We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hatton Court Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,195: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed here a few times now and every time I come back they give me a better room! I have stayed in the executive rooms several times and considering breakfast is included in the price, this hotel is a real bargain. It's a charming place and if you are in a room at the front of the old building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were given a treat away as a present at this hotel. We had a lovely experience with a great room and an excellent breakfast each day. The location was good and close enough to make a visit to Gloucester quays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ajghutch
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful, Cotswold hotel. Our room was lovely with a comfortable king size bed and whirlpool bath. Dinner in the Tara restaurant was delicious and the restaurant had a warm, cosy ambiance. Good choice at breakfast too with prompt, friendly staff. If I had anything negative to say, it would be that there was a slight lack of staff around during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked directly with the hotel in January for dinner, bed and breakfast on Valentine's day.. At the time, reception didn't know what form their Valentine's celebrations would take but we had been before and knew they always put on a special meal. Our executive room, in the main building, was recently refurbished and very comfortable with good views towards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMW222
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room we had at Hatton Court Hotel was very nice. Comfortable and with clean en-suite. Staff at booking stage and checking in stage were polite and helpful. Hotel bar disappointing. Nobody on bar - we had to go and fetch someone more than once.No draught ales or lager only bottles and cans available. Wine of choice also unavailable. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
Laszlo B, Front Office Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy T, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am happy to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay; your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and the helpfulness of the reception team have been passed to the hard working team. In regards to the bar I apologise that you had to ask for...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've just returned from from a dinner, bed and breakfast stay at this hotel and had a really lovey weekend. Deal booked through late rooms was a great price that the hotel couldn't beat. Hotel was easy to find and looked impressive as you pulled up. We took our dog with us and he received so much fuss and attention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
Laszlo B, Front Office Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carla R, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience, I am delighted that you had a lovely stay and of course the dog too! I have passed your comments to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. Kind Regards Clare Steward

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in a superior room, wouldn't like to see a regular room. The room was in need of a total refurbishment and the bathroom was awful. Towels had holes in, the taps didn't work properly, shower looked so awful we didn't use it. I have visited this hotel for many years, used to come here when it was The Tara,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcolajazz
Laszlo B, Front Office Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcolajazz, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. I am sorry to read that you experienced issues with the taps and felt that you couldn't use the shower. If myself or the team had been made aware of an alternative room could...

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Treated ourselves to an overnighter for our 20th wedding anniversary. Booked and paid for in advance last October on a promotional offer. Most attractive hotel, easy to drive to. Lovely, clean room and bathroom was one of the best. Couple of thoughtful touches, ie; fresh milk in fridge, complimentary bottled water offered in restaurant with dinner. Hotel staff most friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crazystarkey38
Laszlo B, Front Office Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear crazystarkey38, Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you choose to stay with us to mark your 20th Anniversary and I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. I have passed your comments to the hardworking team and I will address the lack of bar staff. I do hope you will...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff great just too few of them Room partly upgraded ,improvement since last visit but Bathroom still a way to go Food good Wine oh dear! their wine merchant is having a laffff🤠and the the management has made it worse with their pricing policy 🤑

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SuperMacD
Laszlo B, Front Office Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SuperMacD, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay which was a mixed experience. The rooms are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which includes the upgrade of bathrooms. I am glad that you enjoyed the food served. In regards to the wine, our prices are inline with the product and the quality of product. The wine list consists of over...

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is just a short drive from Gloucester town centre. It is located on a quiet country lane surrounded by fields. We stayed here for two nights B&B through Virgin experiences. The hotel is exceptionally friendly and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The executive double room was spacious and comfortable with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Laszlo B, Front Office Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan S Many thanks for for you kind review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your kind comments to the team regarding their friendliness and willingness to ensure that guests are relaxed and enjoying their stay. The bathroom is in need of refurbishment and we are currently in the second phase of...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

430 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (25)
Viewed
Executive Room, Main House (27)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Double Room, East Wing (22)
Viewed
Superior Room, East Wing (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
728 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
618 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
330 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $86 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try and get in the old building...”
 of 5 bubbles P8519GNtomr, 2 days ago | Read review
“Larger rooms have jacuzzi bath”
 of 5 bubbles _ajghutch, 3 days ago | Read review
“The refurbished rooms are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles RMW222, 5 days ago | Read review
“Room 11 was ideal - countryside view”
 of 5 bubbles crazystarkey38, 1 week ago | Read review
“The annex we stayed in was quiet as it overlooks the fields”
 of 5 bubbles AlanS693, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question