We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bird Sanctuary, Weerawila Estate Weerawila Estate, Weerawila Bird Sanctuary, Weerawila 82632 Sri Lanka
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Combination offer at our properties
No prepayment needed
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (278)
Room & Suite (57)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#1 of 2 hotels in Weerawila
Travelers' Choice
Nestled amidst a bird sanctuary by the tranquil Weerawila lake, our luxury tented lodges offer a legacy of rejuvenation. Enjoy the delectable organic cuisine sourced from local communities, while being part of our eco-friendly glamping escapade conserving mother earth. Whether it's a naturalist guided bird watching nature trail, a cycle tour to enjoy a farmer's lunch, Sri Lankan cookery class with our head chef, a relaxing massage at the Spa, or a fresh-water fishing excursion , Our in-house naturalists and team of hospitality professionals will ensure our discerning guests a truly unique 'glamping' experience while rejuvenating in the fine comforts of a Luxury Boutique hotel. Strategically located in close proximity to all the national parks in the deep south of Sri Lanka including, Yala, Uda Walawe, Bundala and Lunugmwehera, Flameback is the perfect epitome of five-star luxury combined with the delectable space of perpetual privacy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Photo copier / fax In business center
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Extra long beds
Room service
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
Hotel links
Special Offer:Combination offer at our properties
165Reviews0Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 149
  • 12
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alexandra H wrote a review Mar 17
Paris, France128 contributions133 helpful votes
We stayed here 3 nights. There are positive points here, but the negative aspects probably won’t be unique to us. The property is owned by the same owners as the Peacock Beach Hotel. The feeling is very much “set it and forget it”, using the “eco” as more gimmick than ethos to lure in tourist dollars (plenty here that is not “eco”). The positives: set on a stunning lake, looking out across the water to the mountains in the distance, the sounds of the birds and the wind in the trees is sublime. The pool is great. The tents are nice, with some issues. People have mentioned noise from the road but we didn’t find it objectionable. Most of the staff is charming, kind and concerned about the experience. We did 2 safaris, organised with Flamingo, both excellent. The Sri Lankan curry is fantastic, but the breakfast is forgettable, many other menu options unavailable. Overall the property feels a bit neglected. The tent is quite small (queen beds not king), cramped and over stuffed with furniture. The electrical outlets on pillars don’t function. One design flaw is the air con box, much too big for the space, is set right next to the bed with bright operating lights, it’s nearly impossible to sleep comfortably with it on or off. The floor fan doesn’t combat the humidity. Housekeeping was uneven and incomplete. There are plumbing and other sanitary issues. An item of value disappeared from our room. The massage was inappropriate in several ways, but one is not allowed to go into detail here. An adjacent brand name hotel creates noise long into the night. We were informed by a formal card that there would be a “community event” that would impact our sleep. The Hilton event in question was loud partying and karaoke until 4am. The permanent nature of the card indicates that this a regular occurrence. I asked how often this happened was told “once a year”, but the name on the card was that of the previous manager who left ages ago, probably after reading the writing on the wall. Insult to injury was the work that began at 6am with staff shovelling gravel into a wheelbarrow outside the tent right at our heads. All in all poor value for the money. Sadly, we left feeling exhausted, but we sympathize with the kind staff, as they really are making do with a problematic situation mostly beyond their control.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Response from Dulani GURUGE, Owner at Flameback Eco Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Thank you for choosing to stay with us . As a responsible tourism establishment having successfully operated to ensure customer service excellence and feedback for over five years , having gone through your review , it’s quite surprising to note some of the points you have mentioned which we wish to correct . We do understand your experience and the subsequent feedback has resulted from the community event that took place on one of the days during your event. Hence, as guest feedback and reviews are of utmost important we wish to to correct the points you have mentioned 1. The event you have mentioned , is indeed a community event in a nearby town which was organized for the community of the Weerailwa and Tissamaharama area which may take place. once or twice a month as the most . As with many other areas in Sri Lanka , these are organized With the consent of the local council and we as a private entity need to respect the rights of the locals too to enjoy these activities. We wish to stress that this event and sound did not come from Hilton as their banquet hall is sound proof and enclosed and we have never had complains from our guests with regard to the same . Also the event ended at 11 pm not 4 am as you have mentioned 2. The Management of the hotel are hotel professionals with over 2 decades of experience in the hotel industry and our operations team comprise of equally experienced and professional staff who ensures to maintain the hotel with highest standards of facilities and service . We have continually operated the hotel retaining all our team even during the vivid pandemic and upgraded some of the facilities too to ensure the best service and facilities to the guests . This is very well reflected in all our other guest reviews and wish to correct your statement that the premises are neglected . Our tent is 470 square feet which is larger than most of the hotel rooms in Sri Lanka and all our levee have 72 x 78 inches king size beds with 12 inch mattresses for the utmost comfort of our guests and not queen beds as you have mentioned 3. We are passionately engaged in promoting eco-tourism and conservation within our operations involving many eco - friendly practices and community collaboration in all our activities. Hence , we find it insulting that you have inappropriately mentioned that we use the term only as a marketing gimmick . If it was , given the lengthy review , you would have undoubtedly mentioned the non- Eco friendly practices of the hotel too Having said that , we do empathize with you for the inconvenience of the sound from the local community event on one of the days of your stay and hope we were able to make it up to you with the explanation and complimentary wine and accompaniments our Resident Manager offered to you and family . Once again, we wish to state that we provide the utmost service and care to all our guests and will continue to do so in times to come Best Rgds
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Voyageur12014 wrote a review Jul 2022
Paris, France38 contributions37 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was our first night in Sri Lanka after a long trip and it was extraordinary. We were warmly welcomed, the tent is beautifully located in front of the lake. It is furnished with style, is very clean and most of all comfortable. The diner was also a wonderful experience, not only all dishes were very tasty (excellent barracuda fish !) but they were decorated with style. Congratulations to the chef ! To wake up with the song of the birds was very nice and the breakfast in the middle of nature was excellent and relaxing. Thank you very much to the manager and the whole team who made our stay so unique, particularly when the country is facing a severe crisis. It was a pity to stay for one night only because there is much to do at the hotel and in the surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Taher J wrote a review Mar 10
2 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I booked Flameback on a whim, without any great expectations. Suffice to say, it may be one of the best decisions we’ve ever taken. The main reason for this is the service provided by the Assistant Manager, Mr Sampath. He made us feel as though we were close friends visiting him after many years, and not simply guests at a hotel. No request was too great, from specially requested dining, to excursions, to us having an authentic experience of the local culture (curd making with Farmer Thushara, and boating on Lake Weerawila). When I think back on this trip, I’ll mostly remember Sampath’s cheerful nature and beyond any expectation service. I must also mention that the General Manager Mr Waruna went the extra mile to ensure that we were comfortable and in want of nothing. The lodge itself somehow manages to minimally impact nature but is luxurious and supremely comfortable. Don’t be misled by the fact that you’re staying in a tent, its as luxurious as any 5-star hotel room. Situated just on the banks of Lake Weerawila it is as serene a place as you could imagine, with innumerable species of beautiful birds giving you company. It was often difficult to get out of the hammocks on the banks :) Dining consists of 5 course set menus that wouldn’t be out of place at any fine-dining restaurant anywhere in the world. There’s so many things to do from Safari in the national parks to bird watching to massages at the spa (which were given to us complimentary) that you’ll have enough options to choose from. Of course perhaps the best option is just lazing by the lake. Overall, perhaps the single best experience we’ve ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t be afraid to ask for whatever you want. They’re more than happy to oblige.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KatarinaVitt wrote a review Mar 10
3 contributions
Flameback touched our hearts. We werent prepared for what we found here - all was excellently organized and communicated, wonderful location by the lake and personnel who thought about every detail for us. The tent itself looked brand new, it was very comfortable and had a wonderful view. Breakfast and dinner were delicious, one of the best meals we tasted during 14 days of our travel. We didnt have a chance to enjoy a longer massage as we could stay only one night. The place itself is peacuful and everything is made to make guests feel relaxed and pampered. WIsh we could stay longer! Fully recommended. We are grateful to have experienced such an exceptional place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
aisha c wrote a review Mar 7
Colombo, Sri Lanka45 contributions46 helpful votes
We had a marvellous two nights glamping with our kids who are below 8 . The property is very thoughtfully designed to make your stay comfortable at utmost best which indulges your children’s well-being and safety as well. It’s perfect glamping for families with children As they could enjoy the nature worry free of the kids ,there activities such as a wonderful bird watching trail along with a ranger for details and guidance and can have a spectacular fishing sessions in the evening where the kids could do fishing and enjoy an adventurous moment within the premises. The kids do have a special certificates for their participations in the activities. The entire flame back team works tirelessly to give us the best of its services to make our stay a memorable one. Hats off for the chef and his team The dinner was a highlight and has the taste buds stunned with each dish.special meals catered for children to bring a big glee on the cheeks.breakfast has both options Sri Lankan cuisine and the English breakfast which were freshly made. Dinner is worth every penny. There is a outdoor pool and cozy deck to relax. Kudos to the entire flame black eco lodge team. Our special thanks to Mr Varun . Additionally there is a complimentary 10min foot massage and in house cocktail or a mocktail . Clean cozy room and beds. All amenities for the room is very well provided. We advice to have a good maintainer and a regular checking procedure to keep the good name of it for further by updating and refurbishing the tents and it’s amenities. We hope they keep it up forever and have bright future ahead. We enjoyed our stay and would love to return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
