We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Bag End, Ambleside Close, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Hogsback Arboretum
    0.7 mi
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 5 days ago
Perfect!
Had a great stay at Fairies. Awesome vibes and interesting... more
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great stay at Fairies. Awesome vibes and interesting people were abundant. Its always great when you can step out of the forest and into a pub for a cold one :) will definitely see them again on our next tour to Hogsback.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Peter. Reviews like yours are what make our days more bearable and give us motivation to keep up the standards and improve on them for our future guests. Thank you very much for your kind words. Please do come past on your next tour in Hogsback, always welcome. Kind regards Ben

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The outside bath was the only great thing about this spot. our room was very dark and the beds were cheap and uncomfortable. It's ok but I wouldn't go back - there are plenty of better spots in hogs back. Not terrible but below average

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 911username
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Some of the issues you have raised are legit and are definitely something we need to work on, like we are. However, it would have been lovely to have been made aware of this before your departure. One couple did this season and they received and email...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved staying at away with the fairies. We were picked up by the owner (Dan) off the Baz bus. We were greeted by a firm hand shake and a very warm smile, much appreciated after a long journey. We were late arriving due to major delays with road works, but Dan made sure we had food that night. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank globetrotter648
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day. Wow, your review is very kind, thank you so very much. We strive very hard to go the extra mile, this does not always pay off but in your case it clearly did and we take pride in that. We are thrilled that you had such a great time with us and hope that you will return for...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hostel located in a really beautiful location! We spent there New Years, chilling and watching the stars. Perfect if you want to just relax or explore, do some hikes, swim in waterfalls. The staff is very laid back, especially the lady who works in the mornings-sorry can't remember her name-very friendly and always smiling. Two of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Alexandra. Thank you very much for your excellent review despite the issues. The lady in the morning is called Nombasa AKA Itokoloshi, she does indeed smile all day and is the most cheerful fairy we have. My apologies that our staff were not very helpful when you required information. The only reason I can come up with is...

Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed Christmas day at Away with the Fairies and it was amazing!!!! We loved the breakfast of the best flapjacks. Afterwards we walked down to the bath-probably the bath with the best view ever!!! There is a great hiking trail taking us past an 800 year Yellow Wood up to the Madonna and Child falls. The hiking trail is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank altaa2016
Garth C, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Alta, It is good to see that we have managed to make such an impression even though you were not staying with us. We worked very hard on the Christmas buffet and it was indeed, if I may say so myself, a great success. TIP: Try adding some of the local berries to your flapjacks and they become...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had the most amazing time the people are wonderful you treated like family it's very hard to go home after such a relaxing holiday it's absolutely breathtaking a must for everybody beautiful old forests amazing waterfalls, hiking trails and even more to do in town there is an awesome view point and bath tub on the cliff face which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
Garth C, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sean Many thanks for giving us such a great review, we are honored by your kind words. Angie and I had a great time hosting you guys here and hope you will make it back to us for another visit before we leave in march. Thank you so much for choosing us to stay with in Hogsback. Regards Ben

Lichtenfels, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Away with the Fairies is nicely disigned in a LOTR- style, the rooms show big paintings of the charakters. Next to the fascinating viewpoint (and the amazing bathtub) you can start the hiking trails through the fascinating forests. Visit Mother with child and other waterfalls! The staff will provide you maps to do that. The 4 th night is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neverathome2016
Garth C, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Sincere apologies about the cold braai meat, our timing was indeed quite off on the night you had that meal, we have no excuses sorry. On the other hand, we are very happy that you had such a great time wandering through our forests. Getting lost...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 14, 2016

There are few ways to describe staying at Away With The Fairies without resorting to poetry or the esoteric descriptions of coming back to one's soul. From the roaring view of the mountains, to the fire side under a moon so bright, one might mistake it for a midnight Sun. I bid a great thanks to the staff for keeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trekker2145
Garth C, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Good day Thank you so, so much for your moving review. Your words are among those that we cherish to hear. And your experience here is the one we strive to deliver. We all really hope that you will be back with us for another stay some time. It was a pleasure being able to host you. Many thanks and...

East London, South Africa
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We have both roomed and camped at AWTF and I can honestly say every visit feels like coming home! Thank you so much Dan, Ben & Angie for making every stay so memorable! From the friendly staff and amazing views to the bonfire sessions and incredible hikes! The atmosphere is amazing! You make leaving to go home so hard! Keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debranette
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

HI Debbie, What a pleasure reading your super kind review. Perhaps it feels like home because you are part of the fairy family. Can't wait to be able to host you for your birthday weekend! Thank you so much for the review, Regards Ben

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 3, 2016

OK, I don't have to tell you what a special place this is. It seems most people know and have written lots of lovely comments ...........................all true!. Away with the fairies has one of the most beautiful locations that I have ever stayed...........no bull. However, the hosts, Ben and Angie really make this backpackers special with their attention and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Furbrain2015
Ben S, Manager at Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your great review, what a pleasure to read. We truly are fortunate to have the surroundings we do and are glad you enjoyed them. Please do choose us again on your next visit to Hogsback, you will be welcomed. Kind regards Ben

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (66)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
2.0 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Hogsback
30 reviews
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Away with the Fairies is a backpacker hostel with one of the best views in the country from our garden. We have all sorts of accommodation ranging from En-suites to Self Catering cottage, doubles, twins, dorms and camping. The hiking trails through Auckland Nature reserve start and finish in our back garden. On the hikes you can see ancient forests and endless waterfalls. Our atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, with nature and views what we are all about. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel

Address: Bag End, Ambleside Close, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Price Range: $17 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Away with the Fairies Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I camped this time Spot on!.”
 of 5 bubbles Furbrain2015, Dec 3, 2016 | Read review
“haven't seen a bad one...”
 of 5 bubbles Astridt_exp, Nov 17, 2016 | Read review
“view dorm is great”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“Bilbos has a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 657kylee, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
“If you want a little privacy choose an en suite room, 250 m away from the property.....”
 of 5 bubbles pasciPlettenbergBay, Jul 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question