We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Blvd. Costa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres, Costa Mujeres 77400 Mexico
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Expedia.com
Riu.com
Priceline
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Algotels
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4154)
Pool & Beach (1296)
Videos (1)

About

#12 of 14 hotels in Playa Mujeres
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
Newly opened in December 2017, the 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Dunamar opens all year round and is located on the beachfront of Costa Mujeres. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancun International Airport CUN (35km), Cancun (18km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 740 comfortably furnished rooms and offers modern amenities. Relax in the spa area or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools. RiuLand Kids Club (age 4-7 & 8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment, as well as our discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Italian, Asian specialty restaurants, Gourmet restaurant and Steakhouse, 6 bars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Water park
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
2925Reviews1143Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,433
  • 828
  • 365
  • 166
  • 133
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Getaway451459 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Came down with a group of around 20 adults and children. The resort had something for everyone. Kids enjoyed the Waterpark and pools. While us adults enjoyed hanging at the tequila pool bar. Modesto, Renee and Manuel were awesome! Highly recommend spending your time there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Domenic L wrote a review Sep 2021
Montreal, Canada43 contributions27 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Currently at the RIU Dunamr for 1 week, amazing resort. The beach is beautiful, lots of available chairs , however needs more trees or shade, can get very hot quickly. The food is great no complains, lots of variety at the buffet, ate at the Italian and Asian restaurants and all was good as well. Spent most of the early morning at the beach followed by the afternoon by the adult pool called Tequila. Drinks were great at the pool, restaurant and bars. Bar service is available on the beach and by the poolside, don’t forget to tip, these folks work hard. Stayed at the oceanfront suite facing the Tequila bar and well worth the upgrade. The rooms were super clean, modern and very spacious, the balcony was massive. Don’t believe the negative reviews, some people are just never happy. My only suggestion to management would be to offer better food at the sports bars once everything is closed such as hot pizza, chicken wings or even grilled burger none of this stuff that is prepared in advance and reheated in the microwave, just not good. Overall I would recommend this resorts to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation . Note the resort offer free antigen testing however PCR is available at a charge of 2650 Mexican pesos
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
14 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Shane S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Modesto, Rene, and Manuel were amazing bartenders at the Tequila swim bar!! Highly recommend that you spend your time there. They take care of you with an awesome attitude and amazing service!! Our party of 22 was a mix of adults and kids and they did an awesome job accommodating all of us all week!! Great job guys!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Shanes2522, Thank you so much for your nice words and for the fantastic rating! We are most pleased that you had a great vacation with us! We look forward to welcoming you back. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris S wrote a review Nov 2022
Calgary, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
I know hotel/resort reviews can be all over the board, based on a lot of factors, so I want to give a coles notes quick review. We travel 4 times a year to various resorts, cruises, and airbnbs. We've been to the highest and lowest end resorts. You do get what you pay for. I hope this helps. Pros. Value... we have stayed at Riu resorts 10 times. The price easily brings us back. That's not to say you get the best for what you pay. It's you get a lot and great vacation for the value. Service... we have always gotten good service at the Riu's. Again the not the best, but consistently good and there is usually 1 or 2 people who either go beyond what they have to or someone, when asked, will do whatever they can to help you, if there is a need or problem. Which we had Gabby at the front desk at Riu Dunamar this trip. Big thanks to Gabby. Cleanliness... cleaners do a great job and especially the room attendants, who after all are taking personal care of your space. I highly suggest that you leave something and maybe just a little more for whomever is attending to your room. Everyone at the resorts work hard, but the room attendants do work in your personal space. Location.... Riu Dunamar is further out from Cancun, which as long as you know this, should be fine. If you expect to go to Cancun city proper or the zone hotel, expect to pay. Excursions will take a greater amount of time for travel, as most are South of Cancun in the Riviera Maya or head start from Cancun zone hotel. Keep this in mind. Hotel is located on a very nice white sandy beach, lots of natural veg to keep sand from eroding, smart and eco friendly. Palm trees aren't matured enough to provide huge amounts of shade, but there is some and they will get there. Cons.... now this is where it gets tricky and if you are experiencing Riu for the first time, pay attention. If you have been before, you'll agree. Rooms.... they are very basic. Have what you need. No water closest. Doors slam and echoey. Small drawers for clothes. Sleep quality.... Riu beds aren't great, but pillows are the worst. After 3-4 nights things start to hurt. They could do a lot better on this area. There is more that could be said, but I want to keep it short. Everyone gets something different out of a vacation and so many factors, expectations being the most difficult to meet. So when booking this hotel look at the pros and cons. Know that you get what you pay for, what you put into a vacation and your personal expectations
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Chris Schaffer, Thank you very much for leaving your valuable feedback. Your positive remarks are very welcome, since our staff do their best to make our guests’ stay as pleasant as possible. Nonetheless, we are taking note of the areas you mention need arrangements and the information is going to be forward to the departments in charge. Wishing to host you again. Loving Greetings, Chris, Hotel RIU Dunamar Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JAMES D wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
As with all the Riu hotels we have visited Riu Dunamar was great. The hotel and grounds are beautifully kept. All of the staff are wonderful and although it doesn't seem fair to single anyone out ,I have to give a special mention to Edith in the El Jardin bar, such a pleasant , attentive and hard working young lady with a ready smile that could charm the birds from the trees . Also Eva and Roscio in the buffet restraunt lovely lovely girls , always ready to find you a table and attend to your every need, however busy they were . They are like two tornados whizzing around the tables don't know how they keep up the pace they work at . I'm sure they must do a marathon every day and even find time to take an interest in everyone as they serve . The food is really good in the buffet and a la cartes, one slight citisism the rib eye in the buffet was actuall better than in the steak restraunt, which hasn't been thecase previously. The rooms are comfotable and cleaned every day, monibar and optics in room are all included. Drinks in all the bars are good quality international brands and whatever strength you want them to be. Service for drink on the beach and around the pools even if your only a few steps from the bar. Riu Dunamsr does seem to attract a great proportion of Mexican guests which means that there is quite a lot of entertainment geared towards them, which is fair. There is still some international entertainment but not as much as other Riu's we have been to, NOT A CRITISISM , we have already booked our next holiday at a Riu Hotel in Mexico. Riu Dunamar is a little isolated so if you like to go out for a wonder around you won't find anything close by. All in another grest holifay with Riu and looking forward to the next one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JAMES D, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review. We are very happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and memorable experience. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to our area. Best Regards, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Manager wrote a review Nov 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
Could not fault the hotel, the gym is great, the pools are amazing and the Pool Bars (Tequila & Mezcal) are great - massive drink selection and the team are incredible! The rooms are great, very clean and housekeeping work to a really high standard! The food, buffet and restaurants are all great - lots of choices, fresh and healthy Staff to note who are elite - Willie (Whilbur) at the Tequila Bar, Angel & Alejandro are great - I've read reviews on here saying unless you're Mexican etc etc then you won't get served... that's rubbish - the guys are great Getting out the Hotel - Taxis are overpriced $33 dollars one way is a piss take for a 20 minute journey Also, the hotel shop is a CON - $5 for a lighter, $13 for Cigarettes, $6 for Crisps etc Stock up on what you want/need before you go One thing to note, the Beach - it is covered in Human Poo, people say 'Manatee' if you ask them... that's not true, manatees reside in calm waters, not that coast line. The problem is the Island which you can see off the beach and maybe the hotels having to dump the waste in the ocean. We walked the length of the beach and it is covered in sh*t all the way down.. there's either 1000's of Manatees with bad bowels all the way down the coast or its really just human, stay off the beach
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MVP_UR_FACE, First and foremost, CONGRATULATIONS on your nuptials. We wish you many happy years of love and great memories ❤ Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of this very important one, and your words about our hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the comfortable accommodations, good food, and friendly service. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear about the condition of the beach. Even though it is a public beach, whose cleaning is done by the government, our management allocates staff when occupancy allows in order to help with the cleaning as much as we can. This wildlife phenomenon is very known by the locals as it happens sporadically. It is indeed the case that the excrement comes from the manatees, and we are very surprised by your comment because our entire area is part of the Mexican habitat of this sea animals. Chetumal Bay, which is only 80km from our hotel, is one of the most important points for Mexico. Manatees are a migratory species so their habitat extends as far as Florida, United States or the Southwest of our neighboring Cuba. It is also important to clarify that manatees do not reside only in calm water. They can be found in also in saltwater bays, canals and yes, also in coastal areas - particularly where seagrass meadows or freshwater vegetation proliferate which is the case of our area. Please do not t forget that Costa Mujeres is located on a peninsula in the northern part of Cancun that forms a large barrier so that between the mainland and Costa Mujeres there is not only a lot of seagrass but also very calm waters. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused and assure you that this is not always the case, so we hope you will give us another chance in the future. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard A wrote a review Nov 2022
Ontario, Canada2 contributions
Great location, beautiful beaches, pools and grounds. 5 restaurants and 6 swimming pools to meet your wildest dreams. Courteous and helpful staff. Choose a different restaurant every evening or eat in the main buffet restaurant. Something for everyone!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Richarda, We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay so much! We strive for excellence, so we are pleased to read you acknowledged beautiful staff! Thank you very much. Kindest Regards! Hotel RIU Dunamar Online Reputation Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis H wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Just got back and had a great time. This is a tough resort to review as it does many things very well and many things not so well. Let's just get to the basics, this is a low end party resort that was a lot of fun if you don't want fancy or classy. Rooms 3/10 (poor quality everything, many items broken.) Restaurants 4/10 (low quality, buffet style in most, cafeteria like) Pools 10/10 (family and adult pools were spectacular) Waterpark 10/10 (first class with easy access) Beach 10/10 (perfect Caribbean Beach, best in the world) Entertainment 6/10 (average resort entertainment. Mexico show was 10/10) Party Vibe 10/10 (all day party including a very busy nightclub) Staff 12/10 (everyone was terrific and full of energy) Some of the lows are; no food in the evening (cold burgers and dogs available to microwave in the Sports Bar), no Café (hard to get coffee as there is none in the room and almost impossible to find a coffee cup in the buffet), no room service, only one public bathroom in the evening available for entire resort, only one type of room available, no dress code at all (many men wore gym shorts and old t-shirts for dinner), the Steakhouse is just an extension of the buffet and very hard to get into. The positives are it's a lot of fun, just very low end, but if that's your vibe then great! We still had a great time due to the tremendous work of the staff, but I wouldn't personally go back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go early and line up for the Steakhouse. Upgrade to an ocean view room onsite.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dennishQ5924MT, Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us. First of all, we are glad you enjoyed the pool and the beach area, the waterpark and our staff members 'dedicated service, however, as it is one of our most important goals to give a great and memorable service to our guests, we are concerned to find that we may have missed out on some details and that you weren't fully satisfied with your recent experience. Rest assured; your observations have been forwarded to the responsible department for a proper follow up with the purpose of improving as we sincerely hope we have another chance to welcome you soon again. We wish you all the best, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark O wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
My wife and I stayed at Hotel RIU Dunamar in early November 2022 for my wife's 40th birthday. We used the free shuttle service to and from the airport in Cancun. The hotel is north of the city and it takes about 50 minutes in the shuttle to get there. However, once we got there we never left the resort. We stayed for four nights and the service was exceptional. We would go out to the beach everyday and lay in the sun or palm tree shade and our beach waiter Pinto took care of us every day. He was amazing and I can't say enough wonderful things about Pinto. He was always happy and courteous. He was genuinely a great person. I also want to give a shout out to Fernando and Hugo at the lobby bar. We would go there each night before and after dinner and they were hilarious and very accommodating. On my wife's birthday night Felipe made her a signature drink that he remembered her having the night before and put a decorative "40" in the drink and we didn't even ask for it. They were really great guys and made our trip fun. I also have to give our waiter at Kulinarium restaurant, Louis, a big shout out. When he found out it was my wife's birthday he brought her out a special cake with her name and birthday on it in icing and the entire place sang happy birthday to her. He really did an amazing job of making her feel special. We ate from the huge buffet for breakfast and lunch. There were so many different fresh dishes to try. We never got tired of the food, but we were only there 4 nights. The Kulinaroum Restaurant was delicious. We had the filet there and they cooked it perfect. Highly recommend it. Bamboo Restaurant was also very good. We ate at the steak house one night and weren't as impressed with it. I would personally skip the steakhouse again and go to Kulinarium or Bamboo again. The pool bars were great and all the different pools looked fun. We spent all our time at the beach which was a very close walk from our room. The water is beautiful and the resort was fantastic. I would highly recommend this resort to families and couples. The only blemish was furniture in the room looked worn and that might be a turn off to some, but not for us. We didn't spend much time in the room at all. All of the staff was super friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mark O, It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It was a pleasure hosting you and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope we see you soon again! All the best, Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Homestead cookhouse wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions
Good and bad.... The food was, not great in the buffet, both my husband and myself got sick for the whole week and still are. Sports bar food was a joke, I attached a photo of the veggie sandwich, no joke. Our room was, like a 2 star, sofa as seen in photo was awful.pools are not deep enough to swim, so it's that's your thing, like us, this hotel is not for you. The good, the staff are always busy cleaning, the grounds are immaculate and the beach is amazing
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sharon, Please accept our apologies. If you wish you can file a formal complaint at: complaints@riu.com Our After Customer Care will kindly assist you. Kindest Greetings, Hotel RIU Dunamar Online Reputation Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$226 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCosta MujeresPlaya Mujeres
NUMBER OF ROOMS
740
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RIU DUNAMAR $180 ($̶2̶9̶6̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Resort (All-Inclusive) Reviews - Playa Mujeres, Mexico

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Dunamar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Nearby attractions include Rafa Nadal Tennis Centre (2.5 miles) and Isla Blanca (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maria Dolores, Cenacolo Puerto Cancún, and Chic Cabaret & Restaurant Costa Mujeres.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Dunamar have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Dunamar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Dunamar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hacienda Mundaca (8.1 miles).