We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Retreat Port Stephens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Retreat Port Stephens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

There were 16 extended-family members for Friday & Saturday nights; mostly adults, with 2 six-year-olds & 1 infant. We rented the 2 duplexes, which have dormitory-style accommodation, 7 people in each large bedroom. These buildings were exactly the right fit for us. Plenty of space in living areas as well. Not impressively beautiful, but clean & serviceable. We'll go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank kym30
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay and the accommodation serviced your purposes. The Duplexes are set up for up to 32 guests so you would have had plenty of room with in the 2 buildings. We look forward to hosting you all again in 2017 More 

Lisarow, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Games room needs a lot of TLC, machines did not work. And management not interested to help when machines took the coins and didn't work. Room was great outdoor area good too. A friend hot water didn't work. Pool was great well kept and clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michellepersonal
TheRetreatPS, Owner at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you had problems with the games room machines these have been looked at and all are in working order. The caretakers can only assist so much when the machines do have a problem but your coin value should have been reimbursed to you. The games room itself is in great condition and we are always... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We had a great time, the kids loved sliding down the sand dunes on their boogie boards. The house was clean and nice, it had everything we needed. The pool was a little cold in April but well maintained.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T9372DSlouiseh
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

Sand dunes and kids are a match made in heaven and a great way to wear them out for a good nights sleep. So happy that your family enjoyed your stay and you were happy with your accommodation. April can start to be a little cool in the pool but that's just the change in the season unfortunately. Best pool... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Clean, comfortable accommodation in natural tree setting. Short drive to beach. Cabins were all appointed with plenty of bedding and utensils. Suggest asking for a cabin away from BBQ area as large group of families were there when we stayed and were playing noisy games after 10pm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki50192
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Vicki, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and accommodation. We have the cabins well stocked with all the cooking and eating utensils you require to enjoy a home cooked meal. Sorry other guests disturbed you in the BBQ area. We do try to keep the group together and individual bookings in the quieter cabins.... More 

Morisset, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Lovely staff, catered for all our needs, rooms were clean and catered for all our needs, close to Nelsons Bay, great family spot. Kids loved the sand dunes , games room and the pool. The local possums were a special treat for us all

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kvhillhouse
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

So happy to hear that you all had a great time at The Retreat. Perfect for families for the kids to enjoy all the facilities and run on the dunes out the back. Look forward to hosting you all again in the future More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights with 3 families in The Ranch. The Ranch was clean, comfortable, opposite the inground pool and a fabulous playground right next door. At night we sat outside under the verandah and watched possums jumping through the trees. The kitchen was well stocked and great appliances. Huge TV in the lounge room. I would highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank MerylVanPelt
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

The Ranch is a beautiful house located in the middle of the property and perfect for a couple of families to share with 3 bedrooms. Everything you need for a holiday and entertaining the whole family. Look forward to having you all stay again in the future More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Very clean & well maintained. Great for families especially with the BBQ areas which encourage fun & relaxation which can be had by all. The vista is peaceful & tranquil. Just a fantastic location for a getaway from the hassle of life

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SybilFawltyNSW
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We totally agree The Retreat is great for families and to make use of the BBQ areas and camp fires while here is a must. Truly unique property with privacy and peaceful surrounds perfect for families. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

The reasone we went ahead with this caravan park is because we wanted dog friendly facility. The spot where caravan park located it is beautiful and outdoor facilities are quiet good. But what can I say about accomodation. Well it is really really really poor and basic, I stayed in much better caravan parks. The dog house outside in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank aniastar2003
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

We are so sorry to read that you were not happy with the pet friendly cabin. We have had the maintenance person look at the yard in mention and this has since been fixed. We were not aware that there was a problem with the fence. At the time of stay if there are issues I would recommend advising properties... More 

Umina Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Perfect place for our end of season cricket trip. Have been coming to the retreat for many years and look forward to many more. Right near the beach, dunes, tavern and not far from some great golf courses. Service is super friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank frendy_27
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

Yes we agree perfect place for groups to come together and enjoy a big house together. We look forward to hosting you all again for many years to come. More 

Birmingham Gardens
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016

We stayed at The Retreat for a wedding weekend. The staff were very nice and understanding. The rooms were comfortable and the recreation room was just what we needed. The staff were very accommodating of our needs and were able to make the whole weekend fantastic. It was a great stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nicolecH25TT
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this review

So glad you had a great time and enjoyed our property. Weddings are great here as they offer a very private and exclusive venue for a special celebration. We want to make sure that everyone has a great stay and enjoys the facilities that we offer. We hope to host you again in the future More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Bay
3.6 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort Salamander Bay
4.3 mi away
Anchorage Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens
#1 of 2 in Corlette
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 15 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Halifax Holiday Park
Halifax Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Fingal Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Active Holidays One Mile Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Retreat Port Stephens is set on 4 acres surrounded by natural bushland. Offering a very private and peaceful accommodation property for couples, families and groups.The Retreat is a very unique venue as we back directly onto the sand dunes with walking access over to the beach.Offering accommodation for Couples,families & Groups.Our beautiful Cabins and Bungalows are perfect for couples & families. For Groups & Schools The Lodge,Duplexes & Ranch are perfect. All of our buildings are self contained with full cooking facilities, bathrooms, lounge/dining areas, outdoor settings and use of all facilities.Onsite we have a games room for hours of entertainment, salt water swimming pool, covered BBQ area's with camp fires, kids play area, parking areas, sand board hire & tour bookings available at the office, and plenty of space for kids to ride their bikes and play ball games. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Retreat Port Stephens

Address: 4302 Nelson Bay Rd, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Anna Bay
Price Range: $87 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat Port Stephens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Retreat Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat Port Stephens Anna Bay, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay