We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Jumia Travel$282*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$297*
$282*
Great Deal
$297*
$297*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 539: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
 Click to rate
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Mountain Gorilla View Lodge from the 6th to 9th May 2017. We were there to go gorilla trekking. When we arrived at the lodge we were greeted warmly by the staff and made to feel very welcome. The view from our room was absolutely stunning as we faced a huge volcanic mountain. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We absolutely loved this lodge and experience. I would definitely go back. We enjoyed and in room message and also appreciated the help with the fires and warm water bags brought in each night. The local entertainment at nice was lovely. Thank you for taking care of our boots After the muddy trek! Overall it was a wonderful stay! More...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This lodge was rudimentary in its amenities, but it was a perfect location to view the mountains where the gorillas live in the wild. The cabins are large enough to sleep several people, however, or families. The food in the dining hall was excellent, and included local delicacies as well as a variety of high-quality, fresh food from around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Verna K
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here twice on gorilla treks and always love it. The staff is super nice, and attentive. They knew exactly when we went to our room to start fired. And happy to bring us beers and endless peanuts as we lounged about doing nothing. Beautiful grounds and views, I could stare at the volcano all day. I love the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharethom
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge for 2 nights (each night before a gorilla trek). It was a bigger hotel/lodge than the previous two accommodations we had stayed at so the service wasn't as personal, but was still lovely. They provided a free boots-and-gaiter cleaning service after a gorilla trek, and a packed lunch (we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlgAustralia
Mijdrecht
Reviewed April 20, 2017

The Good: - Spacious rooms - View on various types of monkeys around the rooms - Gorgeous view from the swimming pool - Setup inside a tea plantage - Very good bed - Good wifi - Service attitude of the staff The Bad: - The food is average for the price, no matter what the staff thinks of it -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bymy141
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed April 19, 2017

This hotel was great - little bungalows with fireplaces lined up along the grounds, complete with a huge window overlooking the volcanoes. The staff were incredibly nice, especially watching our son while we went gorilla trekking. The food was okay - not a lot of great options if you are trying to stick with paleo, but pretty good. Do NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evie F
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Receive warm greetings from 3B Hotels team. We are grateful that you had an amazing time with us. We are honored that you experienced service excellence and that the friendly and professional staff ensured that your every need was met. We apologise for the few downside mentioned and rest assured we have made positive changes, thanks to your...

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Making a review of a place, in a country where terrible things happened 1994 is difficult. There is always a risk of "overshoot", but the combination of a nature experience, unique possibility to study animals in their habitat, beeing surrounded by the wild, at the same time accept that he hotel you stay at gives you friendly service, music, food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PKB142
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on this forum. We also appreciate you for choosing to stay with us. We have noted that you had good time with us during your recent visit. 3B Hotels team are eager to see back next time you visit Rwanda. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager.

Melbourne
Reviewed April 10, 2017

we were booked into Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge but found it cold, dark and damp. So we moved here and were so much happier, the grounds are beautiful, the rooms have a nice big lounge area and we lit a fire at night and sat there enjoying a bottle of red wine. It's a great base for when you trek...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alison2002au
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Much appreciation to you for staying with us during your recent visit. Thanks a million for taking your time to share your wonderful feedback. Its our pleasure to have hosted you and we are glad to know that you enjoyed our services. Looking forward to host you in near future. Murakoze! Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager

Siesta Key, Florida
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We were told this was the go to place for its comfort and proximity to the ranger station jump off point for the gorilla treks. Unfortunately, they overbooked and sent us elsewhere without prior notice. We've since been informed that this is not unusual and many tour operators are booking elsewhere. It's too bad, as this is a nice place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronzam
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm greetings from 3 B Hotels team. Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you and taking your time to share your feedback. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, this was due to computer system crash which have already been resolved. Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

472 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (456)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinigi
3.1 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
1.7 mi away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 8 in Kinigi
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flame Tree Village
Flame Tree Village
#9 of 113 in Kigali
54 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#5 of 8 in Kinigi
19 reviews
24.3 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge stands amidst real wilderness with panoramic views of Rwanda’s volcano mountains and located just 1km away from the Volcano National Park, making it the desired location for Gorilla Trekking enthusiastic guests. Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is surrounded by an exciting and rich biodiversity of shrubs, trees and various bird species among them the Grey Crowned Cranes or Balearica regulorum. The Hotel has an eco-tourist approach whereas Natural Conservation is a priority and the local community is empowered. The Intore (local Cultural dancers) will spice your stay and your days at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge will always be memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Address: Volcanoes National Park, Kinigi, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Kinigi
Price Range: $331 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Gorilla View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Gorilla View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Gorilla View Hotel Ruhengeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and other travelers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago
Vancouver, BC

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“It's a long way to walk from some rooms to the restaurant”
412greena, Apr 19, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a fireplace, it gets chilly at night.”
radiogirlpuppy, Mar 25, 2017 | Read review
“Weaver Cottage 3 looks directly at the mountain”
981vickif, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newer section. I did and was very happy with "Eagle 12"”
NIFZ, Feb 26, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room closer to the main building.”
lorettaz560, Feb 10, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Jumia Travel
$282* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$297
Booking.com$297
Priceline$297
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates