We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hatton Court Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,112: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have worked in this hotel some years ago from 1989-1993 and worked under the general manager Mr Andrew Vincent Moore this man taught me all I needed to know he had an eye for detail and nothing was out of place, all staff in uniforms not like todays staffing at the hotel. Nice to see it is still in... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahh1004
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
471 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Came here for one night. The building is lovely, rooms were OK but bathroom whilst clean needed a bit of renovation. You also needed to be a contortionist to use the shower but that could just be because we are tall! Bed was comfortable and it was quiet. Breakfast was OK but nothing special, would not rush back.

Helpful?
Thank JWMW101
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently visited this Hotel which I would not consider 4* although the building & setting was beautiful as a plus point all the staff were very pleasant & friendly. Very disapponted with the overall experience, it seems that the little extras that make up a 4* experience were totally missing. The bed was so soft that I could not turn... More 

Helpful?
Thank CAP51_11
Laszlo B, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CAP51_11, Thank you for taking the time writing a review. I am sorry to hear about your experience wasn`t up to your expectations. Regarding your comments, the operational issues will be reviewed and I thank you for pointing out our shortcomings. As for the bed, unfortunately, it is a personal preference, some of our regulars return to us only... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights here in room 25 as part of an event taking place. We arrived to find our room was spacious with a super kingsize bed and jacuzzi bath. It turns out the bed was actually 2 singles pushed together. Although the hotel is very nice there was an unpleasant 'eggy' odour throughout the main corridor and in... More 

Helpful?
Thank senorblanco76
Laszlo B, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear senorblanco76, Thank you for taking the time writing a review of us! While I am happy that you found the hotel nice, I am disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay thoroughly. First of all, the eggy odour, I am not sure what could that be, but I assure you, nothing related to any drink and/or food we... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although the building is impressive it is over priced. Our room 37 was spacious and very clean with a lovely deep corner bath ( but this needs resurfacing, it is badly marked). Our waiter for dinner was attentive with a sense of humour but the Irish waitress at breakfast was obviously not having a good day. Food was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Violet250951
Laszlo B, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Violet250951 Thank you for taking the time writing a review of us! I am glad that you have liked the bedroom, and thank you for the comment about the bath, will be taken into consideration! I am sorry about the bad experience, you`ve had in the dining room, however, I don`t know if you have brought your disappointment to... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel looks super nice from the outside and feels really homey. We've stayed one night and had Dinner and Breakfast which were alright and tasty even though the supposed Mushroom Risotto was more a mac and cheese Rice aside that though the Food was nice. The room was spacious and had an amazingly big bathtub though the cleaniness could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Z9122RRcindy
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did not come here for some of the so called "attractions" it claimed on its website. Our packaged tour organised this one-night stay. The location and the exterior did give the place some sort of "special quaint" feel about it. When our tour bus arrived, there was some function going on in the back main garden. And 8-10 year... More 

Helpful?
Thank Qisiang R
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the hotel's website I was expecting a luxury hotel with a restaurant offering fine dining; the reality was something less than that. First the good bits. The location is excellent, the hotel looks impressive from the outside, our room was large & clean, service was attentive & efficient & we had a good two nights' sleep. So, why the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is really good. Fantastic view& location I went wrong location first. but good condition and smile. I can't forget this accomodation. Tara restaurant was good. I recommand pasta. good serve and delicious. I really want go footpathway, but so far, almost about 2hours. I expect next time.

Helpful?
Thank 419mirik
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely traditional hotel with great views over the Severn valley and peaceful surroundings. Stayed for one night as a small family group to celebrate my mother's 100th birthday. Couldn't fault the personal service of all the staff who were both professional and very friendly. The time spent in the bar and restaurant was very relaxed and the presentation and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nick D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

414 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (230)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (25)
Viewed
Executive Room, Main House (27)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Double Room, East Wing (22)
Viewed
Superior Room, East Wing (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#1 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 21 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $90 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay