We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clun
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went here for a meal as staying up the road and this is how a good pub should be! A mix of locals and holiday makers made a lively atmosphere and a micro brewery in the back added to the experience. Our meals were well cooked and properly presented and served with reasonable sized portions. The landlord was on hand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights having chosen Clun as a good base for visiting castles, National Trust properties, etc. We were able to park right outside the pub every day, the room was spotlessly clean and although the pub is open until quite late, we didn't need to use the ear plugs thoughtfully provided for us (we stayed in... More 

Helpful?
Thank rolych
hereford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Booked solo, but was given a massive room, very nice indeed, shower very adequate, and lots of coffee supplied. TV couldn't get a reception, but ended up being a good thing really. Excellent local produce breakfast and very good evening meal too. Was able to put everything on a tab for the whole weekend which was perfect. Really friendly staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank whitecrossbull72
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We have stayed here for several years now, the rooms are OK, repairs from one year to the next aren’t always done, but the beds are clean and breakfast is good and the staff are very friendly. The gaffer however is very temperamental, he can be as nice and anything one minute, and then yelling at you to get to... More 

Helpful?
Thank deewestmids2016
JackLimond, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I appreciate your review, I am sorry that you find me temperamental. It is not a feature that is outstanding on the other reviews on this site and nothing you have commented upon before in the years you have been coming. I believe that you stayed over the Green Man weekend when the pub is under great pressure... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Travelled solo for some walking in the local hills. Check-in was faultless, the room well prepared and comfortable and the bar meal enormous, well cooked and well served. An unexpected bonus was that, having travelled a long distance and being a naturally early riser, I didn't want to waste walking time by waiting until breakfast was served. The check-in gentleman... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveller1648
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Let me tell you that, in all my years travelling, I have rarely come across a place as welcoming as the White Horse. Jack and his team, along with his regular bar customers, made me feel welcome the moment I walked through the door. The room I had was at the front of the building, over the bar, but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim T
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

This is a charming hostelry around which the village clings. Clun was strategically critical during the Anglo/Welsh altercations of years gone by. The White Horse now carries the responsibility for being a destination pub to attract and accommodate worldwide visitors to Clun. The menu is great and you feel like you are part of a family affair under the fatherly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woodyomb
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2016 via mobile

visited overnight in Nov with our dog. fantastic location. great food and ale. staff were very helpful and manager went out of his way to be helpful. very friendly locals in bar. massive apologies for setting off the alarm at 6am when we left!! would definitely recommend and will definitely be back. thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Deb B
JackLimond, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, We're glad you enjoyed yourselves! Don't worry about the alarm you wouldn't be the first. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Stayed overnight have stayed before. Really enjoyed the stay the food and the really friendly atmosphere. Will go back

Helpful?
Thank Fstlinda
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

stopped for 2 nights, I will start with the Inn itself. The public bar is clean and very welcoming. The locals are very friendly and clearly brings the meaning to ' strangers are only friends we have not met.' The staff are very helpful and accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. Both Michael and Dawn...are a credit to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tompob
JackLimond, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you I'm glad the team looked after you J More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 1 in Norbury
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and step into a time gone by in the White Horse Inn, Clun. Serving good local food and beer, this is a friendly pub with lots of characters. Our rooms are newly refurbished and all en-suite with shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: The Square | Clun, Clun SY7 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Price Range: $58 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
White Horse Inn Clun, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing