We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domaine Chateau du Faucon

Save
Share
2 Route de Vrigne aux Bois, 08350 Donchery France
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (296)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (36)

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1

Finding an ideal romantic hotel in Donchery does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon, a nice option for travelers like you.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon offer a flat screen TV and a desk.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including newspaper. Guests of Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon are also welcome to enjoy a hot tub and a lounge, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Travelers looking for French restaurants can head to Restaurant Traiteur la Ferme de Montimont.

Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon puts the best of Donchery at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Mini golf
Tennis court
Billiards
Table tennis
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
413Reviews5Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 205
  • 126
  • 48
  • 22
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rita C wrote a review May 2022
Nijmegen, The Netherlands53 contributions7 helpful votes
Still a very nice place to stay, but there is NO restaurant any more and i don't think that they mind...they changed the breakfast area and sitting outside was not an option. I really like the place but for now i won't return
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Max W wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom136 contributions107 helpful votes
A really beautiful setting in wonderful grounds, which are very impressive on first arrival, and lovely to walk around. Very well located for a stop off on the way to Calais from Germany, and advertised as dog friendly. Which makes it even more of a shame that our immediate first 15 minutes on arrival were spent having an argument about our dinner reservation, with the hotel not willing to honour the written confirmation they'd sent confirming we'd be able to dine outside with the (very miniature) dog at the table. Only once I'd dug out the emails did they back down, but fair to say that the aura of luxury was well and truly gone by this point. Very glad they did back down though, as the dinner was outstanding - the tasting menu was one of the best meals I've had, and would go back there purely for this. The waiting staff were friendly and excellent - the restaurant review by itself would comfortably be 5 stars. Same problems in the morning though; on arrival at the breakfast room, it was definitely not dog friendly. I was 'reminded' that there has always been a sign by the door to the breakfast room that dogs are not permitted - I'll let you draw your own conclusion on whether I could see this sign from my desk in London when making the booking. Fair enough not having animals in the gourmet dinner restaurant, but the breakfast room should be fair game. With the positivity of last night's meal well and truly gone, their suggestion that we could have a couple of croissants on our bed was politely rejected, and we went to find a local boulangerie. Couple of other negatives - no one offered to help with our bags either on arrival or departure, and the aircon, although very powerful, refused to function between the hours of 23h00 and 08h00, which traditionally is the time you actually use the bedroom. The temperature got up to 27 degrees as a result, which made sleeping a bit of an issue. All in all, with some slightly more considerate management, this would be a slam dunk 5 stars, and if you don't have the privilege of travelling with a pet, I'd highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from L'équipe du Domaine Château du Faucon, Service clients/Réception at Domaine Château du Faucon
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Dear M. WEITZMANN, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on tripadvisor, We regret the poor communication during your reservation, in fact, we accept animals throughout the area except in the catering rooms. We thank you for your comments on the quality of the cuisine and the service as well as the beauty of the place. Hoping to make you change your mind during a future stay in the Ardennes, Best regards, The Staff of the Domaine Château du Faucon
Read more
RebPint1979 wrote a review Jun 2021
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg228 contributions70 helpful votes
This place is less than a couple of hours from Luxembourg. Our dog was made to feel more than welcome, with bowls and a rug waiting in the room on our arrival. We stayed (2 adults, 2 kids and dog) in the Hunting Suite in the annexe, which seems to have been renovated recently. An extremely comfortable suite, with much welcomed air conditioning. A nice touch was the child sized dressing gown and slippers provided for the kids. Beautiful grounds, mini golf, superb woodland, the riding stables looked lovely. Dinner was delicious, very high quality and the children were well catered for. Breakfast was perfection. Finally, the staff were all friendly, attentive, welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Pippa A wrote a review Sep 2020
Belgium44 contributions33 helpful votes
I'm on my first night of a 3 night stay. Can't tell you how impressed I am with this place and the food is just exquisite. Not tarnished with onions and garlic or cream or heavy sauces, just pure wonderful french cuisine. It's such a nice change to eat food prepared as it should be. It's peaceful and beautiful and although I can hear the main road in the distance, it's really not a problem..the air is clean and the grounds are stunning. Tomorrow I shall explore as there's lots to do around here.. especially if you're flying solo and just want to switch off.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
B d A wrote a review Aug 2020
Athens, Greece760 contributions329 helpful votes
Located off bounds with no walking distance alternative. Pseudo-estate arrangement with quasi-behavioural trims. Rooms inadequately fitted with amenities below par and not air-conditioning which was possibly necessary. The estate lacked character and content and substance. The food was ludicrously gastro fine dining but vestigial on the essential. Clientele and staff proper and illing
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
GAW wrote a review Oct 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia4 contributions
Our rooms did not resemble the photos online at all; they were small, cramped and very dated. We were put in the annex, where one room had a toilet in a former closet. Bathrooms were dirty and the shower had fungus. As they were fully booked they were not able to offer us other rooms upon our notification of these issues and they did not act upon our initial complaint. We also found the food to be of poor quality despite the high prices of the restaurant. When we discussed this, management did offer us a discount, and sought to be accommodating despite the disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from CBORGARELLO, Directeur général at Domaine Château du Faucon
Responded Oct 27, 2019
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, First of all, thank you for your interest in choosing our domain. We read carefully your comments about your installation which was disappointing for you. We have taken your remarks seriously. That's why in the face of this dissatisfaction we have graciously offered you a part of your stay. The hotel is currently working on the renovation of some space. We hope, however, to receive you on another occasion to surprise you Best regards,
Read more
Pipsa850 wrote a review Sep 2019
Oulu, Finland80 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
we had one night stay here during our roadtrip in Europe. Chateau is beautiful and staff is very helpful and friendly, everyone was speaking english. This place has small spa, jacuzzi and sauna and gym. Little bit crowded if there is many people. We had left wing (2 rooms) for our traveling group. I guess those were newly renovated rooms since work was not finished downstairs. That did not bother us tough. Yard and garden were beautiful, we enjoyed late picknick outside. There was also dinner option available which was offered for us too. I would loved to stay there more than one night just because there was so much to see and do, and i would go again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from CBORGARELLO, General Manager at Domaine Château du Faucon
Responded Nov 4, 2019
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing the Domaine Château du Faucon for your trip in the Ardennes region. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your expectations. Looking forward to welcome you again at our Heaven of peace... Kind regards,
Read more
Chris H wrote a review Aug 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom32 contributions34 helpful votes
Lovely quiet location and well set out chateau. Rooms have lots of character. Terrasse dining and lovely quality of food. Service very good once the staff warmed to their task - almost seemed a little reticent to suggest or help with choices at times.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CBORGARELLO, General Manager at Domaine Château du Faucon
Responded Nov 4, 2019
Dear Madam, Dear Mister, It was a pleasure to welcome you at our Domaine****, Thank you for your feedback that will help us improving our quality of service. We hope to welcome you again in our castle, Kind regards,
Read more
Maxima wrote a review Jun 2019
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom20 contributions25 helpful votes
The hotel and surroundings are stunning, beautiful setting for a romantic getaway. It is in the middle of nowhere but not only a few minutes drive from either Charleville-Mézières or Sedan if you wanted to go somewhere. We arrived and the 2 ladies on reception were very welcoming and friendly. Lovely customer service and after check in we were shown our room which was in the old part of the chateau. Unfortunately the room did not have air con and we were in the middle of a heatwave however this was a minor detail as the chateau is several hundred years old and one night without air con, this was fine. They had closed the curtains and provided a fan so all was good. The room, oh wow! what a fabulous room, truly stunning. The bathroom was eclectic and although some visitors would possibly say it needs updating we thought it fitted the room rather well, it was clean and everything worked as it should so why update it when it works well (in both style and function). Because of where the hotel is located we opted to eat at the hotel (this was our 3rd night of travelling out of 6 and the only time we ate in any of the hotels we stayed in). When we booked the hotel we made it clear that we were both vegans, this gave the hotel plenty of time to organise food suitable for us (a few weeks). We understand that vegan diets are particularly difficult for French chefs as they do like to use animal products however there was no excuse for the food that we were served that evening. We had a main and a dessert consisting of a salad (and I mean some leaves with little else) and a bowl of fruit, for this we were charged 100 Euros. We tried every which way to justify this and as we do try to eat healthy and a good salad can be delicious we eventually just accepted that the chef was just not used to serving plant based food. Unfortunately though the customer service was not great either, I cannot work out whether it was just the French way or whether this particular gentleman who served us has an unfortunate way about him, maybe because we are British and just have a different idea of customer service I don't know. Very difficult to pin point what actually was wrong but we both felt uncomfortable and that was not the best experience. Out of the 6 nights we spent in Europe we would not go back to this hotel which is such a shame as the hotel (and some of the staff) was a delight. The food, however was quite ridiculous and I really don't think that chef did himself or the hotel any favours with his food offering. We had some truly fabulous plant based food throughout our holiday and maybe chef could learn some plant based recipes from other establishments that completely outshone his choice for us (and at a fraction of the cost).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CBORGARELLO, Directrice Générale at Domaine Château du Faucon
Responded Jul 4, 2019
Dear Madam Moriarty, Dear Mr Paul, Thank your for staying with us as well as for sharing your experience. We are glad that you loved the hotel and recognize the professionalism of the team. We would like to precise that the 2-course meal was charged 36€ per person (included appetizer, main dish and dessert) or a total of 72€ for 2. The part left were extras. We do apologize that we did not live up to your expectations for the restaurant. We consider your return and will take all the required measures so that any vegan in the future will have a larger selection and be welcome in a warmer manner. Be confident that in case you would like to enjoy the rooms and the parc again, you would also be satisfied with the restaurant. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further request, That will always be a pleasure to welcome you and let you feel comfortable. Kind regards, Caroline Borgarello - General Manager
Read more
Firstclassmemories wrote a review Jun 2019
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions
Having spent close to 2 weeks traveling fRance we arrived at The Château to discover that a impressive building and grounds doesn’t guarantee impressive “anything else”. No one at reception to greet us as she was busy showing another guest to his room. This despite lots of other staff passing by who were reluctant to make eye contact . THE LACK OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE at the Château means that staff avoid you if you are English, resulting in a rude, unfriendly and cold attitude. I won’t dwell too much on the dinner ..... the meal itself was fabulous ..... but even 3* Michelin can be ruined by aweful service. We waited far too long to be assisted by a waiter who couldn’t speak enough English to neither explain the menu, understand that I don’t eat meat or make us feel welcome and not like unwanted guests . It was the worst night of 2 weeks in France. If you speak English don’t waste a precious holiday night when there are Chateau’s all over France where you and received with warm open arms with even a little broken English x
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from CBORGARELLO, Directrice Générale at Domaine Château du Faucon
Responded Jun 23, 2019
Dear Ms Alexander, Dear Mr Alexander, We would like to thank your for staying with us and sharing your experience at the hotel. We apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. We took notes of your remarks to give us the opportunity to upgrade the quality of service we offer. The English level part of the changements that the hotel is currently having. We wish you a nice trip back to South Africa and truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Arden's region. We are confident that we could surprise you and give you an entire satisfaction in the future. Kind regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$166 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceGrand EstArdennesDonchery
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Domaine Château du Faucon
Which popular attractions are close to Domaine Château du Faucon?
Nearby attractions include Château Fort de Sedan (4.6 miles), Fort des Ayvelles (4.9 miles), and Parc Animalier (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Domaine Château du Faucon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Domaine Château du Faucon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Domaine Château du Faucon?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Domaine Château du Faucon?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'origan, Le Saint-Michel, and Le P'tit Bidule.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Domaine Château du Faucon?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Domaine Château du Faucon?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Domaine Château du Faucon offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Domaine Château du Faucon?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Does Domaine Château du Faucon have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Domaine Château du Faucon accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.