We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

786 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Club Punta Leona
See the most recent reviews
Showing 483: English reviews
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just spent the weekend here and it was a great experience, specially for the kids. This is a quite old hotel but very well taken care of. Rooms, if a bit on the small side, are comfortable, very clean and well maintained. Food was excellent, beach and pools are very good, the butterfly farm was a nice short attraction, everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank luiskv
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your excellent comments. We are very pleased that you liked our hotel, the food, the beach and all the amenities that we offer. In regards to the pillows, in your next visit just contact the front desk and we will gladly get you more...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Punta Leona Resort last week of July 2013 and after reading the reviews , I was kinda concerned. But, it surpassed my expectations. People are so kind and nice and friendly. Starting my entry to Costa Rica - I met a nice Taxi driver Lester. He gave me a very good deal to drive us to the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sulkatyagi
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it fills us with satisfaction to read your comments and know that you enjoyed your vacation in Costa Rica. We always look to please our guests so they can relax during their stay and explore the lush nature that surrounds us. We will forward your comments to our staff as it is important for them to know that...

New York City, New York
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Punta Leona and am not sure what the negative reviews are about. The room was clean and well looked after daily by housekeeping. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. There is alot to do and see without even leaving the grounds. I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HopeLoveTravel
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Punta Leona so you could form your own impression of our hotel. Unfortunately there are some malicious clients that write negative comments that do not show the reality of the hotel. Our goal is to provide the best service to our...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The ONLY positive experience was from the receptionist named "Karla', she was polite, informative and very helpful upon leaving the hotel. She should be promoted to Manager instead THE NIGHT MANAGER, named Jose C.He was totally rude, unapologetic and ignorant. His actions after I complained were of an aggressive jerk. I stayed at the Hotel and Club Punta Leona last...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JosephAlanL
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate when our customers take the time to write their comments, as long as these are written in a constructive and non-offensive way. We apologize for your wait to wait to eat at the Carabelas Restaurant but sometimes, due to high occupancy the wait time can be between 10 and 15 minutes which is normal in many...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed there just for one night; nice bedrooms, very comfortable, excellent food, beautiful beaches.. One thing we did not like that much, was the pool, it has a lot of “chemical disinfectants” we felt how it burned our skin a bit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leonardo0192
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are please to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that you like the room, the food and our white sand beach. We will consider your comments about the pool and we hope that you will visit us again.

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was such a unique place to visit. The staff gave expert care and were very attentive. The town of Jaco is fun to visit, but you really never need to leave the resort to find things to do. They have everything and can arrange everything. The only downside was the resstaurant. Poor quality food at a high price. Go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank size3wannabe
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind comments. It is a pleasure for us to know that our guests not only enjoyed the place but also the service we give. We are glad that you liked our rain forest and our beautiful white sand beach. We will take in consideration your constructive comments about the restaurant, we strive...

Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Average place. Buffett could be better. Service is great though. The cocktails at the bar are terrible. Make sure to ask for the premium liquor. Thank god it was a free night. LOL. Would not pay full price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philitico
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us, we are glad that you were satisfied with our service. We will pay close attention to the drinks that are sold at the bar so if any thing needs to be corrected we will do so. Regards

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was my first time in Costa Rica. The hotel was exactly how they described on their website. Beautiful forest vibe with lots of animals. The private beaches were beautiful and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was good considering it was buffet. It's definitely spread out (rooms/pool/beach) so if you don't have a car you...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kelz812
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the rooms, the surroundings and the beauty and tranquility of our beaches. As you mention our property is quite extensive and even though we offer the shuttle service is always better if the guest has their own...

Naples
Reviewed May 30, 2013

While I don't agree with any of the low reviews, I can see where they are coming from. This resort does have some points to keep in mind, so know what you're getting: *It's in the wilderness, and wildlife is going to be everywhere. Bring bug spray. *It's a longish drive from the resort entrance to the rooms - getting...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nate S
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments as they perfectly describe what a customer can expect when visiting our Hotel. Indeed we are not a luxury hotel but we are comfortable and clean property, with lush natural beauty where you can enjoy a typical breakfast, a guided hike, beautiful views, white sand beach and a variety of wildlife...

Reviewed May 29, 2013

The beaches are beautiful but they are public. We recieved a call "from the embassy" when we arrived to our room asking for my friends last four digits of her social and her dob. They said there were a lot of kidnappings happening recently and wanted to inform the americans. We believe it was the hotel staff calling since they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seriouzly
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review

Dear Guest Indeed the beaches in Costa Rica are all public but equally beautiful. Our hotel offers the advantage of providing a safe environment and we have a department responsible for the safety and security of our guests. We make sure that our customers can relax and enjoy our beaches without worries. Regarding the phone call you received, we are...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,504 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (851)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (189)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (301)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (605)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Arrecifes Pool (16)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (27)
Viewed
Leonamar Infinity Pool (12)
Viewed
One Bedroom Leonamar Apartment (91)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Selvamar Pool (21)
Viewed
Selvamar Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Selvamar Superior Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Arrecifes Apartment (75)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Chalet Apartment (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Leona
1.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
1,282 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#2 of 2 in Punta Leona
146 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca, Punta Leona 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Leona
Price Range: $106 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel & Club Punta Leona staff and other travelers.
69 questions
Ask a question
Phoenix
over a year ago

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel & Club Punta Leona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Selvamar rooms are the best.”
243WilliamS, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
“Some superior Selvamar rooms have porches. Other than that they don't appear much different from the standard rooms.”
  • Standard room
  • Through the room window
  • Sevlamar rooms
  • Selvamar
Shirazfan, Mar 14, 2017 | Read review
“Private villas on Calle Cuba”
ChulaJAR, Mar 8, 2017 | Read review
“I got a standard room this time - I recommend the premium rooms as they are nicer overall”
deborahhW465TE, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are clean & have refrigerators but no microwave/nor room to eat/The property has NO SMOKING policy signs everywhere.”
jamesbaldwin62, Jan 10, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question