We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jl. Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan 80362 Indonesia
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
getaroom.com
Expedia.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1758)
360
Panoramas (16)
Pool & Beach (429)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 33 in Ungasan
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Karma Kandara 5 Star resort villas epitomize Bali's exclusive private pool villa experience. Globally renowned as the place to be on 'Billionaire's Row', Luxury Karma Kandara Resort is an ideal destination for friends, family and incentive group gatherings. Discover captivating views, world-class dining and Karma Spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
Languages Spoken
Indonesian

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1996Reviews71Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,244
  • 454
  • 156
  • 72
  • 70
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chris Gan wrote a review May 2022
15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Stayed there for 2 days. Such a great beach. Exclusive area. Spa and lover bird jaccuzi offers such great view. Very friendly staff. The spa is soothing and not expensive. Food is tasty. Monkeys are there to add some nature delights.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Executive Secretary, Owner at Karma Kandara
Responded May 23, 2022
Dear Cganyh, Thank you for sharing your feedback here, and it was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the spa treatment and your dining experience with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon Best Regards, Shaun
Read more
The Bali Reviews wrote a review Mar 2022
Denpasar, Indonesia157 contributions7 helpful votes
Pro: Big parking space. Inclinator right down to the beach, one of the clean, and peaceful beaches in Bali. Crystal clear water, white sand. Lots of activities available as well. Food & beverage at top notch quality from a 5-star resort!! Beyond expectation staff’s hospitality and services. Worth the money! Not direct sunset but still beautiful skies during sunset. Con: Makes you wanna stay forever. Best for families! Check out our instagram @thebalireviews for more honest reviews!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Executive Secretary, Owner at Karma Kandara
Responded Mar 17, 2022
Dear The Bali R, Greetings from Karma Kandara, Thank you for sharing your great feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit, as guest satisfaction is at the heart of the Karma experience. Thank you again for choosing Karma Kandara as your holiday destination of choice in Bali, and we do look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable getaway shortly. Best Regards, Shaun
Read more
Puckhead wrote a review Nov 2021
Jakarta, Indonesia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Karma is an old establishment desperately clinging to its past glory and you can obviously see it from its old ways, furnitures and facilities. The beach is not private like they advertised. They keep selling it as "private" even though you can just walk there from other more reasonably-priced establishments on either sides. If they expect me to pay 5-star prices then I expect 5-star quality so these crap shouldn't have existed: 1. As mentioned above, the private beach is misleading. It is not private, people can just enter the Karma beach area from the sides. There were even people fishing. The corals on the sides that are supposed to block outsiders no longer exists like in the photos they used. I mean I'm fine as long as they don't keep using "private beach" on their ads. 2. Barely passable food on the beach. I had calamari for starters and they kinda smell, the flour was too salty, sauce was tasteless. I mean, who messes up calamari?? Even my kid can make one. Also, we're in Bali for crying out loud, how do you even get smelly seafood? Luckily we haven't ordered mains. It's not smelly as in rotten or gone bad, probably just bad prep but again, shouldn't exist on a 5-star establishment. 3. Upon checking in, we were told that if we are leaving our villas, we should always lock the doors and windows properly because apparently there are monkeys trying to steal your food. Try googling this information now and see if it's ever mentioned in any travel platforms. We didn't encounter any, fortunately. For those thinking "aww cute monkeys", well sure.. if they're well socialized but keep in mind these are wild jungle monkeys which isn't gonna make your holiday pretty when you get rabies, this is coming from a guy who climbs mountains every other month. Shouldn't exist on a 5-star resort. 4. Dirty pool when we arrived probably because it's surrounded by plants and bushes so there will be dirt or insects in the pool. 5. The elevator going down to the beach can only fit 5-6 guests. The problem is, you share it with people who only buys the beach pass. It's a 2-minute ride up, 2-minute ride down. But in my case there was a line of 30 people so you do the math. 6. Broken sink in our living room, very limited amenities like soap. Limited lights so it'll be very gloomy at night even at public areas. No sanitizers were provided as well. 7. Privacy issue. There is no lock on the villas front gate. When you call the staffs, they will come in directly to your room door instead of notifying their arrival at the gate. Still privacy issue. At our 2 bedroom villa, you can actually see other people's balconies from the 2nd floor. The only good thing was probably that they upgraded our 1 bedroom villa to 2 bedroom but we didn't need it since it's only my wife and I. When we're in Bali we're always trying unique places whether it's 5-star resorts or hotels to absolute beachfront villas (which I highly recommend instead of resorts) or even up in the mountain villas like Laputa Villa. But Karma? They need a serious restructuring and remodel. Spend your money elsewhere like St. Regis or newer resorts, there are plenty. Private beach? Get a luxurious villa at Nusa Lembongan and Nusa Penida. It is really a pity since Karma was a delightful experience back in my teenage days and I really wanted all aspects of Bali tourism to come alive again. And I'm a commercials producer, I've worked with brands like Unilever, Erafone, Tencent etc you name it for their ads so for this trip I brought all my gear to capture Bali after the pandemic especially its resorts and villas FOR FREE. Unfortunately, I won't be including Karma in my footage. Fellow travels can message me if you need suggestions for good places to stay whether you're looking for luxury or budget hotels. I've got plenty under my belt. To the Karma management: you have a wonderful space, a nice beach area and it's really a pity you can't seem to utilize it to the fullest. You need to realize it's time to evolve, it's not 2011 anymore. There's even no need to endorse celebrities, no need to give free stuff, no need for ad placements if you can get things right.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Executive Secretary, Owner at Karma Kandara
Responded Dec 12, 2021
Dear Puckhead10, We appreciate the time you spent documenting your feedback. We view every review as an opportunity to continue improving upon our commitment to providing every guest with the iconic Karma experience. We are very concerned about the list of your feedback concerning the properties and their facilities and your dining experience mentioned in your review. Please rest assured that I have shared your valuable feedback with the related department to address your complaints thoroughly. We do hope you’ll give us another opportunity to deliver some good karma during your next holiday. Best Regards, Shaun Dünhofen
Read more
CRH Vacation wrote a review Oct 2021
Bali, Indonesia94 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I've been to Karma Kandara for several times and no single experience fails me a bit. My latest stay was at 1-3th Oct 2021 at their suite, the lowest room category in the resort. But, the room itself meets my expectations. It was quite big with mini pantry, dining room and also living room in it. The resort has it's dedicated beach area called Karma Beach. You have to go down by their private elevator. It's kind of unique experience as you were given the lushly view of the ocean during going down to the beach where also happened to be breakfast area. You can also enjoy complimentary water sports with lifeguard to assist you. The cream on top is their infinity pool. With their famous "K" sign overlooking directly to the ocean makes you lost somewhere. The staff were nice, friendly, and helpful. If you keen staying at Karma for several times, kindly apply their Karma Club Membership to get discounted price and more other benefits!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Executive Secretary, Owner at Karma Kandara
Responded Dec 12, 2021
Dear CRHVacation, Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thought with us, and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit, as guest satisfaction is at the heart of the Karma experience. Thank you again for choosing Karma Kandara as your holiday destination of choice in Bali, and we do look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable getaway shortly. Best Regards, Shaun Dünhofen
Read more
John Doe wrote a review Sep 2021
5 contributions
I was stay 23-26 Sep 2021. All is well, until a waiter name Hendra and his friend, overtake the line of elevator from us to go up from the beach. Wr have waited first in the line. He make the excuses that he bring food. Its terrible to overtake the line from guests like that.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Karma Resorts, Other at Karma Kandara
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear IndoTraveler911, Thank you for bringing this up to our attention, we regret that you have an issue with our staff that obviously didn't meet your expectations, please accept our sincere apology. We wish we can serve you better in the future. Best Regards, Sebastien Marteau
Read more
Yudi Setiawan wrote a review Jun 2021
Bandung, Indonesia18 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I visited Karma Kandara many times either for bussiness or just hanging out with friends at the private beach. The reason why I keep coming back; the ambience, the vibe, and the view. The ambience was nice, the vibe was amazong and the view from Di Mare Restaurant? spectacular. The beach was clean, the bar also has some of the best food and bavarages. I enjoyed every single moment especially in KK. Visit Karma Kandara again? of course, yes.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Karma Resorts, Other at Karma Kandara
Responded Jun 6, 2021
Dear Yudiwirajuda, Thank you for the review. It's been a pleasure to welcome a loyal guest like you. We really appreciate your review here, and it's pleasing to know that the ambience and the view of the resort make you always keep come back home to Karma Kandara. We hope that we will see you again soon at the resort. Best regards, Sebastien Marteau
Read more
ferryal wrote a review Dec 2020
Jakarta, Indonesia2 contributions
This is my first visit to Karma Kandara and they have a wonderful private beach and very good accomodation and nice staff. We like the villa which is still surrounded with a lot of big tree and some times we can see a flock of Monkeys during morning and evening time. This very recommended place to be visited especially for family ,promise that We will return back next year 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room is spacious but bath room is still using paper toilet which not common for Indonesian persons.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Karma Resorts, Other at Karma Kandara
Responded Feb 28, 2021
Dear Ferryal2020, Greetings from Karma Kandara, Thank you for your great review, and we are pleased to know that you had a great time during your stay with us, and it was a great pleasure to have you in the resort. We hope that we will see you again in the near future. Best Regards, Sebastien Marteau
Read more
Josine T wrote a review Nov 2020
Geelong, Australia1585 contributions92 helpful votes
A nice place to visit for a day..... We sat on the beach chairs, walked on the beach, had some lunch at the restaurant on the beach and left. Very remote from everything else, but a beautiful resort. Just not for us
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Karma Resorts, Other at Karma Kandara
Responded Feb 28, 2021
Dear Josine T, Thank you for your recent visit, and pleased to know that you enjoyed the resort's beauty. Please let us know if there is anything that would fit your need. Hope to see you again and Best Regards, Sebastien Marteau
Read more
Rinda Ariyanti wrote a review Nov 2020
Malang, Indonesia52 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
I stayed there for three nights with my husband and two daughters. We had two bedrooms villa with private pool. And it was a great and memorable stay. The villa itself for me a bit outdated, but the facilities inside was perfect. Still spending the whole day inside was splendid, since it’s pandemic we don’t feel comfort to spend time outside, had no complaints at all. The only restaurant opened was by the beach. But it was very easy to order food online, and you’ll have all the cutleries you need in the villa. Even you can cook on your own there. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. And the view, it was magnificent. Will definitely come back here again soon. Already miss our family moments there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karma Resorts, Other at Karma Kandara
Responded Feb 28, 2021
Dear Rindaariyanti, Greetings from Karma Kandara, It was a great pleasure to have you in the resort recently and we appreciate your beautiful review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Sebastien Marteau
Read more
Helen Lei wrote a review May 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent part of our honeymoon here and had the Two Bedroom Pool Villa, and were so blessed to have met Anggara who was our personal concierge who was so kind and so wonderful from our first day there. Anggara thank you for everything and for making our stay so memorable you are a professional and we are so thankful to have met you! The villa was so gorgeous, spacious and private, loved our private pool. The views from this resort are breathtaking, we loved our breakfasts overlooking the sea at di Mare Restaurant and sunset dinners served on the beach at the resorts' private beach. Such a beautiful experience and would definitely come back again for another holiday. Thank you Karma Kandara for your hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The villas are gorgeous, if you're willing to spend a bit more I would definitely recommend...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Karma Resorts, Other at Karma Kandara
Responded Feb 28, 2021
Dear Helenleimuna, Good Afternoon from Karma Kandara, It was a great pleasure we could have you in the resort for your special moment. We are more than happy to know that you had a wonderful honeymoon with us. And it was great to know that our team was able to make your stay memorable. I will forward your feedback to Anggara directly, as this is very important to us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back shortly. Best Regards, Sebastien Marteau
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$220 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
karma kandara hotel ungasan, karma kandara hotel denpasar, karma kandara denpasar
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliBukit PeninsulaUngasan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Karma Kandara
Which popular attractions are close to Karma Kandara?
Nearby attractions include Melasti Beach (0.6 miles) and Karma Beach (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Karma Kandara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Karma Kandara?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Karma Kandara?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Karma Kandara?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Karma Kandara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cattamaran Beach Club, Ju-Ma-Na, and Sundays Beach Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Karma Kandara?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Karma Kandara have airport transportation?
Yes, Karma Kandara offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Karma Kandara located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Ungasan.
Are any cleaning services offered at Karma Kandara?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Karma Kandara offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.