John A wrote a review Feb 2023
5 contributions
We were not sure what to expect never having stayed in a tent before, but we had one of the best experiences there. The tents are really well appointed and have every mod con you need. The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you, even getting up at 4.30am to bring us coffee and guide us to the gate to pick up our jeep. The food is sublime and we even had a cooking lesson from the chef, Sameera. Prashath is a great manager and Washantha couldn't have been more helpful. we even had a private bird watching tour, which was complimentary. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Suze wrote a review Jan 2023
9 contributions
From start to finish the guys at flameback embraced our experience , we were based here for Yala , and it was perfect -do not be put off by the 45 min drive to Yala it is worth it to get away from the larger hotel chains. During our stay we had a lovely time by the pool , so warm , and managed to fit in a local bird watching , fishing from the lakeside and a cookery lesson. The lodges are excellent comfortable and everything you need just like being in a hotel. The food was outstanding one of the other major highlights of Flameback along with the service . We highly recommend staying here , but book early to avoid disappointment as it is getting popular +++++
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Natasha F wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
A really beautiful place to stay, overlooking a lake where you can watch the birds, or the monkeys going for a swim, or even a buffalo taking a dip! The tented rooms are really comfortable, the pool is great and the setting for restaurant and spa, up in the tree tops, is really fantastic. The thing that made our stay truly special though was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for Sampath and his team, they were so incredibly friendly and helpful, and made us feel truly welcome. The food was delicious, with excellent vegetarian options. We had a great safari experience with the hotel’s friendly and knowledgeable guide, Chami, who took us to nearby Yala National park where we were lucky enough to see a leopard and her cub!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rupert K wrote a review Jan 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 memorable nights just before Christmas. The setting is incredible with the ‘tents’ opening out onto a beautiful lake (although hardly any mosquitoes). Tents does them a dis-service as it is high quality glamping with toilets and hot showers in each one, a super comfortable bed and fans and an A/C unit. The manager and all the staff could not have done any more to make our stay perfect. As well as a trip Yala, they arranged lots of activities - a local farm/village visit, breakfast curry cooking demonstration, some basic fishing on the edge of the lake which the kids (teenage) enjoyed and a bird watching walk with local expert. The infinity pool is lovely with monkeys and plenty of wildlife in the trees around. Food was incredibly high quality with a 5 course dinner both nights with the best puddings we had in Sri Lanka! All in all, a great place and a wonderful experience that the children loved and I couldn’t recommend more highly. Thank you to the Flameback team.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
nirangi wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
One of my most memorable stays in any place in Sri Lanka, though having a glamping like experience it is suitable for all types of stays and people. My most memorable parts of this trip would be the hospitality of the staff along with the stunning food that was served, both sri Lankan and other international foods were a superb dining experience, definitely come again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: There are many diverse experiences for you to try so get as much done as possible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
$201 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceWeerawila
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FLAMEBACK ECO LODGE $196 ($̶3̶3̶4̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Weerawila, Sri Lanka

Frequently Asked Questions about Flameback Eco Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Flameback Eco Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tissa Wewa (3.4 miles), Tissa Dagoba (4.0 miles), and Bundala birds paradise (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Flameback Eco Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Flameback Eco Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a bidet, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Flameback Eco Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Flameback Eco Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Flameback Eco Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef Lady Restaurant, The flavors restaurant, and Smoky Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Flameback Eco Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Flameback Eco Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Flameback Eco Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Flameback Eco Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Flameback Eco Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Flameback Eco Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.