We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Equator Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Equator Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went here for my 40th in 2010 and it was fantastic. It's a budget way of doing all inclusive to get to the Maldives. We joined together with many holiday makers and hires a boat for the day to go across to visit handifushi. Swam with dolphins, went diving and just really enjoyed everything the Maldives had to offer. Holiday... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madmoms2
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went back to Gan for the 3rd time. The Equator Village resort is going through an upgrade. This resort is ideal for snorkelling and cycling and walking so plenty to do do. We would recommend visitors read the welcome letter to get all relevant information. The lunch menu we have found to have been better than the evening dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome experience during my one day stay at Equator Village, GAN! Exceptional staff, marvelous food, clean premises; Yu name it, every good thing on earth is here! Chef Ali, Head waiter Qadir, Mohan & Nandana were great staff and core factors why someone need to visit this beautiful Centre of service. My room attendant was very innovative and I did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maamigili I
Male
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Equator Village is located in Gan Island, previously used as a military base by RAF. This is not the typical Maldivian resort but the well maintained rooms surrounded by gardens make it an ideal place for holiday. It have swimming pool and offers diving to some of the best diving spots. As the island is connected with neighbouring islands it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hidden Gem of the Maldives and best value for money. Unfortunately, for reasons I am not aware of, there appears to be very few UK travel agents offering this resort, it is widely advertised in Germany and Eastern Bloc countries. Why would anyone not want to tell the world about a treasure island which is largely undiscovered by the majority... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunrayx
Management response:

Dear Sunray, Thank you very much for your time, to review on Our property. You have visualized our property very well. We will be at WTM this year to promote Equator Village for English Market. I am sure many of British will be visiting us in the future. Your praising comments and loyalty will enhance the business in the future.... More 

Male
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2016

I stayed at Equator Village for two nights and had a great time. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful with any requests, such as arranging a snorkeling trip to a nearby lagoon. Along the way we saw so many dolphins! The rooms were spacious, clean and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The pool was beautiful and a great place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess W
Management response:

Dear Jess, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to serve you. Your Sincerely, Mohamed Waheed Resort Manager. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2016

We had 7 wonderful days and nights!!! The rooms are very clean. The garden is well maintained. You can eat or drink coconuts on the beach \try both\. There is a lonely beach outside the hotel. It's gorgeous. We saw a baby shark.

Helpful?
Thank Rositsa
Management response:

Dear Rosita, Lot of joys and happiness brought to us from your review and we are very happy that we had the chance to serve you. Thank you very much for reviewing on our property and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Your sincerely, Mohamed Waheed Resort Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

This was very nice place. During our stay of 2weeks, we really enjoyed and relaxed as well. Clean rooms ,friendly staff, delicious  meals, calm and quiet environment, many more excursions including snorkelling. My son very much  enjoyed snorkelling. I wish all the best for the manager and the staff. Keep it up!!!! :) -Dr.Nimali Wijayasinghe from Srilanka

Helpful?
3 Thank Nimali W
Management response:

Dear Dr. Nimali, Thank you for your time to write your review on Equator Village. We really appreciate your satisfaction about our room cleanliness, meal and other facilities. Specially thank you for your positive comments about our staff. We will try our best to keep it going and we love to welcome you again to our property. Your sincerely Mohamed... More 

Maldives
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Hotel buildings are old colonial style perhaps made by British people. My room was good - clean and had all basic amenities, I stayed in room # 162. Not sure if WiFi was available and unfortunately we were troubled a lot by mosquito. Spread of buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner were adequate but with very limited options. Best part of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Watizor
Management response:

Dear Valuable Guest, Greeting from Equator Village. Thank you very much for the time that you took to share your comments and ideas about our hotel. We ensure that we take your comments to enhance the standard and the service of the hotel in the future. We have already taken necessary steps to reduce the mosquito problem by increasing number... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I wanted to enjoy the beauty of the biggest city in Maldives, so on that we had options. We wanted to enjoy the city so we booked Equator village, this was our first trip to Equator village and we knew that it's wasn't going to be a five star resort service . We arrive 28th September 2016... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mentomahey
Management response:

Dear Valuable Guest. Thank you very much for taking time to review about our property. We value your comments and suggestion about our services. As per your comments about the swimming pool, and other services we have taken necessary action to improve the service. The question that you have asked from the Manager, was related to Maldivian law, and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

316 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (316)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (114)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gan Island
7.4 mi away
Canareef Resort Maldives
Canareef Resort Maldives
#1 of 1 in Herathera Island
221 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives
0.9 mi away
Equa Reef Maldives
Equa Reef Maldives
#2 of 4 in Hithadhoo Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aquaventure Manta Lodge
Aquaventure Manta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maradhoo Island
4 reviews
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Equator Village spa resort- the alluring tropical beauty of Addu Atoll. Nestled in one of the largest, most interestingly formed and historically rich atolls of Maldives, an exotic adventure begins the moment you start your journey from INIA to Gan International Airport. This is not your typical Maldivian resort; this is an equatorial escape into a land of culture and nature entwined together ... more   less 

Additional Information about Equator Village

Address: Gan Island
Location: Maldives > Addu Atoll > Gan Island
Price Range: $113 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Equator Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Equator Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equator Village Hotel Gan
Equator Village Seenu Atoll
Equator Village Maldives/Gan Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Equator Village staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Equator Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Budget to some but luxury to others. Food was lovely and staff very eager to please”
 of 5 bubbles Madmoms2, 3 days ago | Read review
“101 is near most amenities”
 of 5 bubbles StevenL552, 3 days ago | Read review
“All rooms are set in gardens but all within 50m of the sea some rooms are only 10m from the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles Sunrayx, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try to get room # 142 - this is nearest to sea.”
 of 5 bubbles Watizor, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Better choose rooms close to the beach side.”
 of 5 bubbles gtvvfr, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay