We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cape Otway Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cape Otway Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had previously visited cape otway cottages and stayed in one of the cottages which was amazing... but this time we decided to go all out with the dunes homestead and we could not have been happier! Whether you feel like chilling on the couch with the cosy fire watching the clouds roll over the landscape or enjoy a beer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zouwer
Bannockburn, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Dunes Homestead at Cape Otway Cottages. The house is perfect for a quiet weekend away and has everything you need for a relaxing do nothing holiday. Plenty of wildlife (koalas, eagles and wallabies) that visits the area around the house which was great. The access in from Great Ocean Road is the only... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PeterKatrina6269
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in The Dunes Homestead. The view was amazing, the coffee machine welcome and the koalas in the trees nearby a treat! Loved the isolation but also central to the Great Ocean Road attractions, the Cape Otway lighthouse and the Otway Fly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dani B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

Was great to get away for the weekend - cosy cottage, surrounded by nature. The wood fire kept us toasty as we sampled some local wine after our afternoon walk, exploring the beautiful scenery. Can't believe how many koalas we saw! Great place to just get away from it all!

Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie L
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

A little while ago we returned from a few relaxing days away in MoonLight Cottage. We loved the location and secluded feel of the property, which we found to be lovely, clean and equipped with all we required for our stay. Sharon the manager was lovely friendly and happy to offer assistance, including suggesting what we might like to see... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simone T
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Grass Trees Cottage has everything you need and even more! With my partner we decided to stay there for a longer weekend and couldn't decide better. Even though we don't own a dog, we were looking for a romantic getaway, far away from the city noise, in the heart of the nature but with enough comfort. Grass Trees fulfilled all... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanaRidill
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Moonrise cottage. From the moment we arrived we were surprised with how outdated the cottage was, old TV, worn furnishings etc. We settled in and started to prepare dinner to then find there was no gas, meaning no hot water either. Tried using the BBQ to cook, yep, that was out of gas too. Hungry and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anita500
Sharon C, Manager at Cape Otway Cottages, responded to this review

We do appreciate feedback on our accommodation and are very sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay. As a property manager it is very difficult to help assist guests and attempt improve their holiday experience when we are completely unaware they are not happy to begin with. It can be quite frustrating and disappointing not being told of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently stayed in the Grass Trees Cottage for 10 nights and it was fantastic. It was secluded and very private, there was no people knocking at 9am for house-keeping or noisy neighbours. My 2 dogs loved the property, the bush supplied great exercise for them and they didn't have to be on leash. They were also supplied with a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ice_storm49
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner and I have been looking everywhere for a private cottage with a spa and fire which is pet friendly. We were very excited to find Otway Cottages. However, I then sent two email enquiries and received no response. I called and spoke to Sharon who booked us in and requested I call back in a few days to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon5487
Sharon C, Manager at Cape Otway Cottages, responded to this review

We thank-you for your feedback, and I am sorry you have not been able to contact us. I actually have tried calling back the mobile number (left on voicemail) a couple of times, however when I call it tells me that "this phone is not currently accepting calls from this service". This means I cannot leave you a voice message,... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 with our 2 dogs. The accommadation is ok but very overpriced for what you get. If you want total seclusion then you have it. It was an effort though to get to the nearest beach ( 25 mins) drive at Johanna or Apollo Bay around (30 mins) drive for the dogs to play.There is plenty... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank steve m
Sharon C, Manager at Cape Otway Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Steve, We thank-you for your review and feedback. I am very sorry to hear you were not 100% with your stay in MoonRise Cottage. With regards to the location of our property it is quite clearly indicated on our website and in our email enquiry replies (with maps) where we are located as well as information on pet friendly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordern Vale
4.3 mi away
Great Ocean Walk Retreat
Great Ocean Walk Retreat
#2 of 2 in Glenaire
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shearwater Cottages
Shearwater Cottages
#3 of 5 in Cape Otway
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Boomerangs at Johanna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Otway Lightstation
Cape Otway Lightstation
#4 of 5 in Cape Otway
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
14.2 mi away
Southern Anchorage Retreat
Southern Anchorage Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wattle Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
9.0 mi away
Johanna River Farm and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cape Otway Cottages is located 30 minutes west of Apollo Bay and is set amongst 60 acres native Otway bushland. All accommodation is extremely private and secluded, being at least 3/400 metres apart from each other. All accommodation is fully self-contained featuring.... Corner Spa baths Large couches with Sofa bed, Flat-screen TV's (free-to-air satellite TV reception), DVD and iPod dock/Stereo King beds with all linen and towels supplied Fully self-contained kitchen with good sized Fridge/FreezerStove/Oven, Microwave & Breadmaker Wood Fires (wood supplied) Wide decks with Outdoor furniture and Gas BBQs Continental breakfast provisions for your first morning Selection of Twinings Teas, Plunger and Instant Coffee, Salt/Pepper, Sugar. Dogs are very welcome inside at Cape Otway Cottages and we provide a comfy doggie bed, towels to wipe muddy paws, bowls and treats on arrival. Our cottages have received the National "Five Paw Award" from 'Life. Be in it' for the best dog-friendly accommodation in Australia (as well as the Victorian Award), so you can be sure that four legged visitors are very welcome here indeed. With our cottages being on a fairly large acreage and set well apart from each other, dogs can really be dogs here - with a high degree of freedom to explore. All of our accommodation has very spacious decks for canines (and humans) to hang out on and a secure area for doggies if needed. MoonRise and GrassTrees Cottages have sheltered decks with stainless wiring and gates at the entrances, MoonLight Cottage has a protected doggie yard with a high fence and huge kennel which is accessed via a gate off the deck and The Dunes Homestead offers a gated carport area. Most doggies stick to their owners like glue so this may not be an issue for you, however if dogs are inclined to wander there is a safe outdoor area at each cottage, or of course inside the cottage with you. Then when you go out together for a walk, there is all the freedom in the world to go off-lead. Our Studio Cottages are private and designed for couples. MoonRise Cottage is in a beautiful eucalypt glade with some quite large trees and a magical native background surrounding the cottage. MoonLight Cottage has the most open view of our studios and is nestled into the stringy barks and grass trees with a fantastic vista out across the Otway Ranges. GrassTrees Cottage is set high up on a stringy bark rise with clumps of grasstrees as well as interesting gnarled looking eucalypts, placing the cottage in a very private enchanted forest setting. The Dunes Homestead is our premium accommodation option at Cape Otway Cottages and accommodates up to 8 guests. The Dunes is set at the very top of the property and offers unparalleled 180 degree views of the Otways and the Aire River valley. See wedge-tailed eagles hover outside the huge picture windows or relax on the deck and admire the sunset over the Aire River sand dunes. A secluded and sheltered courtyard features beautiful sandstone walls and a lovely cottage garden, whilst spacious decking spans the entire front of the house, with outdoor furniture to relax and admire the view. Secluded hilltop location, spectacular 180 degree Otway views Beautiful Grampians sandstone walls, fireplace and courtyard Soaring triangular ceiling, huge living space/picture windows Double-fronted fireplace, RC air-conditioning/heating Large semi-commercial kitchen with Miele dishwasher, commercial espresso machine, coolroom, freezer Master bedroom with King bed, open fireplace, large corner Spa, WIR and ensuite double shower Second bedroom has King bed or Twin share Fully self-contained Private Studio with King bed, Spa, Kitchen Total three King bedrooms, three bathrooms, two spas, two kitchens Also Queen sofa bed in Living area Flatscreen TV with full Foxtel TV and satellite Free-to-air TV ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Otway Cottages

Address: 615 Hordern Vale Rd, Hordern Vale, Victoria 3238, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hordern Vale
Price Range: $169 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Otway Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cape Otway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay