for availability.
See available properties

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Visit us for the ultimate cosy B&B experience. We have a self contained studio unit, suitable for a couple or one person. Continental breakfast included in the tariff. Kitchen, shower, toilet, alfresco bath, queen-sized bed & all linen provided. Nearest accommodation to Bluecliffs beach & the Hump Ridge track. Just 2km from Tuatapere.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
22Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
You Must go to this place if you are anywhere near Tuatapere....even if you aren’t near...go....Great place to stay before the Humpridge tramp as it is on the road to the entrance.Our big mistake was to only stay one night and we longingly drove past after the 3 day tramp wishing we had booked this place both sides of the tramp.There is an outdoor bath with radox ...what better way to tend those sore muscles.Janice is a real welcoming Southland gal with incredible decorating taste...everything was beautiful,comfy and arty.A glass dome cake stand and apple shortcake awaited our arrival.Janice brought over a laden breakfast tray so we could eat and be on the track by 9am...the breakfast tray was amazing...the spiced pears truly Devine...your loss if you don’t stay here.It has to be one of the best stays in New Zealand,!
Read more
Response from HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
Responded Apr 30, 2018
Thank you Chris for that wonderfull review. Such a pleasure to have you both stay. Hope you enjoyed your adventure on the track. Thank you again to the real trappers. Take care P.Nut and Janice W.W.D
Read more
A great welcome, Host Janice was watching out for us. The self contained cabin is located in the ‘garden’ of her property. Hob, fridge microwave and toaster cafetière and well equipped kitchen. Good size bed. Breakfast tray provided so you can dine at your timetable. Tray included usual cereal choices and bread plus fresh fruit selection and rhubarb compote from homegrown produce, yum! Likewise the homemade biscuits we had for the next day’s picnic! Slept well until it got light...then woken as light came through the bathroom window above the door.
Read more
Response from HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
Responded Jan 23, 2018
By know you will be back home and your holiday to NZ will be just a memory. An extremely nice one I hope. Thank you both for taking the time to write such a nice review. So sorry about the light in the Dump. You wont believe this, but we have been staying in a hut in a holiday camp with the light from a street lamp glairing through our window all night. We will definitely be investing in a blind. Take care Janice W.W.D
Read more
The Wicked Wee Dump deserves a visit. Attracted to the place initially because of the humour of the name we were not disappointed. A lovely little studio shed set in the garden, close to the house but still private. Nicely appointed with everything 4 or 5 star travellers would require for a night away from a Hotel room. Home baking, country continental ++ breakfast and even an outside hot bath if you like to bathe under the clear southern sky. We even stayed an extra night after our day jet boating on lake Hauroko. Nothing was a problem.
Read more
Response from HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
Responded Dec 24, 2017
Thank you for taking time to write such an amazing review for the Dump. Its so nice to receive such positive feed back . Photos of Lake Hauroko looking like a sheet of glass are very rarely seen , how lucky you were. Once again thank you so much. Take care P.Nut and Janice
Read more
We stayed here for just the one night before our Humpridge adventure. We arrived late but Janice was so very welcoming. We had a lovely bath under the stars which was just gorgeous. I cannot rate the breakfast highly enough...freshly stewed apricots, cereals, toast, bread, thick yoghurt...all divine. We packed up the homemade slice Janice had made, and ate it after the steepest climb on the Humpridge, and it was absolutely delicious! Thank you Janice we will recommend your wicked wee dump to everyone we know!
Read more
Response from HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
Responded Feb 15, 2017
It is recommended not to use names so ill just have to say a very big thank you C&G for writing this awesome review. You know how much we love to have positive feedback, by reading some of the previous reviews. I feel I am saying the same thing back in my response to every review. However at the time Im typing I am separating the people , so to me the response sounds the same, but the meaning is personal. THATS DEEP!!. Hope you get what I mean. From your friends on bikes to your personal email and now B . N. Thank you. Janice W.W.D
Read more
We stayed here the night before we started the Humpridge Track (the drive to the trailhead from the Wicked Wee Dump is Approx 20/25 minutes). What a lovely little place! A lot of thought has been put into making this chalet really homely & comfortable, really well decorated. The bed was also absolutely fantastic & so comfortable. Breakfast was included & featured tasty home-cooking. The owners were also very friendly & gave us a very warm welcome. Would stay again & would highly recommend.
Read more
Response from HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
Responded Jan 16, 2017
That is such a nice review thank you. Also great to read your positive reviews on the Hump Ridge Track and the Last Light Lodge. Drainage all done lol. P.Nut and Janice W.W.D
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandSouthland RegionTuatapere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing