We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden Lodge Guest House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Garden Lodge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

The room we were allocated was not suitable for use by elderly and/or disabled persons. The reason being that the shower floor is so high we had to help each other to climb into the shower. There were no handles or any other thing in the shower to hold onto and the floor was very slippery. After the first night... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik A
EliseUitenhage, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Mr Aggenbag Thank you for your review and feedback. I do agree that when guests make a booking, you must make sure that what you book is suitable for you, especially if you do have special requirements, or disabilities. I would like to make it clear that we, under no circumstances advertise our establishment as a disable friendly... More 

Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I stay at The Garden Lodge when in Uitenage on business. It meets all of my needs for cleanliness, comfort, friendly service and value for money. I would not describe it as "luxurious" but it ticks all of my boxes and the plunge pool is a delight after working in Uitenhage's above average temperatures.

Helpful?
Thank P_C_1000000
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Elise and Lucrisha are two delightful ladies it was a pleasure to meet. An early misunderstanding on arrival was satisfactorily resolved and we had a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed and room. We talked with Elise well into the evening and with Lucrisha extensively(!)over breakfast which was filling and tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - who wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank David J
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a clean and secure place to stay in Uitenhage, at very affordable prices. The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and the room was neat clean and had all the luxuries of home. There was secure parking for my vehicle, and felt safe and secure in the area the Guest House is situated in. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Puntit
East London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The shower does not have the cap to control water. you must also make a big swimming pool so that when its summer and there are many people we can swim. The breakfast need to be improved as well i was not impressed with that there was no cereal at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thembinkosi M
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review of our property. All our rooms are fitted with water saving shower heads, as this is a major concern for us at The Garden Lodge, and this is our way to do our part in saving water in a country that water is a scares commodity. We serve a standard breakfast, and guests... More 

France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

What garden? Tired looking guest house in an industrial town. Minute. Swimming pool. The breakfast was the most meagre we were offered in South Africa. There was a lot of noise late in the evening. Wouldn' stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Crechat
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank the guest for the review and their point of view. All reviews are welcome and dealt with accordingly. It is just sad that the guest did not inform us of any problems or excess noise, as there is a telephone in all our rooms that you can contact reception 24 hours a day. If we... More 

Centurion
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There was broken things in the room like the toilet and the shower and when I complained about it the reception made it out as if I broke it. In general the service was bad and the room was terrible! A

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alrieke J
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Alrieke I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience when you stayed at our Guest House. I am however a very disappointed that you did not shared your dissatisfaction during your stay or upon departure. We would have gladly moved you to another room or booked you with another Guest House that... More 

Graaff-reinet, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Clean rooms, good value, will return. Looked for guesthouse in Uitenhage and found this one on internet. Sent email and received reply within few hours. Arranged via phone and found everything as arranged.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kruger L
East Londn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Garden Lodge guest house for business. The staff were friendly and organised and breakfast was served on time and was good value for money. I would recommend the Garden Lodge to professionals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Megan B
Garden H, Owner at The Garden Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Good day Megan Thank you for the time you took to write the review. It was a absolute pleasure to have you. We strife to provide our guests with the best possible stay, so that you can feel at home, and that you have received value for your money. We serve a standard breakfast with a standard price, but can... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice quiet & homely place away from the hustle/bustle of the big cities. The proximity to most points of interest such as the beaches, national parks and historical monuments is just a few minutes drive. We really enjoyed staying in this place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kyalo
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uitenhage
19.7 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
22.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
21.2 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#31 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dolphin Dance Lodge
Dolphin Dance Lodge
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Englander Guest House
The Englander Guest House
#4 of 13 in Uitenhage
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Lodge Guest House, B&B and self catering apartments, offer luxury guest rooms, each with their own entrance and bathrooms, two self -catering units that can sleep six, and comes fully equipped. All our units and rooms have Dstv channels, coffee and tea facilities, air -conditioning and a bar fridge. The premises offer under cover parking inside electric security gates, a pool and braai area. We are a short distance from the Addo Elephant Park and the Shamwari Game reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Garden Lodge Guest House

Address: 7 Rigg Street | Mosel, Uitenhage, Port Elizabeth 6229, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Uitenhage
Price Range: $40 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Garden Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay